SUNY Maritime College
Throggs Neck, NY 10465-4198
About SUNY Maritime College
SUNY Maritime College is a public research university in Throggs Neck, New York, enrolling about 1,285 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 72.41% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $95,951 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- SUNY Maritime College charges 56% above the national public median tuition ($8,589).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 64.39%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $95,951.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at SUNY Maritime College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 972% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| SUNY Maritime College | $8,589 | $22,367 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| New York (state median) | $13,810 | $9,373 | 272 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is SUNY Maritime College really?
Key findings
- SUNY Maritime College charges 56% above the national public median tuition ($8,589).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
SUNY Maritime College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,589
Finding SUNY Maritime College charges 56% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,589. That is 56% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is 38% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 28% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at SUNY Maritime College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at SUNY Maritime College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at SUNY Maritime College is $22,367.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,367 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $12,994 above the New York median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $2,314 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At SUNY Maritime College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
SUNY Maritime College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for SUNY Maritime College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,589
Out-of-state tuition
$19,159
Avg. net price
$22,367
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,726 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $17,577 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $20,721 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $23,634 |
| $110,001+ | $27,565 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $34,356. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What SUNY Maritime College is known for
Top program completions
- Marine Science/Merchant Marine Officer139
- Mechanical Engineering64
- Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other57
- Transportation/Mobility Management42
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering24
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 22% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1214
- Midpoint ACT: 26
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is SUNY Maritime College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
SUNY Maritime College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for SUNY Maritime College.
Campus
Location
Throggs Neck, NY
City / state
- ZIP
- 10465-4198
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 12% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
1,285
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,423
- Graduate
- 128
- Full-time share
- 95%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$23,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 22.12%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for SUNY Maritime College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at SUNY Maritime College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for SUNY Maritime College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,109 | $16,559 | $17,815 |
| 2014 | $7,446 | $17,096 | $18,431 |
| 2015 | $7,809 | $17,659 | $19,050 |
| 2016 | $7,834 | $17,684 | $18,248 |
| 2017 | $8,074 | $17,724 | $18,413 |
| 2018 | $8,283 | $18,063 | $20,006 |
| 2019 | $8,508 | $18,418 | $20,616 |
| 2020 | $8,522 | $18,432 | $19,607 |
| 2021 | $8,522 | $18,432 | $21,828 |
| 2022 | $8,540 | $18,450 | $21,096 |
| 2023 | $8,540 | $18,450 | $21,781 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1214 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 26 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.40
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
SUNY Maritime College reported total enrollment of about 1,285 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 88% male and 12% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (62.4%), Hispanic or Latino (18.7%), and Black or African American (6.0%). About 22.12% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 21.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
94.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at SUNY Maritime College in 2024 is 1,285 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,423 students. Graduate enrollment is about 128 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
83.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
30.51% 100% Completion Time
64.39% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 30.51% of students graduating from SUNY Maritime College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Marine Science/Merchant Marine Officer: 90% male / 10% female
- Mechanical Engineering: 89% male / 11% female
- Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other: 91% male / 9% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
SUNY Maritime College graduates earn a median of $95,951 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of SUNY Maritime College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $95,951. Median federal loan debt: $23,250. Average net price used in cost models: $22,367.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway SUNY Maritime College graduates report median earnings of $95,951 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for SUNY Maritime College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (11 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at SUNY Maritime College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for SUNY Maritime College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for SUNY Maritime College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$10.2M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New York median 0.27× the median ($38.1M)
- Mid East median 0.24× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 0.39× the median ($26.4M)
- New York median 0.43× the median ($15,424)
- Mid East median 0.40× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.54× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 76.8%
- New York median 23.1 pp above median (53.8%)
- Mid East median 20.0 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 18.9 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,873
- New York median 1.1× the median ($8,068)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $20,252
- New York median 1.9× the median ($10,822)
- Mid East median 2.2× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 2.8× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
SUNY Maritime College at a glance
SUNY Maritime College
SUNY Maritime College is a public institution in Throggs Neck, NY, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Marine Science/Merchant Marine OfficerMechanical EngineeringBusiness, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian62.4%Hispanic or Latino18.7%Black or African American6.0%
Schools near SUNY Maritime College
Other campuses in Throggs Neck, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is SUNY Maritime College located?
SUNY Maritime College is located in Throggs Neck, NY.
What is SUNY Maritime College's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at SUNY Maritime College is 72.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,629 applicants and 1,279 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is SUNY Maritime College's tuition?
SUNY Maritime College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,589 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,367 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does SUNY Maritime College cost?
Reported tuition is $8,589 and average net price is $22,367 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,814 annually.
What explains SUNY Maritime College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,367), completion (64.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($95,951). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at SUNY Maritime College?
SUNY Maritime College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,423 students, White (62.4%), Hispanic or Latino (18.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend SUNY Maritime College?
About 21.5% of students at SUNY Maritime College are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for SUNY Maritime College?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, SUNY Maritime College reports midpoint SAT about 1214 and midpoint ACT about 26.
What do graduates of SUNY Maritime College earn?
Median earnings are $83,439 six years after entry and $95,951 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at SUNY Maritime College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 64.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do SUNY Maritime College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,250.
Is SUNY Maritime College public or private?
SUNY Maritime College is a public institution located in Throggs Neck, NY.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.