Active Report Report ID: EDU-125231-2026

Walden University

Minneapolis, MN 55401

Tuition$12,762Published sticker
Avg. net price$33,817After aid
Median salary$42,81010yr post-entry
ROI216%10yr vs net cost

About Walden University

Walden University is a private for-profit university in Minneapolis, Minnesota, serving roughly 9,136 students. Walden University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $12,762 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $42,810 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Walden University charges 23% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($12,762).
  • Versus the Minnesota median, sticker tuition is 31% above.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,810.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Walden University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 216% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Walden University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 60 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Walden University$12,762$33,8171
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Minnesota (state median)$9,706$13,32292
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Walden University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Walden University charges 23% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($12,762).
  • Versus the Minnesota median, sticker tuition is 31% above.
Published sticker

Walden University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $12,762

Finding Walden University charges 23% below the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $12,762. That is 23% below the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Minnesota median ($9,706), sticker tuition is 31% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 7% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Walden University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Walden University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Walden University is $33,817.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $33,817 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $20,495 above the Minnesota median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $13,764 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Walden University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Walden University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Walden University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$12,762

Avg. net price

$33,817

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$32,652
$30,001–$48,000$34,983

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $51,048. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention0.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$50,657Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Walden University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Walden University is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Walden University.

Campus

Location

Minneapolis, MN

City / state

ZIP
55401
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 69% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Plains
Carnegie
Doctoral/Professional Universities

Size

Enrollment

9,136

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
17,024
Graduate
40,297
Full-time share
26%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,834

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
55.18%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$135,268Estimated 4-year total cost
$33,817Average annual net price (after aid)
$51,0484-year tuition
$17,820Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$900Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$31,482Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$125,928Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Walden University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

55.18% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
68.80% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Walden University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Walden University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$11,460$11,460
2014$12,240$12,240$27,851
2015$12,075$12,075$29,141
2016$12,075$12,075
2017$12,465$12,465
2018$12,120$12,120$21,276
2019$12,150$12,150
2020$12,180$12,180
2021$12,180$12,180$18,325
2022$12,483$12,483
2023$12,498$12,498

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Walden University reported total enrollment of about 9,136 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 14% male and 86% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (42.4%), White (39.1%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.6%). About 55.18% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

25.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Walden University in 2024 is 9,136 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 17,024 students. Graduate enrollment is about 40,297 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

0.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

42.4%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American42.4%
  • White or Caucasian39.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown4.2%
  • Two or More Races2.7%
  • Asian1.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Walden University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
  • Social Work: 11% male / 89% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 35% male / 65% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

4,918White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian4,918
  • Black or African American4,892
  • Hispanic or Latino1,064
  • Asian544
  • Two or More Races216
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander44
  • American Indian or Alaska Native19

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Walden University graduates earn a median of $42,810 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Walden University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,810. Median federal loan debt: $20,834. Average net price used in cost models: $33,817.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Walden University graduates report median earnings of $42,810 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

216%Modeled return on investment
$20,834Median student debt
$42,810Median annual earnings (10 years)
48.67%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Walden University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (60 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 1,611
  2. 05.1381 360
  3. Public Administration and Social Service 271
  4. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 268

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Walden University.

Employment Outcomes

$42,810Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$50,657Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$47,015Median earnings (8 years after entry)
80.60%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Walden University graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Walden University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 11.0%
    • Minnesota median 41.6 pp below median (52.6%)
    • Plains median 53.7 pp below median (64.7%)
    • U.S. median 47.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,406
    • Minnesota median 0.81× the median ($9,138)
    • Plains median near the median ($7,194)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,101
    • Minnesota median 0.35× the median ($8,795)
    • Plains median 0.38× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 0.43× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Walden University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Walden University

Minneapolis, MN 55401 · Private For-profit · Plains

Walden University is a private for-profit institution in Minneapolis, MN, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.

Tuition$12,762
Avg. net price$33,817
Enrollment9,136
Pell Grant share55.18%
First-generation50.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseSocial WorkBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American42.4%
White or Caucasian39.1%
Hispanic or Latino9.6%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Walden University

Other campuses in Minneapolis, MN when available, plus nearby institutions in Minnesota.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Minnesota, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Walden University located?

Walden University is located in Minneapolis, MN.

What is Walden University's tuition?

Walden University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $12,762 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $33,817 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Walden University cost?

Reported tuition is $12,762 and average net price is $33,817 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,820 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Walden University?

Walden University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 17,024 students, Black or African American (42.4%), White (39.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Walden University?

About 50.8% of students at Walden University are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Walden University earn?

Median earnings are $50,657 six years after entry and $42,810 ten years after entry.

How much debt do Walden University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,834.

Is Walden University public or private?

Walden University is a private for-profit institution located in Minneapolis, MN.

Is Walden University an HBCU?

No. Walden University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Walden University a tribal college?

No. Walden University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Walden University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Walden University does not meet that proxy (reported share 9.6%).

Is Walden University religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Walden University in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.