University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1405
About University of California-Los Angeles
University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) is a public research university in Los Angeles, California, enrolling about 33,475 students. Admission is highly selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 8.97% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $82,511 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of California-Los Angeles charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,203).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
- University of California-Los Angeles admits about 8.97% of applicants (extremely selective).
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 92.62%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $82,511.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of California-Los Angeles is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1544% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of California-Los Angeles awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 162 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of California-Los Angeles | $15,203 | $12,548 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 17% below published tuition at University of California-Los Angeles
Key findings
- University of California-Los Angeles's average net price ($12,548) is 17% below published tuition ($15,203).
- University of California-Los Angeles charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,203).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
University of California-Los Angeles tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $15,203
Finding University of California-Los Angeles charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $15,203. That is about 2.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 1.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 28% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of California-Los Angeles versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of California-Los Angeles versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of California-Los Angeles is $12,548.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,548 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,205 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $7,505 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of California-Los Angeles’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 17% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of California-Los Angeles: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of California-Los Angeles—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$15,203
Out-of-state tuition
$49,403
Avg. net price
$12,548
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $5,579 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $6,682 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $9,811 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $14,142 |
| $110,001+ | $29,682 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $60,812. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of California-Los Angeles is known for
Top program completions
- Econometrics and Quantitative Economics935
- Psychology, General799
- Political Science and Government, General744
- Management Science737
- Sociology, General682
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Extremely selective — fewer than 1 in 10 applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 52% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of California-Los Angeles a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of California-Los Angeles is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of California-Los Angeles.
Campus
Location
Los Angeles, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 90095-1405
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 37% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
33,475
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 35,441
- Graduate
- 13,860
- Full-time share
- 98%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$14,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 28.24%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of California-Los Angeles.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of California-Los Angeles was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of California-Los Angeles in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $12,697 | $35,575 | $13,723 |
| 2014 | $12,705 | $35,583 | $13,399 |
| 2015 | $12,763 | $37,471 | $13,454 |
| 2016 | $12,920 | $39,602 | $13,572 |
| 2017 | $13,261 | $41,275 | $14,309 |
| 2018 | $13,226 | $42,218 | $14,171 |
| 2019 | $13,240 | $42,994 | $14,279 |
| 2020 | $13,249 | $43,003 | $15,023 |
| 2021 | $13,258 | $43,012 | $11,627 |
| 2022 | $13,401 | $43,473 | $15,637 |
| 2023 | $13,747 | $44,524 | $14,013 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is extremely selective, accepting fewer than 1 in 10 applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of California-Los Angeles reported total enrollment of about 33,475 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (29.5%), Hispanic or Latino (24.2%), and White (23.9%). About 28.24% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
98.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of California-Los Angeles in 2024 is 33,475 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 35,441 students. Graduate enrollment is about 13,860 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
97.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
85.30% 100% Completion Time
92.62% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 85.30% of students graduating from University of California-Los Angeles completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Econometrics and Quantitative Economics: 54% male / 46% female
- Psychology, General: 19% male / 81% female
- Political Science and Government, General: 43% male / 57% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of California-Los Angeles graduates earn a median of $82,511 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of California-Los Angeles.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $82,511. Median federal loan debt: $14,000. Average net price used in cost models: $12,548.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of California-Los Angeles graduates report median earnings of $82,511 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of California-Los Angeles.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (162 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of California-Los Angeles.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of California-Los Angeles graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of California-Los Angeles—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$3.16B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 160× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 188× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 120× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 8.9× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 9.1× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 5.4× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 75.1%
- California median 35.8 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 29.4 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 17.2 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $22,848
- California median 2.2× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 2.4× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 3.0× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $73,875
- California median 11× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 11× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 10× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of California-Los Angeles at a glance
University of California-Los Angeles
University of California-Los Angeles is a public institution in Los Angeles, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Econometrics and Quantitative EconomicsPsychology, GeneralPolitical Science and Government, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Asian29.5%Hispanic or Latino24.2%White or Caucasian23.9%
Schools near University of California-Los Angeles
Other campuses in Los Angeles, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is UCLA located?
University of California-Los Angeles is located in Los Angeles, CA. The institution is also known as UCLA.
What is UCLA's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) is 9.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 145,903 applicants and 12,736 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is UCLA's tuition?
University of California-Los Angeles tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $15,203 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,548 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does UCLA cost?
Reported tuition is $15,203 and average net price is $12,548 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,369 annually.
Why is UCLA's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of California-Los Angeles, published tuition is $15,203 while average net price is $12,548—about 17% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains UCLA's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,548), completion (92.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($82,511). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
Why is UCLA's acceptance rate so low?
The acceptance rate at University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) is 9.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.
What is the student body demographics at UCLA?
University of California-Los Angeles reports undergraduate enrollment of about 35,441 students, Asian (29.5%), Hispanic or Latino (24.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend UCLA?
About 38.1% of students at University of California-Los Angeles are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of California-Los Angeles earn?
Median earnings are $59,063 six years after entry and $82,511 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of California-Los Angeles?
The 150%-time completion rate is 92.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of California-Los Angeles students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- University of California-Los Angeles vs University of California-Berkeley vs California State University-Fullerton
- Los Angeles, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Urban (City) college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.