Active Report Report ID: EDU-110714-2026

University of California-Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz, CA 95064-1011

Acceptance rate65.79%Broad access
Tuition$16,005Published sticker
Avg. net price$17,890After aid
Graduation rate75.09%150% time
Median salary$68,39610yr post-entry

About University of California-Santa Cruz

University of California-Santa Cruz is a public research university in Santa Cruz, California, with about 17,940 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 65.79% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $68,396 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of California-Santa Cruz charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition ($16,005).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 75.09%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $68,396.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of California-Santa Cruz is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 856% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of California-Santa Cruz awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 82 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of California-Santa Cruz$16,005$17,8901
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of California-Santa Cruz really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of California-Santa Cruz charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition ($16,005).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
Published sticker

University of California-Santa Cruz tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,005

Finding University of California-Santa Cruz charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,005. That is about 2.9× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 34% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of California-Santa Cruz versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of California-Santa Cruz versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of California-Santa Cruz is $17,890.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,890 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,547 above the California median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,919 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of California-Santa Cruz, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of California-Santa Cruz: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of California-Santa Cruz—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$16,005

Out-of-state tuition

$50,205

Avg. net price

$17,890

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,717
$30,001–$48,000$10,613
$48,001–$75,000$14,418
$75,001–$110,000$18,986
$110,001+$33,323

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $64,020. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention87.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$49,716Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

What University of California-Santa Cruz is known for

Top program completions

  1. Computer Science719
  2. Psychology, General524
  3. Business/Managerial Economics306
  4. Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology199
  5. Film/Video and Photographic Arts, Other179

See earnings & programs for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 10% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of California-Santa Cruz a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of California-Santa Cruz is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of California-Santa Cruz.

Campus

Location

Santa Cruz, CA

City / state

ZIP
95064-1011
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 19% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

17,940

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
19,317
Graduate
1,998
Full-time share
97%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$16,666

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.57%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$71,560Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,890Average annual net price (after aid)
$64,0204-year in-state tuition
$200,8204-year out-of-state tuition
$19,948Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,192Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$37,145Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$148,580Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of California-Santa Cruz.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.57% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
28.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of California-Santa Cruz was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of California-Santa Cruz in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$13,397$36,275$15,107
2014$13,397$36,275$16,086
2015$13,461$38,169$17,205
2016$13,539$40,221$16,989
2017$14,020$42,034$17,884
2018$13,960$42,952$17,699
2019$13,991$43,745$18,186
2020$14,025$43,779$17,930
2021$14,070$43,824$18,828
2022$14,240$44,312$17,601
2023$14,560$45,337$16,607

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

65.79%Acceptance rate
68,845Total applicants
43,054Students admitted
4,381First-time students enrolled
10.18%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of California-Santa Cruz reported total enrollment of about 17,940 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (30.6%), Hispanic or Latino (28.6%), and Asian (24.3%). About 31.57% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 36.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

97.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of California-Santa Cruz in 2024 is 17,940 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 19,317 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,998 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

87.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

30.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian30.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino28.6%
  • Asian24.3%
  • Two or More Races8.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.3%
  • Black or African American2.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

61.48% 100% Completion Time

75.09% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 61.48% of students graduating from University of California-Santa Cruz completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer Science: 80% male / 20% female
  • Psychology, General: 28% male / 72% female
  • Business/Managerial Economics: 69% male / 31% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,833White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,833
  • Hispanic or Latino1,451
  • Asian1,255
  • Two or More Races444
  • Black or African American86
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander7
  • American Indian or Alaska Native5

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of California-Santa Cruz graduates earn a median of $68,396 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of California-Santa Cruz.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $68,396. Median federal loan debt: $16,666. Average net price used in cost models: $17,890.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of California-Santa Cruz graduates report median earnings of $68,396 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

856%Modeled return on investment
$16,666Median student debt
$68,396Median annual earnings (10 years)
24.37%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of California-Santa Cruz.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (82 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Science 719
  2. Business/Managerial Economics 306
  3. Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology 199
  4. Film/Video and Photographic Arts, Other 179
  5. Cognitive Science, General 143

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of California-Santa Cruz.

Employment Outcomes

$68,396Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$49,716Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$59,302Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.17%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of California-Santa Cruz graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of California-Santa Cruz—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$151.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $145.5M

Year change: $5.8M

  • California median 7.7× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 9.0× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 5.7× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $7,375

  • California median near the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median near the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.61× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 84.9%
    • California median 45.6 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 39.2 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 27.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $17,994
    • California median 1.8× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.9× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 2.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,595
    • California median 2.1× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 1.9× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of California-Santa Cruz at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of California-Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz, CA 95064-1011 · Public · Far West

University of California-Santa Cruz is a public institution in Santa Cruz, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$16,005
Avg. net price$17,890
Enrollment17,940
Acceptance rate65.79%
Completion (150%)75.09%
Pell Grant share31.57%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer SciencePsychology, GeneralBusiness/Managerial Economics
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian30.6%
Hispanic or Latino28.6%
Asian24.3%
Nearby

Schools near University of California-Santa Cruz

Other campuses in Santa Cruz, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of California-Santa Cruz located?

University of California-Santa Cruz is located in Santa Cruz, CA.

What is University of California-Santa Cruz's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of California-Santa Cruz is 65.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 68,845 applicants and 43,054 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of California-Santa Cruz's tuition?

University of California-Santa Cruz tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,005 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,890 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of California-Santa Cruz cost?

Reported tuition is $16,005 and average net price is $17,890 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,948 annually.

What explains University of California-Santa Cruz's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,890), completion (75.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($68,396). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of California-Santa Cruz?

University of California-Santa Cruz reports undergraduate enrollment of about 19,317 students, White (30.6%), Hispanic or Latino (28.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of California-Santa Cruz?

About 36.7% of students at University of California-Santa Cruz are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of California-Santa Cruz earn?

Median earnings are $49,716 six years after entry and $68,396 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of California-Santa Cruz?

The 150%-time completion rate is 75.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of California-Santa Cruz students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $16,666.

Is University of California-Santa Cruz public or private?

University of California-Santa Cruz is a public institution located in Santa Cruz, CA.

Is University of California-Santa Cruz an HBCU?

No. University of California-Santa Cruz is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.