University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403
About University of Oregon
University of Oregon (Oregon) is a public research university in Eugene, Oregon, with about 20,497 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 88.30% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $61,324 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Oregon charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition ($16,137).
- Versus the Oregon median, sticker tuition is 35% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.69%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,324.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Oregon is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 591% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Oregon awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 116 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Oregon | $16,137 | $22,182 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Oregon (state median) | $11,997 | $10,548 | 42 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Oregon really?
Key findings
- University of Oregon charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition ($16,137).
- Versus the Oregon median, sticker tuition is 35% above.
University of Oregon tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $16,137
Finding University of Oregon charges about 2.9× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $16,137. That is about 2.9× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Oregon median ($11,997), sticker tuition is 35% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 36% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Oregon versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Oregon versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Oregon is $22,182.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,182 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,634 above the Oregon median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $4,134 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Oregon, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Oregon: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Oregon—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$16,137
Out-of-state tuition
$44,598
Avg. net price
$22,182
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $15,909 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,760 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $18,364 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $24,704 |
| $110,001+ | $31,021 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $64,548. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Oregon is known for
Top program completions
- Business/Commerce, General605
- Research and Experimental Psychology, Other401
- Social Sciences, General262
- Advertising257
- Political Science and Government, General232
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 15% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1272
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Oregon a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Oregon is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Oregon.
Campus
Location
Eugene, OR
City / state
- ZIP
- 97403
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 23% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
20,497
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 21,953
- Graduate
- 3,782
- Full-time share
- 95%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,139
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 21.35%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Oregon.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Oregon was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Oregon in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $9,763 | $29,788 | $16,057 |
| 2014 | $9,918 | $30,888 | $15,487 |
| 2015 | $10,289 | $32,024 | $15,769 |
| 2016 | $10,761 | $33,441 | $15,619 |
| 2017 | $11,931 | $34,611 | $15,693 |
| 2018 | $11,898 | $35,478 | $16,355 |
| 2019 | $12,720 | $36,615 | $16,461 |
| 2020 | $13,857 | $39,309 | $18,047 |
| 2021 | $14,421 | $40,464 | $18,699 |
| 2022 | $15,054 | $41,700 | $20,543 |
| 2023 | $15,669 | $43,302 | $21,782 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1272 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.40
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Oregon reported total enrollment of about 20,497 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (60.7%), Hispanic or Latino (16.8%), and Two or More Races (9.7%). About 21.35% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 28.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
94.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Oregon in 2024 is 20,497 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 21,953 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3,782 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
86.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
58.21% 100% Completion Time
71.69% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 58.21% of students graduating from University of Oregon completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business/Commerce, General: 68% male / 32% female
- Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 23% male / 77% female
- Social Sciences, General: 57% male / 43% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Oregon graduates earn a median of $61,324 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Oregon.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $61,324. Median federal loan debt: $20,139. Average net price used in cost models: $22,182.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Oregon graduates report median earnings of $61,324 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Oregon.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (116 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Oregon.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Oregon graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Oregon—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$1.45B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Oregon median 89× the median ($16.4M)
- Far West median 87× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 55× the median ($26.4M)
- Oregon median 7.0× the median ($9,495)
- Far West median 9.1× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 5.5× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 71.5%
- Oregon median 20.2 pp above median (51.2%)
- Far West median 25.8 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 13.5 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,404
- Oregon median 1.4× the median ($8,834)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,863
- Oregon median 1.6× the median ($9,832)
- Far West median 2.3× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Oregon at a glance
University of Oregon
University of Oregon is a public institution in Eugene, OR, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business/Commerce, GeneralResearch and Experimental Psychology, OtherSocial Sciences, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian60.7%Hispanic or Latino16.8%Two or More Races9.7%
Schools near University of Oregon
Other campuses in Eugene, OR when available, plus nearby institutions in Oregon.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Oregon, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Oregon located?
University of Oregon is located in Eugene, OR. The institution is also known as Oregon.
What is Oregon's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Oregon (Oregon) is 88.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 39,400 applicants and 33,532 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Oregon's tuition?
University of Oregon tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,137 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,182 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Oregon cost?
Reported tuition is $16,137 and average net price is $22,182 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,611 annually.
What explains Oregon's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,182), completion (71.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($61,324). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Oregon?
University of Oregon reports undergraduate enrollment of about 21,953 students, White (60.7%), Hispanic or Latino (16.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Oregon?
About 28.4% of students at University of Oregon are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of Oregon?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Oregon reports midpoint SAT about 1272.
What do graduates of University of Oregon earn?
Median earnings are $46,084 six years after entry and $61,324 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Oregon?
The 150%-time completion rate is 71.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Oregon students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,139.
Is University of Oregon public or private?
University of Oregon is a public institution located in Eugene, OR.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Oregon college profile
- Oregon college costs
- Oregon colleges by ROI
- Oregon State University vs University of Oregon vs Portland State University
- Eugene, Oregon city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Oregon
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.