University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
Mayaguez, PR 00681
About University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a public research university in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, serving roughly 9,539 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 56.52% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,992 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,274).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 49.10%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,992.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 583% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 66 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez | $5,274 | $17,936 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Puerto Rico (state median) | $8,562 | $8,830 | 104 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez really?
Key findings
- University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,274).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $5,274
Finding University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez charges 4% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $5,274. That is 4% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Puerto Rico median ($8,562), sticker tuition is 38% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is $17,936.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,936 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,106 above the Puerto Rico median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,965 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$5,274
Avg. net price
$17,936
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $17,939 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $17,931 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,929 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,457 |
| $110,001+ | $18,466 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $21,096. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is known for
Top program completions
- Mechanical Engineering183
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General132
- Animal Sciences, General103
- Chemical Engineering101
- Industrial Engineering101
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 82% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez.
Campus
Location
Mayaguez, PR
City / state
- ZIP
- 00681
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 20% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Outlying Areas
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs
Size
Enrollment
9,539
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 10,184
- Graduate
- 854
- Full-time share
- 91%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$8,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 64.89%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $2,019 | $4,041 | $8,909 |
| 2014 | $2,019 | $4,041 | $8,957 |
| 2015 | $2,049 | $4,071 | $6,441 |
| 2016 | $2,083 | $4,105 | $7,497 |
| 2017 | $2,083 | $4,105 | $8,595 |
| 2018 | $4,094 | $6,049 | $8,584 |
| 2019 | $4,168 | $6,152 | $10,766 |
| 2020 | $4,168 | $6,162 | $10,975 |
| 2021 | $4,870 | $4,870 | $12,058 |
| 2022 | $5,274 | $5,274 | $10,658 |
| 2023 | $5,274 | $5,274 | $12,684 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez reported total enrollment of about 9,539 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 56% male and 44% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (94.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (6.0%), and Non-Resident Alien (0.1%). About 64.89% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 17.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
90.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez in 2024 is 9,539 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 10,184 students. Graduate enrollment is about 854 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
87.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
6.64% 100% Completion Time
49.10% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 6.64% of students graduating from University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Mechanical Engineering: 79% male / 21% female
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 44% male / 56% female
- Animal Sciences, General: 26% male / 74% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez graduates earn a median of $48,992 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,992. Median federal loan debt: $8,250. Average net price used in cost models: $17,936.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez graduates report median earnings of $48,992 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (66 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$527,690
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Puerto Rico median 0.32× the median ($1.6M)
- Outlying Areas median 0.20× the median ($2.6M)
- U.S. median 0.02× the median ($26.4M)
- Puerto Rico median 0.02× the median ($2,336)
- Outlying Areas median 0.02× the median ($3,664)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 94.6%
- Puerto Rico median 7.7 pp above median (87.0%)
- Outlying Areas median 7.7 pp above median (87.0%)
- U.S. median 36.7 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,407
- Puerto Rico median 2.1× the median ($4,084)
- Outlying Areas median 2.1× the median ($4,084)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,147
- Puerto Rico median 2.3× the median ($3,469)
- Outlying Areas median 2.3× the median ($3,501)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez at a glance
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a public institution in Mayaguez, PR, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Mechanical EngineeringBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralAnimal Sciences, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino94.0%Race/ethnicity unknown6.0%Non-Resident Alien0.1%
Schools near University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
Other campuses in Mayaguez, PR when available, plus nearby institutions in Puerto Rico.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Puerto Rico, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez located?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is located in Mayaguez, PR.
What is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is 56.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,382 applicants and 2,286 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez's tuition?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,274 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,936 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez cost?
Reported tuition is $5,274 and average net price is $17,936 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,385 annually.
What explains University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,936), completion (49.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,992). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez reports undergraduate enrollment of about 10,184 students, Hispanic or Latino (94.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (6.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez?
About 17.0% of students at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez earn?
Median earnings are $32,706 six years after entry and $48,992 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez?
The 150%-time completion rate is 49.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,250.
Is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez public or private?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a public institution located in Mayaguez, PR.
Is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez an HBCU?
No. University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Puerto Rico college profile
- Puerto Rico college costs
- Puerto Rico colleges by ROI
- University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez vs University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras vs NUC University
- Mayaguez, Puerto Rico city profile
- Outlying Areas regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Puerto Rico
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.