Wilmington University
New Castle, DE 19720
About Wilmington University
Wilmington University is a private research university in New Castle, Delaware, serving roughly 7,906 students. Wilmington University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $12,630 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $53,844 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Wilmington University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($12,630).
- Versus the Delaware median, sticker tuition is 8% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 19.82%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $53,844.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Wilmington University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 760% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Wilmington University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 75 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wilmington University | $12,630 | $15,644 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Delaware (state median) | $11,650 | $13,910 | 8 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Wilmington University really?
Key findings
- Wilmington University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($12,630).
- Versus the Delaware median, sticker tuition is 8% above.
Wilmington University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $12,630
Finding Wilmington University charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $12,630. That is about 0.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Delaware median ($11,650), sticker tuition is 8% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 6% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Wilmington University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Wilmington University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Wilmington University is $15,644.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,644 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,734 above the Delaware median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $3,056 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Wilmington University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Wilmington University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Wilmington University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$12,630
Avg. net price
$15,644
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $15,500 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,920 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,623 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $19,644 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $50,520. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Wilmington University is known for
Top program completions
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance776
- Business Administration and Management, General499
- Computer/Information Technology Services Administration and Management, Other150
- Computer Science134
- Educational Leadership and Administration, General125
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Wilmington University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Wilmington University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Wilmington University.
Campus
Location
New Castle, DE
City / state
- ZIP
- 19720
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 16% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Doctoral/Professional Universities
Size
Enrollment
7,906
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 11,783
- Graduate
- 4,888
- Full-time share
- 38%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 26.13%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Wilmington University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Wilmington University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Wilmington University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $9,950 | $9,950 | $15,001 |
| 2014 | $10,190 | $10,190 | $15,015 |
| 2015 | $10,430 | $10,430 | $15,586 |
| 2016 | $10,670 | $10,670 | $15,174 |
| 2017 | $10,940 | $10,940 | $14,600 |
| 2018 | $11,210 | $11,210 | $15,282 |
| 2019 | $11,480 | $11,480 | $14,683 |
| 2020 | $11,480 | $11,480 | $15,186 |
| 2021 | $11,760 | $11,760 | $14,796 |
| 2022 | $12,030 | $12,030 | $15,343 |
| 2023 | $12,330 | $12,330 | $15,355 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Wilmington University reported total enrollment of about 7,906 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (45.6%), Black or African American (24.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (15.7%). About 26.13% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
37.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Wilmington University in 2024 is 7,906 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 11,783 students. Graduate enrollment is about 4,888 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
61.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
11.94% 100% Completion Time
19.82% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 11.94% of students graduating from Wilmington University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance: 69% male / 31% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 41% male / 59% female
- Computer/Information Technology Services Administration and Management, Other: 54% male / 46% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Wilmington University graduates earn a median of $53,844 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Wilmington University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $53,844. Median federal loan debt: $20,000. Average net price used in cost models: $15,644.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Wilmington University graduates report median earnings of $53,844 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Wilmington University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (75 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Wilmington University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Wilmington University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Wilmington University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$164.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Delaware median near the median ($164.5M)
- Mid East median 3.9× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 6.2× the median ($26.4M)
- Delaware median near the median ($16,187)
- Mid East median near the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 7.0%
- Delaware median 22.1 pp below median (29.1%)
- Mid East median 49.9 pp below median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 51.0 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,179
- Delaware median near the median ($8,916)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,893
- Delaware median 0.89× the median ($4,393)
- Mid East median 0.42× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 0.53× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Wilmington University at a glance
Wilmington University
Wilmington University is a private non-profit institution in New Castle, DE, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralComputer/Information Technology Services Administration and Management, Other
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian45.6%Black or African American24.0%Hispanic or Latino15.7%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Wilmington University
Other campuses in New Castle, DE when available, plus nearby institutions in Delaware.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Delaware, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Wilmington University located?
Wilmington University is located in New Castle, DE.
What is Wilmington University's tuition?
Wilmington University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $12,630 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,644 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Wilmington University cost?
Reported tuition is $12,630 and average net price is $15,644 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,120 annually.
What explains Wilmington University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,644), completion (19.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($53,844). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Wilmington University?
Wilmington University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 11,783 students, White (45.6%), Black or African American (24.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Wilmington University?
About 47.1% of students at Wilmington University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Wilmington University earn?
Median earnings are $49,635 six years after entry and $53,844 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Wilmington University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 19.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Wilmington University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,000.
Is Wilmington University public or private?
Wilmington University is a private nonprofit institution located in New Castle, DE.
Is Wilmington University an HBCU?
No. Wilmington University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Wilmington University a tribal college?
No. Wilmington University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Delaware college profile
- Delaware college costs
- Delaware colleges by ROI
- University of Delaware vs Delaware State University vs Wilmington University
- Mid East regional profile
- Rural college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Delaware
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.