Texas A&M University-Central Texas
Killeen, TX 76549
About Texas A&M University-Central Texas
Texas A&M University-Central Texas is a public research university in Killeen, Texas, enrolling about 1,750 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 100.00% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Student demographics in federal data include White (35.5%) and Hispanic or Latino (29.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Texas A&M University-Central Texas charges 34% above the national public median tuition ($7,363).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 26% below.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
Research findings
Finding
Average net price at Texas A&M University-Central Texas is about 82% below published tuition.
Published tuition is $7,363; average net price is $1,300 in the latest Scorecard extract.
Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.
Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas A&M University-Central Texas | $7,363 | $1,300 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 82% below published tuition at Texas A&M University-Central Texas
Key findings
- Texas A&M University-Central Texas's average net price ($1,300) is 82% below published tuition ($7,363).
- Texas A&M University-Central Texas charges 34% above the national public median tuition ($7,363).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 26% below.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
Texas A&M University-Central Texas tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,363
Finding Texas A&M University-Central Texas charges 34% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,363. That is 34% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is 26% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 38% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Texas A&M University-Central Texas versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Texas A&M University-Central Texas versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Texas A&M University-Central Texas is $1,300.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $1,300 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,731 below the Texas median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Texas A&M University-Central Texas’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 82% lower after grants and scholarships.
Texas A&M University-Central Texas: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Texas A&M University-Central Texas—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Selectivity describes competition for seats—not outcomes for enrolled students.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,363
Out-of-state tuition
$17,154
Avg. net price
$1,300
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,949 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $750 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $29,452. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Texas A&M University-Central Texas is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General95
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies69
- Computer and Information Sciences, General61
- Psychology, General47
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration44
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 79% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Texas A&M University-Central Texas a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Texas A&M University-Central Texas is a good school for those looking at admissions access patterns in Scorecard data—outcomes still depend on completion, earnings, and cost.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Texas A&M University-Central Texas.
Campus
Location
Killeen, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 76549
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs
Size
Enrollment
1,750
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,376
- Graduate
- 648
- Full-time share
- 38%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$17,750
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 50.27%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Texas A&M University-Central Texas.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Texas A&M University-Central Texas was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Texas A&M University-Central Texas in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2019–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | $7,029 | $17,157 | — |
| 2020 | $6,483 | $16,299 | $3,249 |
| 2021 | $6,627 | $16,770 | $8,043 |
| 2022 | $6,627 | $16,419 | $2,457 |
| 2023 | $6,627 | $16,419 | $1,113 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Texas A&M University-Central Texas reported total enrollment of about 1,750 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 41% male and 59% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (35.5%), Hispanic or Latino (29.9%), and Black or African American (23.3%). About 50.27% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
37.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Texas A&M University-Central Texas in 2024 is 1,750 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,376 students. Graduate enrollment is about 648 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Texas A&M University-Central Texas completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 41% male / 59% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 30% male / 70% female
- Computer and Information Sciences, General: 80% male / 20% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Texas A&M University-Central Texas graduates earn—and in which programs?
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Texas A&M University-Central Texas.
Evidence Median federal loan debt: $17,750. Average net price used in cost models: $1,300.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Texas A&M University-Central Texas.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (38 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Texas A&M University-Central Texas.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Texas A&M University-Central Texas graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Texas A&M University-Central Texas—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$3.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 0.10× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 0.15× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 0.13× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 0.17× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 0.21× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 0.18× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 48.0%
- Texas median 12.1 pp below median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 11.7 pp below median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 10.0 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,983
- Texas median 1.3× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 1.3× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,905
- Texas median 1.8× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 1.6× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Texas A&M University-Central Texas at a glance
Texas A&M University-Central Texas
Texas A&M University-Central Texas is a public institution in Killeen, TX, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesComputer and Information Sciences, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian35.5%Hispanic or Latino29.9%Black or African American23.3%
Schools near Texas A&M University-Central Texas
Other campuses in Killeen, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers with the closest outcomes profile within Texas (completion, retention, and earnings).
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Texas A&M University-Central Texas located?
Texas A&M University-Central Texas is located in Killeen, TX.
What is Texas A&M University-Central Texas's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Texas A&M University-Central Texas is 100.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 33 applicants and 33 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Texas A&M University-Central Texas's tuition?
Texas A&M University-Central Texas tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,363 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $1,300 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Texas A&M University-Central Texas cost?
Reported tuition is $7,363 and average net price is $1,300 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,394 annually.
Why is Texas A&M University-Central Texas's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Texas A&M University-Central Texas, published tuition is $7,363 while average net price is $1,300—about 82% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What is the student body demographics at Texas A&M University-Central Texas?
Texas A&M University-Central Texas reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,376 students, White (35.5%), Hispanic or Latino (29.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Texas A&M University-Central Texas?
About 43.1% of students at Texas A&M University-Central Texas are first-generation college students.
How much debt do Texas A&M University-Central Texas students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,750.
Is Texas A&M University-Central Texas public or private?
Texas A&M University-Central Texas is a public institution located in Killeen, TX.
Is Texas A&M University-Central Texas an HBCU?
No. Texas A&M University-Central Texas is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Texas A&M University-Central Texas a tribal college?
No. Texas A&M University-Central Texas is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Texas A&M University-Central Texas a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Texas A&M University-Central Texas reports 29.9% Hispanic enrollment share.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.