Active Report Report ID: EDU-128391-2026

Western Colorado University

Gunnison, CO 81231

Acceptance rate99.71%Broad access
Tuition$11,318Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,425After aid
Graduation rate50.50%150% time
Median salary$46,83310yr post-entry

About Western Colorado University

Western Colorado University is a public research university in Gunnison, Colorado, enrolling about 1,586 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 99.71% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,833 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Western Colorado University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition ($11,318).
  • Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 14% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 50.50%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,833.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Western Colorado University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 613% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Western Colorado University$11,318$16,4251
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Colorado (state median)$9,958$12,04543
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Western Colorado University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Western Colorado University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition ($11,318).
  • Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 14% above.
Published sticker

Western Colorado University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $11,318

Finding Western Colorado University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $11,318. That is about 2.1× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Colorado median ($9,958), sticker tuition is 14% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 5% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Western Colorado University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Western Colorado University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Western Colorado University is $16,425.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,425 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,380 above the Colorado median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,454 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Western Colorado University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Western Colorado University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Western Colorado University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$11,318

Out-of-state tuition

$24,434

Avg. net price

$16,425

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,490
$30,001–$48,000$10,868
$48,001–$75,000$13,908
$75,001–$110,000$16,928
$110,001+$21,396

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $45,272. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$40,037Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 13% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1230
  • Midpoint ACT: 24

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Western Colorado University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Western Colorado University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Western Colorado University.

Campus

Location

Gunnison, CO

City / state

ZIP
81231
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 10% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

1,586

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
5,146
Graduate
420
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,250

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
12.02%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$65,700Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,425Average annual net price (after aid)
$45,2724-year in-state tuition
$97,7364-year out-of-state tuition
$10,760Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,350Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$23,428Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$93,712Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Western Colorado University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

12.02% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
19.67% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Western Colorado University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Western Colorado University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,343$17,284$14,177
2014$7,874$18,319$14,352
2015$8,451$19,455$15,530
2016$9,193$20,497$16,028
2017$9,802$21,274$17,229
2018$10,114$21,586$17,200
2019$10,436$21,908$17,282
2020$10,646$22,430$16,690
2021$10,662$22,446$17,437
2022$10,813$22,837$15,175
2023$11,083$23,683$16,773

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

99.71%Acceptance rate
3,283Total applicants
3,200Students admitted
423First-time students enrolled
13.22%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1230SAT average
24ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Western Colorado University reported total enrollment of about 1,586 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 57% male and 43% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (75.7%), Hispanic or Latino (11.2%), and Two or More Races (3.9%). About 12.02% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 25.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Western Colorado University in 2024 is 1,586 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,146 students. Graduate enrollment is about 420 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

75.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian75.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino11.2%
  • Two or More Races3.9%
  • Black or African American3.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.3%
  • Asian1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

34.53% 100% Completion Time

50.50% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 34.53% of students graduating from Western Colorado University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 77% male / 23% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 45% male / 55% female
  • Environmental Studies: 46% male / 54% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

394White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian394
  • Hispanic or Latino46
  • Two or More Races12
  • Black or African American10
  • Asian4
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Western Colorado University graduates earn a median of $46,833 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Western Colorado University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,833. Median federal loan debt: $20,250. Average net price used in cost models: $16,425.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Western Colorado University graduates report median earnings of $46,833 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

613%Modeled return on investment
$20,250Median student debt
$46,833Median annual earnings (10 years)
43.24%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Western Colorado University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Creative Writing 30
  2. Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies 23

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Western Colorado University.

Employment Outcomes

$46,833Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$40,037Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$43,861Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.58%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Western Colorado University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Western Colorado University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$8.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $9M

Year change: -$186,419

  • Colorado median 0.56× the median ($15.8M)
  • Rocky Mountains median 0.45× the median ($19.5M)
  • U.S. median 0.33× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $3,620

  • Colorado median 0.62× the median ($5,882)
  • Rocky Mountains median 0.35× the median ($10,274)
  • U.S. median 0.30× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 67.9%
    • Colorado median 0.0 pp at median (67.9%)
    • Rocky Mountains median 5.4 pp below median (73.3%)
    • U.S. median 9.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,628
    • Colorado median near the median ($7,318)
    • Rocky Mountains median near the median ($7,458)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $14,568
    • Colorado median 2.2× the median ($6,731)
    • Rocky Mountains median 2.1× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Western Colorado University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Western Colorado University

Gunnison, CO 81231 · Public · Rocky Mountains

Western Colorado University is a public institution in Gunnison, CO, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$11,318
Avg. net price$16,425
Enrollment1,586
Acceptance rate99.71%
Completion (150%)50.50%
Average SAT1230
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralEnvironmental Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian75.7%
Hispanic or Latino11.2%
Two or More Races3.9%
Nearby

Schools near Western Colorado University

Other campuses in Gunnison, CO when available, plus nearby institutions in Colorado.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Colorado, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Western Colorado University located?

Western Colorado University is located in Gunnison, CO.

What is Western Colorado University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Western Colorado University is 99.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 3,283 applicants and 3,200 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Western Colorado University's tuition?

Western Colorado University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $11,318 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,425 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Western Colorado University cost?

Reported tuition is $11,318 and average net price is $16,425 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,760 annually.

What explains Western Colorado University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,425), completion (50.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,833). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Western Colorado University?

Western Colorado University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,146 students, White (75.7%), Hispanic or Latino (11.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Western Colorado University?

About 25.0% of students at Western Colorado University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Western Colorado University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Western Colorado University reports midpoint SAT about 1230 and midpoint ACT about 24.

What do graduates of Western Colorado University earn?

Median earnings are $40,037 six years after entry and $46,833 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Western Colorado University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 50.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Western Colorado University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,250.

Is Western Colorado University public or private?

Western Colorado University is a public institution located in Gunnison, CO.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.