University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242-1316
About University of Iowa
University of Iowa (Iowa) is a public research university in Iowa City, Iowa, with about 22,264 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 83.62% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $64,762 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Iowa charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($11,283).
- Versus the Iowa median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 74.63%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $64,762.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Iowa is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 619% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Iowa awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 200 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Iowa | $11,283 | $22,531 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Iowa (state median) | $20,270 | $11,272 | 49 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Iowa really?
Key findings
- University of Iowa charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($11,283).
- Versus the Iowa median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
University of Iowa tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $11,283
Finding University of Iowa charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $11,283. That is about 2.0× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Iowa median ($20,270), sticker tuition is about 0.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 5% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Iowa versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Iowa versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Iowa is $22,531.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,531 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,259 above the Iowa median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,560 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Iowa, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Iowa: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Iowa—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$11,283
Out-of-state tuition
$33,371
Avg. net price
$22,531
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $15,316 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,489 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $19,930 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $23,811 |
| $110,001+ | $26,266 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $45,132. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Iowa is known for
Top program completions
- Finance, General568
- Business Administration and Management, General557
- Organizational Leadership469
- Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods, Other432
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology407
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 23% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1200
- Midpoint ACT: 26
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Iowa a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Iowa is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Iowa.
Campus
Location
Iowa City, IA
City / state
- ZIP
- 52242-1316
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 50% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Plains
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
22,264
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 24,384
- Graduate
- 8,041
- Full-time share
- 95%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 18.35%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Iowa.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Iowa was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Iowa in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $8,061 | $26,931 | $16,447 |
| 2014 | $8,079 | $27,409 | $14,863 |
| 2015 | $8,104 | $27,890 | $14,085 |
| 2016 | $8,575 | $28,813 | $14,192 |
| 2017 | $8,965 | $30,609 | $15,103 |
| 2018 | $9,267 | $31,233 | $15,893 |
| 2019 | $9,606 | $31,569 | $19,145 |
| 2020 | $9,606 | $31,569 | $19,401 |
| 2021 | $9,942 | $31,905 | $19,443 |
| 2022 | $10,353 | $32,316 | $20,426 |
| 2023 | $10,964 | $32,927 | $21,398 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1200 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 26 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.40
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Iowa reported total enrollment of about 22,264 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (74.4%), Hispanic or Latino (8.9%), and Asian (4.4%). About 18.35% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 22.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
95.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Iowa in 2024 is 22,264 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 24,384 students. Graduate enrollment is about 8,041 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
90.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
58.21% 100% Completion Time
74.63% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 58.21% of students graduating from University of Iowa completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Finance, General: 79% male / 21% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 59% male / 41% female
- Organizational Leadership: 52% male / 48% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Iowa graduates earn a median of $64,762 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Iowa.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $64,762. Median federal loan debt: $22,500. Average net price used in cost models: $22,531.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Iowa graduates report median earnings of $64,762 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Iowa.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (200 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Iowa.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Iowa graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Iowa—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$3.26B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Iowa median 90× the median ($36.3M)
- Plains median 136× the median ($24.1M)
- U.S. median 124× the median ($26.4M)
- Iowa median 4.0× the median ($28,406)
- Plains median 7.5× the median ($15,020)
- U.S. median 9.3× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 87.6%
- Iowa median 0.0 pp below median (87.6%)
- Plains median 22.9 pp above median (64.7%)
- U.S. median 29.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,922
- Iowa median 1.8× the median ($7,039)
- Plains median 1.8× the median ($7,194)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,714
- Iowa median 1.9× the median ($8,352)
- Plains median 1.9× the median ($8,150)
- U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Iowa at a glance
University of Iowa
University of Iowa is a public institution in Iowa City, IA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Finance, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralOrganizational Leadership
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian74.4%Hispanic or Latino8.9%Asian4.4%
Schools near University of Iowa
Other campuses in Iowa City, IA when available, plus nearby institutions in Iowa.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Iowa, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Iowa located?
University of Iowa is located in Iowa City, IA. The institution is also known as Iowa.
What is Iowa's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Iowa (Iowa) is 83.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 25,682 applicants and 21,746 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Iowa's tuition?
University of Iowa tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $11,283 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,531 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Iowa cost?
Reported tuition is $11,283 and average net price is $22,531 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,920 annually.
What explains Iowa's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,531), completion (74.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($64,762). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Iowa?
University of Iowa reports undergraduate enrollment of about 24,384 students, White (74.4%), Hispanic or Latino (8.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Iowa?
About 22.3% of students at University of Iowa are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of Iowa?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Iowa reports midpoint SAT about 1200 and midpoint ACT about 26.
What do graduates of University of Iowa earn?
Median earnings are $52,696 six years after entry and $64,762 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Iowa?
The 150%-time completion rate is 74.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Iowa students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,500.
Is University of Iowa public or private?
University of Iowa is a public institution located in Iowa City, IA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Iowa college profile
- Iowa college costs
- Iowa colleges by ROI
- Iowa State University vs University of Iowa vs University of Northern Iowa
- Iowa City, Iowa city profile
- Plains regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Iowa
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.