Active Report Report ID: EDU-116846-2026

American Jewish University

Los Angeles, CA 90077-1519

Graduation rate44.44%150% time
Median salary$61,95410yr post-entry
Enrollment60Total students

About American Jewish University

American Jewish University is a private trade and vocational school in Los Angeles, California, enrolling about 60 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 44.44% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $61,954 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,954.
School guide

American Jewish University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for American Jewish University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Is American Jewish University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

American Jewish University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for American Jewish University.

Campus

Location

Los Angeles, CA

City / state

ZIP
90077-1519
NCES locale
City

See Urban (City) college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

60

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
326
Graduate
134
Full-time share
47%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
10.26%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for American Jewish University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

10.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
10.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at American Jewish University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for American Jewish University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132020 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$27,900$27,900$39,799
2014$29,132$29,132$36,293
2015$30,236$30,236$40,611
2016$30,338$30,338$25,777
2017$30,938$30,938$29,554
2018$31,946$31,946$38,997
2020$32,404$32,404

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

American Jewish University reported total enrollment of about 60 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 2% male and 98% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (60.0%), Hispanic or Latino (23.3%), and Asian (5.0%). About 10.26% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

46.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at American Jewish University in 2024 is 60 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 326 students. Graduate enrollment is about 134 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

60.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian60.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino23.3%
  • Asian5.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
  • Two or More Races3.3%
  • Black or African American1.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

44.44% 100% Completion Time

44.44% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 44.44% of students graduating from American Jewish University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 10% male / 90% female
  • Teacher Education, Multiple Levels: 0% male / 100% female
  • Rabbinical Studies: 83% male / 17% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

38White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian38
  • Hispanic or Latino14
  • Black or African American7
  • Two or More Races2
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

American Jewish University graduates earn a median of $61,954 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of American Jewish University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $61,954.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway American Jewish University graduates report median earnings of $61,954 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$61,954Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for American Jewish University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 49
  2. Religious Education 2

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at American Jewish University.

Employment Outcomes

$61,954Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,398Median earnings (8 years after entry)
66.67%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for American Jewish University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for American Jewish University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$24M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $23.2M

Year change: $852,799

  • California median 1.2× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 1.4× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.91× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $270,108

  • California median 36× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 37× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 22× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • California median 60.7 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 54.3 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,979
    • California median 1.4× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.5× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $18,456
    • California median 2.9× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 2.6× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 2.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

American Jewish University at a glance

Institution snapshot

American Jewish University

Los Angeles, CA 90077-1519 · Private Non-profit · Far West

American Jewish University is a private non-profit institution in Los Angeles, CA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Enrollment60
Completion (150%)44.44%
Pell Grant share10.26%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Early Childhood Education & TeachingTeacher Education, Multiple LevelsRabbinical Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian60.0%
Hispanic or Latino23.3%
Asian5.0%
Nearby

Schools near American Jewish University

Other campuses in Los Angeles, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is American Jewish University located?

American Jewish University is located in Los Angeles, CA.

How much does American Jewish University cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at American Jewish University?

American Jewish University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 326 students, White (60.0%), Hispanic or Latino (23.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What do graduates of American Jewish University earn?

Median earnings are N/A six years after entry and $61,954 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at American Jewish University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 44.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is American Jewish University public or private?

American Jewish University is a private nonprofit institution located in Los Angeles, CA.

Is American Jewish University an HBCU?

No. American Jewish University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is American Jewish University a tribal college?

No. American Jewish University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is American Jewish University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, American Jewish University does not meet that proxy (reported share 23.3%).

Is American Jewish University religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for American Jewish University: Jewish.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.