Active Report Report ID: EDU-476610-2026

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York

Hempstead, NY 11550-6317

Avg. net price$15,730After aid
Graduation rate76.92%150% time
Enrollment16Total students

About Barber & Beauty Institute of New York

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is a private for-profit trade school in Hempstead, New York, enrolling about 16 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 76.92% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (50.0%) and Hispanic or Latino (31.2%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Barber & Beauty Institute of New York$15,7301
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is $15,730.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,730 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,357 above the New York median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $2,970 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$15,730

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,707
$30,001–$48,000$15,805

Student outcomes

$17,100Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completion
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York.

Campus

Location

Hempstead, NY

City / state

ZIP
11550-6317
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 16% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

16

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
39
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$4,223

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
100.00%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$62,920Estimated 4-year total cost
$15,730Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York.

Financial Aid by Income Level

100.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
100.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,464
2014$13,884
2015$12,437
2016$19,241
2017$14,228
2018$16,022
2019$19,454
2020$13,475
2021$13,434
2022$9,807
2023$15,939

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York reported total enrollment of about 16 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 69% male and 31% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (50.0%), Hispanic or Latino (31.2%), and White (18.8%). About 100.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 54.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York in 2024 is 16 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 39 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

50.0%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American50.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino31.2%
  • White or Caucasian18.8%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

76.92% 100% Completion Time

76.92% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 76.92% of students graduating from Barber & Beauty Institute of New York completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Barbering/Barber: 64% male / 36% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

24Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American24
  • Hispanic or Latino9
  • White or Caucasian5
  • Two or More Races1
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Barber & Beauty Institute of New York graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Barber & Beauty Institute of New York.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $4,223. Average net price used in cost models: $15,730.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$4,223Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York.

Employment Outcomes

$17,914Median earnings (8 years after entry)
$17,100Median earnings (6 years after entry)
31.91%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,135
    • New York median 0.10× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 0.12× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.16× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York at a glance

Institution snapshot

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York

Hempstead, NY 11550-6317 · Private For-profit · Mid East

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is a private for-profit institution in Hempstead, NY.

Avg. net price$15,730
Enrollment16
Completion (150%)76.92%
Pell Grant share100.00%
First-generation54.1%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Barbering/Barber
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American50.0%
Hispanic or Latino31.2%
White or Caucasian18.8%
Nearby

Schools near Barber & Beauty Institute of New York

Other campuses in Hempstead, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York located?

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is located in Hempstead, NY.

How much does Barber & Beauty Institute of New York cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $15,730 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York?

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York reports undergraduate enrollment of about 39 students, Black or African American (50.0%), Hispanic or Latino (31.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Barber & Beauty Institute of New York?

About 54.1% of students at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Barber & Beauty Institute of New York?

The 150%-time completion rate is 76.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Barber & Beauty Institute of New York students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $4,223.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York public or private?

Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is a private for-profit institution located in Hempstead, NY.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York an HBCU?

No. Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York a tribal college?

No. Barber & Beauty Institute of New York is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Barber & Beauty Institute of New York reports 31.2% Hispanic enrollment share.

Is Barber & Beauty Institute of New York religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Barber & Beauty Institute of New York in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.