Berkeley City College
Berkeley, CA 94704
About Berkeley City College
Berkeley City College is a public community college in Berkeley, California, serving roughly 4,456 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $9,096 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,258. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (28.8%) and White (22.4%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Berkeley City College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,258).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 36.36%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,217.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Berkeley City College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1033% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Berkeley City College | $1,258 | $9,096 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Berkeley City College really?
Key findings
- Berkeley City College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,258).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
Berkeley City College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $1,258
Finding Berkeley City College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $1,258. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Berkeley City College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Berkeley City College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Berkeley City College is $9,096.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,096 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $753 above the California median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $8,952 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Berkeley City College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Berkeley City College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Berkeley City College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$1,258
Out-of-state tuition
$9,898
Avg. net price
$9,096
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $7,979 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $7,182 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,123 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $13,213 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $5,032. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Berkeley City College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies298
- Humanities/Humanistic Studies86
- Business Administration and Management, General43
- Psychology, General41
- Education, Other34
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Berkeley City College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Berkeley City College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Berkeley City College.
Campus
Location
Berkeley, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 94704
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
4,456
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 11,331
- Full-time share
- 20%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 12.56%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Berkeley City College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Berkeley City College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Berkeley City College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1,144 | $6,256 | $6,673 |
| 2014 | $1,144 | $6,256 | $8,422 |
| 2015 | $1,156 | $6,316 | $7,198 |
| 2016 | $1,232 | $6,896 | $6,943 |
| 2017 | $1,230 | $7,110 | $8,720 |
| 2018 | $1,254 | $7,806 | $5,927 |
| 2019 | $1,257 | $7,785 | $9,291 |
| 2020 | $1,167 | $7,527 | $7,145 |
| 2021 | $1,148 | $7,508 | $11,301 |
| 2022 | $1,148 | $8,684 | $9,184 |
| 2023 | $1,148 | $8,684 | $8,957 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Berkeley City College reported total enrollment of about 4,456 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (28.8%), White (22.4%), and Asian (17.7%). About 12.56% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.8% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
19.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Berkeley City College in 2024 is 4,456 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 11,331 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
62.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
9.09% 100% Completion Time
36.36% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 9.09% of students graduating from Berkeley City College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 35% male / 65% female
- Humanities/Humanistic Studies: 31% male / 69% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 40% male / 60% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Berkeley City College graduates earn a median of $41,217 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Berkeley City College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,217. Average net price used in cost models: $9,096.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Berkeley City College graduates report median earnings of $41,217 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Berkeley City College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (37 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Berkeley City College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Berkeley City College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Berkeley City College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 40.2%
- California median 0.9 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 5.4 pp below median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 17.7 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,330
- California median 1.2× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,062
- California median 0.78× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 0.72× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.69× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Berkeley City College at a glance
Berkeley City College
Berkeley City College is a public institution in Berkeley, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesHumanities/Humanistic StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino28.8%White or Caucasian22.4%Asian17.7%
Schools near Berkeley City College
Other campuses in Berkeley, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Berkeley City College located?
Berkeley City College is located in Berkeley, CA.
What is Berkeley City College's tuition?
Berkeley City College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,258 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,096 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Berkeley City College cost?
Reported tuition is $1,258 and average net price is $9,096 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,820 annually.
What explains Berkeley City College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,096), completion (36.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,217). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Berkeley City College?
Berkeley City College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 11,331 students, Hispanic or Latino (28.8%), White (22.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Berkeley City College?
About 46.8% of students at Berkeley City College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Berkeley City College earn?
Median earnings are $35,404 six years after entry and $41,217 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Berkeley City College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 36.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Berkeley City College public or private?
Berkeley City College is a public institution located in Berkeley, CA.
Is Berkeley City College an HBCU?
No. Berkeley City College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Berkeley City College a tribal college?
No. Berkeley City College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Berkeley City College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Berkeley City College reports 28.8% Hispanic enrollment share.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- California trade schools profile
- Berkeley, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.