University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
About University of California-Berkeley
University of California-Berkeley (UC Berkeley) is a public research university in Berkeley, California, enrolling about 33,068 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 10.98% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $92,446 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of California-Berkeley charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition ($16,347).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 92.84%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $92,446.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of California-Berkeley is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1614% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of California-Berkeley awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 128 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of California-Berkeley | $16,347 | $13,481 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 18% below published tuition at University of California-Berkeley
Key findings
- University of California-Berkeley's average net price ($13,481) is 18% below published tuition ($16,347).
- University of California-Berkeley charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition ($16,347).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
University of California-Berkeley tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $16,347
Finding University of California-Berkeley charges about 3.0× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $16,347. That is about 3.0× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 37% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of California-Berkeley versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of California-Berkeley versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of California-Berkeley is $13,481.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,481 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,138 above the California median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $4,567 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of California-Berkeley’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 18% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of California-Berkeley: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of California-Berkeley—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$16,347
Out-of-state tuition
$50,547
Avg. net price
$13,481
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $5,311 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $6,501 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $9,693 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $15,074 |
| $110,001+ | $34,529 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $65,388. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of California-Berkeley is known for
Top program completions
- Computer Science940
- Computer and Information Sciences, Other841
- Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology781
- Electrical and Electronics Engineering728
- Econometrics and Quantitative Economics707
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 45% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of California-Berkeley a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of California-Berkeley is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of California-Berkeley.
Campus
Location
Berkeley, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 94720
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 25% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
33,068
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 34,998
- Graduate
- 12,812
- Full-time share
- 95%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$13,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 28.64%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of California-Berkeley.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of California-Berkeley was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of California-Berkeley in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $12,864 | $35,742 | $13,769 |
| 2014 | $12,972 | $35,850 | $13,707 |
| 2015 | $13,431 | $38,139 | $13,197 |
| 2016 | $13,509 | $40,191 | $14,468 |
| 2017 | $14,170 | $42,184 | $15,430 |
| 2018 | $14,184 | $43,176 | $14,846 |
| 2019 | $14,253 | $44,007 | $15,329 |
| 2020 | $14,312 | $44,066 | $16,032 |
| 2021 | $14,226 | $43,980 | $15,240 |
| 2022 | $14,395 | $44,467 | $17,371 |
| 2023 | $14,850 | $45,627 | $14,979 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of California-Berkeley reported total enrollment of about 33,068 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (35.4%), Hispanic or Latino (22.1%), and White (19.8%). About 28.64% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.6% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
95.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of California-Berkeley in 2024 is 33,068 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 34,998 students. Graduate enrollment is about 12,812 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
96.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
79.91% 100% Completion Time
92.84% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 79.91% of students graduating from University of California-Berkeley completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Computer Science: 72% male / 28% female
- Computer and Information Sciences, Other: 56% male / 44% female
- Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology: 37% male / 63% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of California-Berkeley graduates earn a median of $92,446 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of California-Berkeley.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $92,446. Median federal loan debt: $13,000. Average net price used in cost models: $13,481.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of California-Berkeley graduates report median earnings of $92,446 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of California-Berkeley.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (128 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of California-Berkeley.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of California-Berkeley graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of California-Berkeley—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$2.98B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 151× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 177× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 113× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 8.8× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 9.0× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 5.4× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 69.6%
- California median 30.2 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 23.9 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 11.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $21,246
- California median 2.1× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 2.2× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 2.8× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $23,741
- California median 3.7× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 3.4× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 3.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of California-Berkeley at a glance
University of California-Berkeley
University of California-Berkeley is a public institution in Berkeley, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Computer ScienceComputer and Information Sciences, OtherCell/Cellular and Molecular Biology
- Largest enrollment groups
- Asian35.4%Hispanic or Latino22.1%White or Caucasian19.8%
Schools near University of California-Berkeley
Other campuses in Berkeley, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is UC Berkeley located?
University of California-Berkeley is located in Berkeley, CA. The institution is also known as UC Berkeley.
What is UC Berkeley's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of California-Berkeley (UC Berkeley) is 11.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 125,910 applicants and 14,677 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is UC Berkeley's tuition?
University of California-Berkeley tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,347 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,481 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does UC Berkeley cost?
Reported tuition is $16,347 and average net price is $13,481 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $23,750 annually.
Why is UC Berkeley's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of California-Berkeley, published tuition is $16,347 while average net price is $13,481—about 18% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains UC Berkeley's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,481), completion (92.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($92,446). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
Why is UC Berkeley's acceptance rate so low?
The acceptance rate at University of California-Berkeley (UC Berkeley) is 11.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.
What is the student body demographics at UC Berkeley?
University of California-Berkeley reports undergraduate enrollment of about 34,998 students, Asian (35.4%), Hispanic or Latino (22.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend UC Berkeley?
About 34.6% of students at University of California-Berkeley are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of California-Berkeley earn?
Median earnings are $74,919 six years after entry and $92,446 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of California-Berkeley?
The 150%-time completion rate is 92.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of California-Berkeley students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- University of California-Los Angeles vs University of California-Berkeley vs California State University-Fullerton
- Berkeley, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.