University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
Tacoma, WA 98402-3100
About University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is a public research university in Tacoma, Washington, serving roughly 4,185 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 82.52% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $78,466 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Washington-Tacoma Campus charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,168).
- Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is 59% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 63.24%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $78,466.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1830% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Washington-Tacoma Campus | $13,168 | $10,163 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Washington (state median) | $8,256 | $9,863 | 70 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 23% below published tuition at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
Key findings
- University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's average net price ($10,163) is 23% below published tuition ($13,168).
- University of Washington-Tacoma Campus charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,168).
- Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is 59% above.
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $13,168
Finding University of Washington-Tacoma Campus charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $13,168. That is about 2.4× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Washington median ($8,256), sticker tuition is 59% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 11% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is $10,163.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $10,163 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $300 above the Washington median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $7,885 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of Washington-Tacoma Campus’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 23% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$13,168
Out-of-state tuition
$43,404
Avg. net price
$10,163
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $4,458 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $6,135 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $6,748 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $11,449 |
| $110,001+ | $22,183 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $52,672. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is known for
Top program completions
- Computer and Information Sciences, General232
- Psychology, General157
- Information Technology140
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse129
- Business Administration and Management, General122
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 25% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus.
Campus
Location
Tacoma, WA
City / state
- ZIP
- 98402-3100
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.6× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
4,185
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4,840
- Graduate
- 758
- Full-time share
- 90%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$14,615
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 39.66%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $11,902 | $31,476 | $9,632 |
| 2014 | $12,262 | $33,381 | $10,087 |
| 2015 | $11,905 | $34,209 | $9,662 |
| 2016 | $10,831 | $34,869 | $8,829 |
| 2017 | $11,046 | $35,610 | $7,953 |
| 2018 | $11,261 | $36,642 | $10,060 |
| 2019 | $11,639 | $38,340 | $10,817 |
| 2020 | $11,889 | $39,258 | $9,469 |
| 2021 | $12,196 | $40,026 | $8,541 |
| 2022 | $12,458 | $40,956 | $10,897 |
| 2023 | $12,817 | $42,171 | $10,017 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus reported total enrollment of about 4,185 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 53% male and 47% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (33.4%), Asian (22.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (16.1%). About 39.66% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
89.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus in 2024 is 4,185 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,840 students. Graduate enrollment is about 758 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
80.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
49.76% 100% Completion Time
63.24% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 49.76% of students graduating from University of Washington-Tacoma Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Computer and Information Sciences, General: 73% male / 27% female
- Psychology, General: 24% male / 76% female
- Information Technology: 64% male / 36% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus graduates earn a median of $78,466 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Washington-Tacoma Campus.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $78,466. Median federal loan debt: $14,615. Average net price used in cost models: $10,163.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Washington-Tacoma Campus graduates report median earnings of $78,466 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (42 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 81.6%
- Washington median 13.3 pp below median (94.9%)
- Far West median 35.9 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 23.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,135
- Washington median 1.3× the median ($9,588)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,672
- Washington median 0.66× the median ($8,580)
- Far West median 0.81× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus at a glance
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is a public institution in Tacoma, WA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralPsychology, GeneralInformation Technology
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian33.4%Asian22.5%Hispanic or Latino16.1%
Schools near University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
Other campuses in Tacoma, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus located?
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is located in Tacoma, WA.
What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is 82.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 3,161 applicants and 2,622 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's tuition?
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,168 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $10,163 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Washington-Tacoma Campus cost?
Reported tuition is $13,168 and average net price is $10,163 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,371 annually.
Why is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of Washington-Tacoma Campus, published tuition is $13,168 while average net price is $10,163—about 23% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($10,163), completion (63.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($78,466). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus?
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,840 students, White (33.4%), Asian (22.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Washington-Tacoma Campus?
About 32.7% of students at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of Washington-Tacoma Campus earn?
Median earnings are $62,979 six years after entry and $78,466 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus?
The 150%-time completion rate is 63.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Washington-Tacoma Campus students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,615.
Is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus public or private?
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is a public institution located in Tacoma, WA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.