The New School
New York, NY 10011
About The New School
The New School is a private research university in New York, New York, serving roughly 6,563 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 63.47% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $52,901 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- The New School charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition ($58,694).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.3×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 69.37%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $52,901.
Research findings
Finding
The New School awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 59 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| The New School | $58,694 | $58,741 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| New York (state median) | $13,810 | $9,373 | 272 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is The New School really?
Key findings
- The New School charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition ($58,694).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.3×.
The New School tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $58,694
Finding The New School charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $58,694. That is about 2.0× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 4.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.9×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at The New School versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at The New School versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at The New School is $58,741.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $58,741 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $49,368 above the New York median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $38,688 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At The New School, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
The New School: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The New School—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$58,694
Avg. net price
$58,741
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $50,140 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $52,812 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $56,494 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $59,894 |
| $110,001+ | $64,738 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $234,776. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What The New School is known for
Top program completions
- Fashion/Apparel Design290
- Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design266
- Fine and Studio Arts Management221
- Digital Communication and Media/Multimedia181
- Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other138
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 26% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is The New School a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
The New School is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The New School.
Campus
Location
New York, NY
City / state
- ZIP
- 10011
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 2.9× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
6,563
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 7,637
- Graduate
- 2,477
- Full-time share
- 94%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,266
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 15.01%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for The New School.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The New School was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The New School in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $40,426 | $40,426 | $35,831 |
| 2014 | $41,870 | $41,870 | $34,825 |
| 2015 | $43,813 | $43,813 | $34,945 |
| 2016 | $45,440 | $45,440 | $36,702 |
| 2017 | $47,276 | $47,276 | $40,819 |
| 2018 | $49,064 | $49,064 | $42,812 |
| 2019 | $50,994 | $50,994 | $43,334 |
| 2020 | $51,022 | $51,022 | $44,430 |
| 2021 | $52,494 | $52,494 | $29,648 |
| 2022 | $54,347 | $54,347 | $49,086 |
| 2023 | $56,386 | $56,386 | $55,359 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
The New School reported total enrollment of about 6,563 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 23% male and 77% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Non-Resident Alien (34.3%), White (30.0%), and Asian (12.8%). About 15.01% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 19.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
93.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at The New School in 2024 is 6,563 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,637 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,477 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
84.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
46.76% 100% Completion Time
69.37% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 46.76% of students graduating from The New School completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Fashion/Apparel Design: 19% male / 81% female
- Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design: 20% male / 80% female
- Fine and Studio Arts Management: 17% male / 83% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
The New School graduates earn a median of $52,901 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The New School.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $52,901. Median federal loan debt: $22,266. Average net price used in cost models: $58,741.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway The New School graduates report median earnings of $52,901 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The New School.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (59 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The New School.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The New School graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The New School—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$449.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New York median 12× the median ($38.1M)
- Mid East median 11× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 17× the median ($26.4M)
- New York median 3.0× the median ($15,424)
- Mid East median 2.8× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 3.9× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 20.6%
- New York median 33.1 pp below median (53.8%)
- Mid East median 36.3 pp below median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 37.3 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,417
- New York median 1.7× the median ($8,068)
- Mid East median 1.7× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $19,368
- New York median 1.8× the median ($10,822)
- Mid East median 2.1× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 2.7× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
The New School at a glance
The New School
The New School is a private non-profit institution in New York, NY, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Fashion/Apparel DesignWeb Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignFine and Studio Arts Management
- Largest enrollment groups
- Non-Resident Alien34.3%White or Caucasian30.0%Asian12.8%
Schools near The New School
Other campuses in New York, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is The New School located?
The New School is located in New York, NY.
What is The New School's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at The New School is 63.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 9,148 applicants and 5,719 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is The New School's tuition?
The New School tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $58,694 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $58,741 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does The New School cost?
Reported tuition is $58,694 and average net price is $58,741 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $25,337 annually.
What explains The New School's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($58,741), completion (69.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($52,901). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at The New School?
The New School reports undergraduate enrollment of about 7,637 students, Non-Resident Alien (34.3%), White (30.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend The New School?
About 19.4% of students at The New School are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of The New School earn?
Median earnings are $38,210 six years after entry and $52,901 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at The New School?
The 150%-time completion rate is 69.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do The New School students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,266.
Is The New School public or private?
The New School is a private nonprofit institution located in New York, NY.
Is The New School an HBCU?
No. The New School is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.