Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology
Lancaster, PA 17602-3198
About Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is a public community college in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 1,446 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $14,104 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $9,050. Student demographics in federal data include White (64.3%) and Hispanic or Latino (16.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology charges 64% above the national public median tuition ($9,050).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 70.73%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,681.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 869% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | $9,050 | $14,104 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Pennsylvania (state median) | $19,450 | $17,754 | 181 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology really?
Key findings
- Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology charges 64% above the national public median tuition ($9,050).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $9,050
Finding Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology charges 64% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $9,050. That is 64% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 24% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is $14,104.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,104 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,650 below the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $867 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$9,050
Avg. net price
$14,104
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $10,981 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,230 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $13,176 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $16,504 |
| $110,001+ | $18,359 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $36,200. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is known for
Top program completions
- Carpentry/Carpenter38
- Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician36
- Electrician35
- Electrical/Electronics Equipment Installation and Repair Technology/Technician, General34
- Computer Software Engineering31
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 69% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1120
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.
Campus
Location
Lancaster, PA
City / state
- ZIP
- 17602-3198
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 6% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional
Size
Enrollment
1,446
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,524
- Full-time share
- 98%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$9,990
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 43.30%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,230 | $7,230 | $6,530 |
| 2014 | $7,430 | $7,430 | $6,968 |
| 2015 | $7,430 | $7,430 | $7,831 |
| 2016 | $7,630 | $7,630 | $7,508 |
| 2017 | $7,830 | $7,830 | $7,828 |
| 2018 | $8,030 | $8,030 | $7,872 |
| 2019 | $8,250 | $8,250 | $8,108 |
| 2020 | $8,450 | $8,450 | $9,421 |
| 2021 | $8,400 | $8,400 | $9,797 |
| 2022 | $8,450 | $8,450 | $9,762 |
| 2023 | $9,050 | $9,050 | $13,291 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1120 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology reported total enrollment of about 1,446 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 88% male and 12% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (64.3%), Hispanic or Latino (16.0%), and Black or African American (12.6%). About 43.30% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
98.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology in 2024 is 1,446 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,524 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
75.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
64.97% 100% Completion Time
70.73% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 64.97% of students graduating from Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Carpentry/Carpenter: 89% male / 11% female
- Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician: 97% male / 3% female
- Electrician: 97% male / 3% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology graduates earn a median of $54,681 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,681. Median federal loan debt: $9,990. Average net price used in cost models: $14,104.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology graduates report median earnings of $54,681 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (26 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$1.3M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Pennsylvania median 0.03× the median ($47.9M)
- Mid East median 0.03× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 0.05× the median ($26.4M)
- Pennsylvania median 0.04× the median ($24,897)
- Mid East median 0.05× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.07× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 80.5%
- Pennsylvania median 17.4 pp above median (63.1%)
- Mid East median 23.6 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 22.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,035
- Pennsylvania median 1.3× the median ($8,003)
- Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,495
- Pennsylvania median near the median ($8,615)
- Mid East median 0.93× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology at a glance
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is a public institution in Lancaster, PA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Carpentry/CarpenterHeating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/TechnicianElectrician
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian64.3%Hispanic or Latino16.0%Black or African American12.6%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology
Other campuses in Lancaster, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology located?
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is located in Lancaster, PA.
What is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is 71.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,942 applicants and 1,028 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology's tuition?
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,050 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $14,104 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology cost?
Reported tuition is $9,050 and average net price is $14,104 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,670 annually.
What explains Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($14,104), completion (70.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,681). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology?
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,524 students, White (64.3%), Hispanic or Latino (16.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology?
About 45.1% of students at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology reports midpoint SAT about 1120.
What do graduates of Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology earn?
Median earnings are $48,985 six years after entry and $54,681 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology?
The 150%-time completion rate is 70.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,990.
Is Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology public or private?
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is a public institution located in Lancaster, PA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Pennsylvania college profile
- Pennsylvania college costs
- Pennsylvania colleges by ROI
- Pennsylvania trade schools profile
- Lancaster, Pennsylvania city profile
- Mid East regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Pennsylvania
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.