Suncoast Technical College
Sarasota, FL 34233-1798
About Suncoast Technical College
Suncoast Technical College is a public community college in Sarasota, Florida, enrolling about 1,116 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. The published completion rate is about 50.00% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (60.7%) and Hispanic or Latino (23.2%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,621.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Suncoast Technical College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 500% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suncoast Technical College | — | $16,917 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Florida (state median) | $16,838 | $7,247 | 176 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Suncoast Technical College really?
Evidence: average net price at Suncoast Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Suncoast Technical College is $16,917.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,917 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,670 above the Florida median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $1,783 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Suncoast Technical College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Suncoast Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$16,917
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $17,328 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,713 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,648 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Suncoast Technical College is known for
Top program completions
- Criminal Justice/Police Science85
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training83
- Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide81
- Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)77
- Facial Treatment Specialist/Facialist49
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Suncoast Technical College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Suncoast Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Suncoast Technical College.
Campus
Location
Sarasota, FL
City / state
- ZIP
- 34233-1798
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 10% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
1,116
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,054
- Full-time share
- 50%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 10.97%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Suncoast Technical College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Suncoast Technical College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Suncoast Technical College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $2,967 |
| 2014 | — | — | $9,453 |
| 2015 | — | — | $5,816 |
| 2016 | — | — | $12,699 |
| 2017 | — | — | $13,581 |
| 2018 | — | — | $14,531 |
| 2019 | — | — | $9,239 |
| 2020 | — | — | $13,650 |
| 2021 | — | — | $8,084 |
| 2022 | — | — | $15,178 |
| 2023 | — | — | $17,430 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Suncoast Technical College reported total enrollment of about 1,116 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 64% male and 36% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (60.7%), Hispanic or Latino (23.2%), and Black or African American (9.0%). About 10.97% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 51.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
50.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Suncoast Technical College in 2024 is 1,116 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,054 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
26.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
42.70% 100% Completion Time
50.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 42.70% of students graduating from Suncoast Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Criminal Justice/Police Science: 76% male / 24% female
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 8% male / 92% female
- Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide: 15% male / 85% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Suncoast Technical College graduates earn a median of $40,621 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Suncoast Technical College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,621. Average net price used in cost models: $16,917.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Suncoast Technical College graduates report median earnings of $40,621 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Suncoast Technical College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (29 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Suncoast Technical College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Suncoast Technical College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Suncoast Technical College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,394
- Florida median 1.6× the median ($5,803)
- Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Suncoast Technical College at a glance
Suncoast Technical College
Suncoast Technical College is a public institution in Sarasota, FL.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Criminal Justice/Police ScienceLicensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingNursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian60.7%Hispanic or Latino23.2%Black or African American9.0%
Schools near Suncoast Technical College
Other campuses in Sarasota, FL when available, plus nearby institutions in Florida.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Florida, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Suncoast Technical College located?
Suncoast Technical College is located in Sarasota, FL.
How much does Suncoast Technical College cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $16,917 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains Suncoast Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,917), completion (50.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,621). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Suncoast Technical College?
Suncoast Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,054 students, White (60.7%), Hispanic or Latino (23.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Suncoast Technical College?
About 51.3% of students at Suncoast Technical College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Suncoast Technical College earn?
Median earnings are $36,094 six years after entry and $40,621 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Suncoast Technical College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 50.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Suncoast Technical College public or private?
Suncoast Technical College is a public institution located in Sarasota, FL.
Is Suncoast Technical College an HBCU?
No. Suncoast Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Suncoast Technical College a tribal college?
No. Suncoast Technical College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Suncoast Technical College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Suncoast Technical College does not meet that proxy (reported share 23.2%).
Is Suncoast Technical College religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Suncoast Technical College in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.