Active Report Report ID: EDU-149532-2026

Triton College

River Grove, IL 60171-1995

Tuition$5,070Published sticker
Avg. net price$4,138After aid
Graduation rate29.01%150% time
Median salary$41,72810yr post-entry
ROI2,421%10yr vs net cost

About Triton College

Triton College is a public community college in River Grove, Illinois, serving roughly 6,902 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $4,138 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,070. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (48.8%) and White (25.7%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Triton College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,070).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Illinois median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 29.01%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,728.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Triton College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2421% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Triton College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 57 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Triton College$5,070$4,1381
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Illinois (state median)$13,248$7,399131
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 18% below published tuition at Triton College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Triton College's average net price ($4,138) is 18% below published tuition ($5,070).
  • Triton College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,070).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Illinois median net price.
Published sticker

Triton College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,070

Finding Triton College charges 8% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,070. That is 8% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Triton College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Triton College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Triton College is $4,138.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $4,138 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,261 below the Illinois median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $14,562 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Triton College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 18% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Triton College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Triton College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,070

Out-of-state tuition

$15,330

Avg. net price

$4,138

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$2,397
$30,001–$48,000$3,722
$48,001–$75,000$5,959
$75,001–$110,000$8,611
$110,001+$12,235

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $20,280. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention68.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$35,001Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Triton College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Triton College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Triton College.

Campus

Location

River Grove, IL

City / state

ZIP
60171-1995
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

6,902

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
17,167
Full-time share
36%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,413

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
24.85%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$16,552Estimated 4-year total cost
$4,138Average annual net price (after aid)
$20,2804-year in-state tuition
$61,3204-year out-of-state tuition
$9,970Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,500Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,540Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$66,160Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Triton College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

24.85% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
1.74% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Triton College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Triton College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,452$10,472$4,657
2014$3,638$11,018$5,345
2015$3,870$11,630$5,359
2016$3,870$11,630$5,272
2017$4,020$12,076$5,251
2018$4,170$12,539$4,675
2019$4,320$13,022$4,988
2020$4,470$13,530$4,816
2021$4,620$13,980$4,731
2022$4,770$14,430$6,937
2023$4,920$14,880$4,427

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Triton College reported total enrollment of about 6,902 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 52% male and 48% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (48.8%), White (25.7%), and Black or African American (13.3%). About 24.85% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

36.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Triton College in 2024 is 6,902 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 17,167 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

68.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

48.8%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino48.8%
  • White or Caucasian25.7%
  • Black or African American13.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown6.3%
  • Asian2.2%
  • Two or More Races2.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

15.56% 100% Completion Time

29.01% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 15.56% of students graduating from Triton College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Biological and Physical Sciences: 43% male / 57% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 82% male / 18% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

808Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino808
  • White or Caucasian512
  • Black or African American218
  • Asian52
  • Two or More Races32
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Triton College graduates earn a median of $41,728 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Triton College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,728. Median federal loan debt: $9,413. Average net price used in cost models: $4,138.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Triton College graduates report median earnings of $41,728 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,421%Modeled return on investment
$9,413Median student debt
$41,728Median annual earnings (10 years)
22.56%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Triton College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (57 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 00.0460 52

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Triton College.

Employment Outcomes

$41,728Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$35,001Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,153Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.33%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Triton College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Triton College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$373,368

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $372,151

Year change: $1,217

  • Illinois median 0.01× the median ($28.5M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.01× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $68

  • Illinois median 0.00× the median ($15,173)
  • Great Lakes median 0.00× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 29.1%
    • Illinois median 21.7 pp below median (50.8%)
    • Great Lakes median 28.9 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 28.8 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,630
    • Illinois median near the median ($8,563)
    • Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,176
    • Illinois median 0.68× the median ($7,575)
    • Great Lakes median 0.67× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.71× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Triton College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Triton College

River Grove, IL 60171-1995 · Public · Great Lakes

Triton College is a public institution in River Grove, IL, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$5,070
Avg. net price$4,138
Enrollment6,902
Completion (150%)29.01%
Pell Grant share24.85%
First-generation53.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBiological and Physical SciencesCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino48.8%
White or Caucasian25.7%
Black or African American13.3%
Nearby

Schools near Triton College

Other campuses in River Grove, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Triton College located?

Triton College is located in River Grove, IL.

What is Triton College's tuition?

Triton College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,070 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $4,138 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Triton College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,070 and average net price is $4,138 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,970 annually.

Why is Triton College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Triton College, published tuition is $5,070 while average net price is $4,138—about 18% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Triton College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($4,138), completion (29.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,728). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Triton College?

Triton College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 17,167 students, Hispanic or Latino (48.8%), White (25.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Triton College?

About 53.8% of students at Triton College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Triton College earn?

Median earnings are $35,001 six years after entry and $41,728 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Triton College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 29.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Triton College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,413.

Is Triton College public or private?

Triton College is a public institution located in River Grove, IL.

Is Triton College an HBCU?

No. Triton College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.