Active Report Report ID: EDU-483878-2026

Bay Area Medical Academy

San Francisco, CA 94108-3623

Avg. net price$27,042After aid
Graduation rate52.24%150% time
Enrollment209Total students

About Bay Area Medical Academy

Bay Area Medical Academy is a private for-profit trade school in San Francisco, California, enrolling about 209 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 52.24% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (35.9%) and Black or African American (27.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Bay Area Medical Academy$27,0421
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Bay Area Medical Academy really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Bay Area Medical Academy versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Bay Area Medical Academy is $27,042.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,042 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $18,699 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $6,989 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Bay Area Medical Academy: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Bay Area Medical Academy—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$27,042

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$26,387
$30,001–$48,000$26,081
$48,001–$75,000$28,569
$75,001–$110,000$33,247
$110,001+$39,369

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$52,273Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Bay Area Medical Academy is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Bay Area Medical Academy.

Campus

Location

San Francisco, CA

City / state

ZIP
94108-3623
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 35% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West

Size

Enrollment

209

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
336
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,089

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
72.82%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$108,168Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,042Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Bay Area Medical Academy.

Financial Aid by Income Level

72.82% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
23.62% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Bay Area Medical Academy was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Bay Area Medical Academy in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20142023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2014$9,078
2015$15,397
2016$20,198
2017$25,337
2018$22,886
2019$25,251
2020$22,776
2021$22,994
2022$23,973
2023$25,327

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Bay Area Medical Academy reported total enrollment of about 209 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 20% male and 80% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (35.9%), Black or African American (27.8%), and Asian (10.1%). About 72.82% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Bay Area Medical Academy in 2024 is 209 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 336 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

35.9%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino35.9%
  • Black or African American27.8%
  • Asian10.1%
  • Two or More Races9.1%
  • White or Caucasian6.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien5.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.96% 100% Completion Time

52.24% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.96% of students graduating from Bay Area Medical Academy completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 22% male / 78% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

27Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino27
  • Black or African American18
  • Asian9
  • White or Caucasian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • Two or More Races1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Bay Area Medical Academy graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Bay Area Medical Academy.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $9,089. Average net price used in cost models: $27,042.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$9,089Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Bay Area Medical Academy.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Bay Area Medical Academy.

Employment Outcomes

$52,273Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Bay Area Medical Academy graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Bay Area Medical Academy—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,748
    • California median 0.58× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.53× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.51× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Bay Area Medical Academy at a glance

Institution snapshot

Bay Area Medical Academy

San Francisco, CA 94108-3623 · Private For-profit · Far West

Bay Area Medical Academy is a private for-profit institution in San Francisco, CA.

Avg. net price$27,042
Enrollment209
Completion (150%)52.24%
Pell Grant share72.82%
First-generation52.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Medical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino35.9%
Black or African American27.8%
Asian10.1%
Nearby

Schools near Bay Area Medical Academy

Other campuses in San Francisco, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bay Area Medical Academy located?

Bay Area Medical Academy is located in San Francisco, CA.

How much does Bay Area Medical Academy cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $27,042 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Bay Area Medical Academy?

Bay Area Medical Academy reports undergraduate enrollment of about 336 students, Hispanic or Latino (35.9%), Black or African American (27.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Bay Area Medical Academy?

About 52.0% of students at Bay Area Medical Academy are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Bay Area Medical Academy?

The 150%-time completion rate is 52.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Bay Area Medical Academy students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,089.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy public or private?

Bay Area Medical Academy is a private for-profit institution located in San Francisco, CA.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy an HBCU?

No. Bay Area Medical Academy is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy a tribal college?

No. Bay Area Medical Academy is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Bay Area Medical Academy reports 35.9% Hispanic enrollment share.

Is Bay Area Medical Academy religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Bay Area Medical Academy in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.