The College of the Florida Keys
Key West, FL 33040
About The College of the Florida Keys
The College of the Florida Keys is a public certificate and vocational school in Key West, Florida, enrolling about 1,012 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $13,636 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,276. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $42,508 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- The College of the Florida Keys charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,276).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 34.13%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,508.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at The College of the Florida Keys is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 679% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| The College of the Florida Keys | $3,276 | $13,636 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Florida (state median) | $16,838 | $7,247 | 176 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is The College of the Florida Keys really?
Key findings
- The College of the Florida Keys charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,276).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
The College of the Florida Keys tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $3,276
Finding The College of the Florida Keys charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $3,276. That is about 0.6× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Florida median ($16,838), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at The College of the Florida Keys versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at The College of the Florida Keys versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at The College of the Florida Keys is $13,636.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,636 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,389 above the Florida median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,335 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At The College of the Florida Keys, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
The College of the Florida Keys: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The College of the Florida Keys—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$3,276
Out-of-state tuition
$13,162
Avg. net price
$13,636
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $10,373 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,077 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $15,101 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,635 |
| $110,001+ | $17,804 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $13,104. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What The College of the Florida Keys is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse49
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies46
- Business Administration and Management, General30
- Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)24
- Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician22
See earnings & programs for more.
Is The College of the Florida Keys a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
The College of the Florida Keys is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The College of the Florida Keys.
Campus
Location
Key West, FL
City / state
- ZIP
- 33040
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 9% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs
Size
Enrollment
1,012
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,721
- Full-time share
- 45%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$9,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 27.75%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for The College of the Florida Keys.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The College of the Florida Keys was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The College of the Florida Keys in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $3,276 | $10,726 | $12,251 |
| 2014 | $3,276 | $10,726 | $13,696 |
| 2015 | $3,276 | $10,726 | $11,992 |
| 2016 | $3,276 | $10,726 | $9,871 |
| 2017 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $10,145 |
| 2018 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $13,238 |
| 2019 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $11,845 |
| 2020 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $15,547 |
| 2021 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $14,378 |
| 2022 | $3,276 | $13,162 | $15,407 |
| 2023 | $3,279 | $13,162 | $13,818 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
The College of the Florida Keys reported total enrollment of about 1,012 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (42.1%), Hispanic or Latino (35.5%), and Black or African American (10.9%). About 27.75% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 41.8% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
45.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at The College of the Florida Keys in 2024 is 1,012 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,721 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
34.13% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from The College of the Florida Keys completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 39% male / 61% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 50% male / 50% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
The College of the Florida Keys graduates earn a median of $42,508 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The College of the Florida Keys.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,508. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $13,636.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway The College of the Florida Keys graduates report median earnings of $42,508 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The College of the Florida Keys.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (15 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The College of the Florida Keys.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The College of the Florida Keys graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The College of the Florida Keys—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$5.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Florida median 0.16× the median ($35.9M)
- Southeast median 0.29× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 0.22× the median ($26.4M)
- Florida median 0.93× the median ($7,784)
- Southeast median 0.77× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 0.60× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 21.1%
- Florida median 27.1 pp below median (48.2%)
- Southeast median 38.3 pp below median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 36.9 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,266
- Florida median 1.1× the median ($6,877)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,363
- Florida median 1.8× the median ($5,803)
- Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
The College of the Florida Keys at a glance
The College of the Florida Keys
The College of the Florida Keys is a public institution in Key West, FL, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian42.1%Hispanic or Latino35.5%Black or African American10.9%
Schools near The College of the Florida Keys
Other campuses in Key West, FL when available, plus nearby institutions in Florida.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Florida, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is The College of the Florida Keys located?
The College of the Florida Keys is located in Key West, FL.
What is The College of the Florida Keys's tuition?
The College of the Florida Keys tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,276 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,636 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does The College of the Florida Keys cost?
Reported tuition is $3,276 and average net price is $13,636 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,632 annually.
What explains The College of the Florida Keys's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,636), completion (34.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,508). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at The College of the Florida Keys?
The College of the Florida Keys reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,721 students, White (42.1%), Hispanic or Latino (35.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend The College of the Florida Keys?
About 41.8% of students at The College of the Florida Keys are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of The College of the Florida Keys earn?
Median earnings are $40,277 six years after entry and $42,508 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at The College of the Florida Keys?
The 150%-time completion rate is 34.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do The College of the Florida Keys students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.
Is The College of the Florida Keys public or private?
The College of the Florida Keys is a public institution located in Key West, FL.
Is The College of the Florida Keys an HBCU?
No. The College of the Florida Keys is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is The College of the Florida Keys a tribal college?
No. The College of the Florida Keys is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.