Active Report Report ID: EDU-128744-2026

University of Bridgeport

Bridgeport, CT 06604-5620

Acceptance rate83.02%Broad access
Tuition$35,760Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,807After aid
Graduation rate41.19%150% time
Median salary$50,32310yr post-entry

About University of Bridgeport

University of Bridgeport is a private research university in Bridgeport, Connecticut, enrolling about 1,534 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 83.02% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $50,323 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Bridgeport charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($35,760).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is 70% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 41.19%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $50,323.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Bridgeport is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 352% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Bridgeport$35,760$27,8071
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Connecticut (state median)$21,044$16,79833
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 22% below published tuition at University of Bridgeport

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Bridgeport's average net price ($27,807) is 22% below published tuition ($35,760).
  • University of Bridgeport charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($35,760).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is 70% above.
Published sticker

University of Bridgeport tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $35,760

Finding University of Bridgeport charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $35,760. That is 22% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Connecticut median ($21,044), sticker tuition is 70% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Bridgeport versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Bridgeport versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Bridgeport is $27,807.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,807 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,009 above the Connecticut median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $9,759 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Bridgeport’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 22% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Bridgeport: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Bridgeport—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$35,760

Avg. net price

$27,807

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$27,238
$30,001–$48,000$28,124
$48,001–$75,000$26,062
$75,001–$110,000$27,487
$110,001+$29,733

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $143,040. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention61.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$38,575Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 6% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 985

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Bridgeport a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Bridgeport is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Bridgeport.

Campus

Location

Bridgeport, CT

City / state

ZIP
06604-5620
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 54% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Doctoral/Professional Universities

Size

Enrollment

1,534

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,760
Graduate
2,268
Full-time share
81%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
53.48%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$111,228Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,807Average annual net price (after aid)
$143,0404-year tuition
$16,350Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$52,110Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$208,440Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Bridgeport.

Financial Aid by Income Level

53.48% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
75.66% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Bridgeport was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Bridgeport in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$29,090$29,090$22,951
2014$29,920$29,920$22,626
2015$30,850$30,850$24,122
2016$31,630$31,630$24,272
2017$32,250$32,250$22,642
2018$33,055$33,055$22,961
2019$34,760$34,760$22,600
2020$35,760$35,760$25,084
2021$35,760$35,760$24,416
2022$35,760$35,760$26,331
2023$35,760$35,760$24,786

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

83.02%Acceptance rate
5,592Total applicants
3,596Students admitted
231First-time students enrolled
6.42%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

985SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Bridgeport reported total enrollment of about 1,534 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (35.1%), Hispanic or Latino (30.3%), and White (21.7%). About 53.48% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 42.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

81.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Bridgeport in 2024 is 1,534 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,760 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,268 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

61.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

35.1%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American35.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino30.3%
  • White or Caucasian21.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien5.0%
  • Asian4.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Two or More Races0.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

28.74% 100% Completion Time

41.19% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 28.74% of students graduating from University of Bridgeport completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer Science: 67% male / 33% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 10% male / 90% female
  • Management Science: 73% male / 27% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

383White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian383
  • Black or African American216
  • Hispanic or Latino179
  • Asian53
  • Two or More Races28
  • American Indian or Alaska Native5
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Bridgeport graduates earn a median of $50,323 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Bridgeport.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $50,323. Median federal loan debt: $25,750. Average net price used in cost models: $27,807.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Bridgeport graduates report median earnings of $50,323 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

352%Modeled return on investment
$25,750Median student debt
$50,323Median annual earnings (10 years)
51.17%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Bridgeport.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (49 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Science 457
  2. Human Nutrition 76
  3. Chiropractic 42

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Bridgeport.

Employment Outcomes

$50,323Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$38,575Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$49,288Median earnings (8 years after entry)
28.15%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Bridgeport graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Bridgeport—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$14.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $2.4M

Year change: $11.8M

  • Connecticut median 0.25× the median ($56.9M)
  • New England median 0.33× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 0.54× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $3,982

  • Connecticut median 0.17× the median ($23,500)
  • New England median 0.17× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.33× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 36.4%
    • Connecticut median 31.6 pp below median (68.0%)
    • New England median 16.8 pp below median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 21.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,399
    • Connecticut median 0.67× the median ($11,112)
    • New England median 0.80× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,944
    • Connecticut median 0.91× the median ($7,608)
    • New England median 0.68× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Bridgeport at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Bridgeport

Bridgeport, CT 06604-5620 · Private Non-profit · New England

University of Bridgeport is a private non-profit institution in Bridgeport, CT, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.

Tuition$35,760
Avg. net price$27,807
Enrollment1,534
Acceptance rate83.02%
Completion (150%)41.19%
Average SAT985
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer ScienceRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseManagement Science
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American35.1%
Hispanic or Latino30.3%
White or Caucasian21.7%
Nearby

Schools near University of Bridgeport

Other campuses in Bridgeport, CT when available, plus nearby institutions in Connecticut.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Connecticut, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Bridgeport located?

University of Bridgeport is located in Bridgeport, CT.

What is University of Bridgeport's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Bridgeport is 83.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,592 applicants and 3,596 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Bridgeport's tuition?

University of Bridgeport tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $35,760 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,807 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Bridgeport cost?

Reported tuition is $35,760 and average net price is $27,807 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,350 annually.

Why is University of Bridgeport's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Bridgeport, published tuition is $35,760 while average net price is $27,807—about 22% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Bridgeport's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,807), completion (41.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($50,323). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Bridgeport?

University of Bridgeport reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,760 students, Black or African American (35.1%), Hispanic or Latino (30.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Bridgeport?

About 42.4% of students at University of Bridgeport are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Bridgeport?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Bridgeport reports midpoint SAT about 985.

What do graduates of University of Bridgeport earn?

Median earnings are $38,575 six years after entry and $50,323 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Bridgeport?

The 150%-time completion rate is 41.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Bridgeport students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,750.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.