Active Report Report ID: EDU-149727-2026

Waubonsee Community College

Sugar Grove, IL 60554-9454

Tuition$3,504Published sticker
Avg. net price$11,442After aid
Graduation rate38.91%150% time
Median salary$44,78810yr post-entry
ROI879%10yr vs net cost

About Waubonsee Community College

Waubonsee Community College is a public community college in Sugar Grove, Illinois, serving roughly 5,721 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $11,442 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,504. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (45.7%) and White (38.2%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Waubonsee Community College charges 36% below the national public median tuition ($3,504).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 38.91%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,788.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Waubonsee Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 879% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Waubonsee Community College$3,504$11,4421
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Illinois (state median)$13,248$7,399131
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Waubonsee Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Waubonsee Community College charges 36% below the national public median tuition ($3,504).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
Published sticker

Waubonsee Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,504

Finding Waubonsee Community College charges 36% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,504. That is 36% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Waubonsee Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Waubonsee Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Waubonsee Community College is $11,442.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,442 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,043 above the Illinois median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Waubonsee Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Waubonsee Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Waubonsee Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$3,504

Out-of-state tuition

$10,477

Avg. net price

$11,442

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,360
$30,001–$48,000$8,641
$48,001–$75,000$11,806
$75,001–$110,000$16,173
$110,001+$18,171

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $14,016. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,016Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Waubonsee Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Waubonsee Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Waubonsee Community College.

Campus

Location

Sugar Grove, IL

City / state

ZIP
60554-9454

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

5,721

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
16,686
Full-time share
41%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$7,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
21.37%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$45,768Estimated 4-year total cost
$11,442Average annual net price (after aid)
$14,0164-year in-state tuition
$41,9084-year out-of-state tuition
$22,700Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,600Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$27,804Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$111,216Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Waubonsee Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

21.37% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
6.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Waubonsee Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Waubonsee Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,520$7,100$5,910
2014$2,688$7,243$5,455
2015$2,832$7,587$5,483
2016$3,024$7,815$5,747
2017$3,216$8,115$5,674
2018$3,264$9,036$5,631
2019$3,312$9,860$5,130
2020$3,360$10,076$5,104
2021$3,360$10,076$5,597
2022$3,360$11,496$6,742
2023$3,432$12,330$6,113

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Waubonsee Community College reported total enrollment of about 5,721 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (45.7%), White (38.2%), and Black or African American (9.0%). About 21.37% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

41.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Waubonsee Community College in 2024 is 5,721 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 16,686 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.7%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino45.7%
  • White or Caucasian38.2%
  • Black or African American9.0%
  • Asian3.8%
  • Two or More Races2.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

19.89% 100% Completion Time

38.91% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 19.89% of students graduating from Waubonsee Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 44% male / 56% female
  • Biological and Physical Sciences: 43% male / 57% female
  • Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician: 92% male / 8% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

903White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian903
  • Hispanic or Latino592
  • Black or African American99
  • Asian60
  • Two or More Races46
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Waubonsee Community College graduates earn a median of $44,788 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Waubonsee Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,788. Median federal loan debt: $7,000. Average net price used in cost models: $11,442.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Waubonsee Community College graduates report median earnings of $44,788 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

879%Modeled return on investment
$7,000Median student debt
$44,788Median annual earnings (10 years)
15.63%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Waubonsee Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (38 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 05.1081 116

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Waubonsee Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$44,788Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,016Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,993Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.84%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Waubonsee Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Waubonsee Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $6.1M

Year change: $972,648

  • Illinois median 0.25× the median ($28.5M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.22× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.27× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,258

  • Illinois median 0.08× the median ($15,173)
  • Great Lakes median 0.08× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 0.10× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 19.5%
    • Illinois median 31.3 pp below median (50.8%)
    • Great Lakes median 38.5 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 38.4 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,797
    • Illinois median 1.5× the median ($8,563)
    • Great Lakes median 1.6× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,571
    • Illinois median 0.74× the median ($7,575)
    • Great Lakes median 0.72× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.76× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Waubonsee Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Waubonsee Community College

Sugar Grove, IL 60554-9454 · Public · Great Lakes

Waubonsee Community College is a public institution in Sugar Grove, IL, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$3,504
Avg. net price$11,442
Enrollment5,721
Completion (150%)38.91%
Pell Grant share21.37%
First-generation49.4%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBiological and Physical SciencesAutomobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino45.7%
White or Caucasian38.2%
Black or African American9.0%
Nearby

Schools near Waubonsee Community College

Other campuses in Sugar Grove, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Waubonsee Community College located?

Waubonsee Community College is located in Sugar Grove, IL.

What is Waubonsee Community College's tuition?

Waubonsee Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,504 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,442 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Waubonsee Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $3,504 and average net price is $11,442 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,700 annually.

What explains Waubonsee Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,442), completion (38.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,788). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Waubonsee Community College?

Waubonsee Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 16,686 students, Hispanic or Latino (45.7%), White (38.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Waubonsee Community College?

About 49.4% of students at Waubonsee Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Waubonsee Community College earn?

Median earnings are $39,016 six years after entry and $44,788 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Waubonsee Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 38.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Waubonsee Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $7,000.

Is Waubonsee Community College public or private?

Waubonsee Community College is a public institution located in Sugar Grove, IL.

Is Waubonsee Community College an HBCU?

No. Waubonsee Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Waubonsee Community College a tribal college?

No. Waubonsee Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.