Active Report Report ID: EDU-206437-2026

Walsh University

North Canton, OH 44720-3396

Acceptance rate70.74%Broad access
Tuition$35,745Published sticker
Avg. net price$20,493After aid
Graduation rate58.50%150% time
Median salary$59,76410yr post-entry

About Walsh University

Walsh University is a private research university in North Canton, Ohio, enrolling about 1,390 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 70.74% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $59,764 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Walsh University charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($35,745).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 58.50%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $59,764.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Walsh University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 629% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Walsh University$35,745$20,4931
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Ohio (state median)$15,202$12,090154
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 43% below published tuition at Walsh University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Walsh University's average net price ($20,493) is 43% below published tuition ($35,745).
  • Walsh University charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($35,745).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
Published sticker

Walsh University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $35,745

Finding Walsh University charges 22% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $35,745. That is 22% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Ohio median ($15,202), sticker tuition is about 2.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Walsh University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Walsh University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Walsh University is $20,493.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,493 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,404 above the Ohio median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $1,793 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Walsh University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 43% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Walsh University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Walsh University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$35,745

Avg. net price

$20,493

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$20,458
$30,001–$48,000$17,849
$48,001–$75,000$18,642
$75,001–$110,000$22,737
$110,001+$20,373

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $142,980. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$50,090Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 19% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1193
  • Midpoint ACT: 23

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Walsh University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Walsh University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Walsh University.

Campus

Location

North Canton, OH

City / state

ZIP
44720-3396
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 10% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Doctoral/Professional Universities

Size

Enrollment

1,390

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,667
Graduate
669
Full-time share
94%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
27.36%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$81,972Estimated 4-year total cost
$20,493Average annual net price (after aid)
$142,9804-year tuition
$12,170Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$790Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$48,705Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$194,820Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Walsh University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

27.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
52.21% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Walsh University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Walsh University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$25,840$25,840$18,878
2014$26,650$26,650$19,547
2015$27,710$27,710$18,055
2016$28,720$28,720$18,756
2017$29,150$29,150$18,875
2018$29,980$29,980$19,307
2019$31,045$31,045$16,075
2020$31,725$31,725$16,276
2021$32,315$32,315$16,745
2022$33,235$33,235$18,494
2023$34,595$34,595$20,004

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

70.74%Acceptance rate
2,287Total applicants
1,788Students admitted
337First-time students enrolled
18.85%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1193SAT average
23ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Walsh University reported total enrollment of about 1,390 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 53% male and 47% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (54.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (24.8%), and Non-Resident Alien (9.1%). About 27.36% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

93.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Walsh University in 2024 is 1,390 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,667 students. Graduate enrollment is about 669 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

54.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian54.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown24.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien9.1%
  • Black or African American4.9%
  • Two or More Races2.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.7%
  • Asian1.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

55.41% 100% Completion Time

58.50% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 55.41% of students graduating from Walsh University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 17% male / 83% female
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations, Other: 44% male / 56% female
  • Exercise Science and Kinesiology: 30% male / 70% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

315White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian315
  • Black or African American28
  • Hispanic or Latino17
  • Two or More Races11
  • Asian3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Walsh University graduates earn a median of $59,764 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Walsh University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $59,764. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $20,493.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Walsh University graduates report median earnings of $59,764 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

629%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$59,764Median annual earnings (10 years)
45.18%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Walsh University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (48 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 17

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Walsh University.

Employment Outcomes

$59,764Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$50,090Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$54,500Median earnings (8 years after entry)
95.71%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Walsh University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Walsh University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$36.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $33.7M

Year change: $2.9M

  • Ohio median 1.5× the median ($24.2M)
  • Great Lakes median 1.2× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $16,543

  • Ohio median 1.1× the median ($15,287)
  • Great Lakes median near the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Ohio median 45.1 pp above median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,760
    • Ohio median 0.77× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 0.72× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.76× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,346
    • Ohio median 1.1× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Walsh University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Walsh University

North Canton, OH 44720-3396 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Walsh University is a private non-profit institution in North Canton, OH, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.

Tuition$35,745
Avg. net price$20,493
Enrollment1,390
Acceptance rate70.74%
Completion (150%)58.50%
Average SAT1193
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness Administration, Management and Operations, OtherExercise Science and Kinesiology
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian54.8%
Race/ethnicity unknown24.8%
Non-Resident Alien9.1%
Nearby

Schools near Walsh University

Other campuses in North Canton, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Walsh University located?

Walsh University is located in North Canton, OH.

What is Walsh University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Walsh University is 70.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,287 applicants and 1,788 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Walsh University's tuition?

Walsh University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $35,745 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,493 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Walsh University cost?

Reported tuition is $35,745 and average net price is $20,493 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,170 annually.

Why is Walsh University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Walsh University, published tuition is $35,745 while average net price is $20,493—about 43% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Walsh University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,493), completion (58.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($59,764). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Walsh University?

Walsh University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,667 students, White (54.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (24.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Walsh University?

About 34.2% of students at Walsh University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Walsh University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Walsh University reports midpoint SAT about 1193 and midpoint ACT about 23.

What do graduates of Walsh University earn?

Median earnings are $50,090 six years after entry and $59,764 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Walsh University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 58.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Walsh University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.