University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
About University of Colorado Colorado Springs
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public research university in Colorado Springs, Colorado, serving roughly 8,697 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 97.35% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $54,659 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Colorado Colorado Springs charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($10,149).
- Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 46.93%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,659.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Colorado Colorado Springs is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 766% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Colorado Colorado Springs awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 68 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs | $10,149 | $15,788 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Colorado (state median) | $9,958 | $12,045 | 43 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Colorado Colorado Springs really?
Key findings
- University of Colorado Colorado Springs charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($10,149).
- Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $10,149
Finding University of Colorado Colorado Springs charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $10,149. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Colorado median ($9,958), sticker tuition is 2% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 15% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Colorado Colorado Springs versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Colorado Colorado Springs versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Colorado Colorado Springs is $15,788.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,788 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,743 above the Colorado median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $4,265 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Colorado Colorado Springs, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Colorado Colorado Springs—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$10,149
Out-of-state tuition
$24,336
Avg. net price
$15,788
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $12,065 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,642 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,104 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $18,388 |
| $110,001+ | $22,142 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $40,596. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Colorado Colorado Springs is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General417
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse220
- Psychology, General202
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration157
- Communication and Media Studies141
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1133
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Colorado Colorado Springs a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Colorado Colorado Springs.
Campus
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
City / state
- ZIP
- 80918
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 21% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Rocky Mountains
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
8,697
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 12,152
- Graduate
- 2,052
- Full-time share
- 82%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 27.29%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Colorado Colorado Springs.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Colorado Colorado Springs was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Colorado Colorado Springs in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,024 | $18,437 | $13,020 |
| 2014 | $7,462 | $17,494 | $15,151 |
| 2015 | $7,692 | $17,988 | $14,649 |
| 2016 | $8,042 | $18,770 | $16,029 |
| 2017 | $8,314 | $19,498 | $15,872 |
| 2018 | $8,523 | $20,067 | $15,812 |
| 2019 | $8,524 | $20,620 | $16,486 |
| 2020 | $8,580 | $20,220 | $15,648 |
| 2021 | $8,766 | $21,222 | $14,633 |
| 2022 | $9,129 | $22,041 | $15,318 |
| 2023 | $9,712 | $20,492 | $16,431 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1133 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Colorado Colorado Springs reported total enrollment of about 8,697 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (59.0%), Hispanic or Latino (21.1%), and Two or More Races (7.7%). About 27.29% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 31.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
82.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Colorado Colorado Springs in 2024 is 8,697 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 12,152 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,052 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
68.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
28.17% 100% Completion Time
46.93% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 28.17% of students graduating from University of Colorado Colorado Springs completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 61% male / 39% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
- Psychology, General: 20% male / 80% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs graduates earn a median of $54,659 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Colorado Colorado Springs.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,659. Median federal loan debt: $20,000. Average net price used in cost models: $15,788.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Colorado Colorado Springs graduates report median earnings of $54,659 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Colorado Colorado Springs.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (68 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Colorado Colorado Springs.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Colorado Colorado Springs graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Colorado Colorado Springs—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 62.2%
- Colorado median 5.7 pp below median (67.9%)
- Rocky Mountains median 11.1 pp below median (73.3%)
- U.S. median 4.2 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,318
- Colorado median 1.3× the median ($7,318)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.2× the median ($7,458)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $11,886
- Colorado median 1.8× the median ($6,731)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.7× the median ($6,852)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs at a glance
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public institution in Colorado Springs, CO, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NursePsychology, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian59.0%Hispanic or Latino21.1%Two or More Races7.7%
Schools near University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Other campuses in Colorado Springs, CO when available, plus nearby institutions in Colorado.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Colorado, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Colorado Colorado Springs located?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is located in Colorado Springs, CO.
What is University of Colorado Colorado Springs's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Colorado Colorado Springs is 97.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 13,103 applicants and 12,653 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of Colorado Colorado Springs's tuition?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,149 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,788 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Colorado Colorado Springs cost?
Reported tuition is $10,149 and average net price is $15,788 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,918 annually.
What explains University of Colorado Colorado Springs's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,788), completion (46.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,659). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Colorado Colorado Springs?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs reports undergraduate enrollment of about 12,152 students, White (59.0%), Hispanic or Latino (21.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Colorado Colorado Springs?
About 31.3% of students at University of Colorado Colorado Springs are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of Colorado Colorado Springs?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Colorado Colorado Springs reports midpoint SAT about 1133.
What do graduates of University of Colorado Colorado Springs earn?
Median earnings are $45,766 six years after entry and $54,659 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Colorado Colorado Springs?
The 150%-time completion rate is 46.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Colorado Colorado Springs students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,000.
Is University of Colorado Colorado Springs public or private?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public institution located in Colorado Springs, CO.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.