Active Report Report ID: EDU-369668-2026

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology

Pleasant Gap, PA 16823

Acceptance rate96.20%Broad access
Avg. net price$9,857After aid
Graduation rate94.59%150% time
Median salary$41,67710yr post-entry
ROI957%10yr vs net cost

About Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is a public certificate and vocational school in Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 171 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 94.59% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $41,677 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 94.59%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,677.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 957% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology$9,8571
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,450$17,754181
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.

Evidence: average net price at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is $9,857.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,857 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,896 below the Pennsylvania median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$9,857

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,203
$30,001–$48,000$10,518
$48,001–$75,000$11,640
$75,001–$110,000$15,817

Student outcomes

First-year retention86.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$41,196Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 75% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology.

Campus

Location

Pleasant Gap, PA

City / state

ZIP
16823

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Special Focus Two-Year: Technical Professions

Size

Enrollment

171

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
245
Full-time share
81%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,454

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
55.81%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$39,428Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,857Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology.

Financial Aid by Income Level

55.81% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
51.16% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$10,611
2014$12,106
2015$13,976
2016$13,754
2017$13,068
2018$9,660
2019$10,891
2020$11,155
2021$11,286
2022$8,084
2023$10,498

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

96.20%Acceptance rate
137Total applicants
130Students admitted
97First-time students enrolled
74.62%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology reported total enrollment of about 171 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (95.9%), Hispanic or Latino (1.2%), and Asian (1.2%). About 55.81% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 54.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

81.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology in 2024 is 171 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 245 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

86.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

95.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian95.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.2%
  • Asian1.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.2%
  • Black or African American0.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

94.59% 100% Completion Time

94.59% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 94.59% of students graduating from Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 0% male / 100% female
  • Heavy Equipment Maintenance Technology/Technician: 100% male / 0% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

111White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian111
  • Black or African American4
  • Hispanic or Latino1
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology graduates earn a median of $41,677 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,677. Median federal loan debt: $9,454. Average net price used in cost models: $9,857.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology graduates report median earnings of $41,677 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

957%Modeled return on investment
$9,454Median student debt
$41,677Median annual earnings (10 years)
22.68%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (15 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Petroleum Technology/Technician 6

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology.

Employment Outcomes

$41,677Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$41,196Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,212Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.19%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Pennsylvania median 36.9 pp above median (63.1%)
    • Mid East median 43.1 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,330
    • Pennsylvania median 0.79× the median ($8,003)
    • Mid East median 0.78× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 0.83× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,587
    • Pennsylvania median 1.2× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 1.2× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology at a glance

Institution snapshot

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology

Pleasant Gap, PA 16823 · Public · Mid East

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is a public institution in Pleasant Gap, PA, classified as Special Focus Two-Year: Technical Professions.

Avg. net price$9,857
Enrollment171
Acceptance rate96.20%
Completion (150%)94.59%
Pell Grant share55.81%
First-generation54.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingHeavy Equipment Maintenance Technology/TechnicianCosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian95.9%
Hispanic or Latino1.2%
Asian1.2%
Nearby

Schools near Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology

Other campuses in Pleasant Gap, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology located?

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is located in Pleasant Gap, PA.

What is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is 96.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 137 applicants and 130 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

How much does Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $9,857 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,857), completion (94.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,677). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology?

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 245 students, White (95.9%), Hispanic or Latino (1.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology?

About 54.7% of students at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology earn?

Median earnings are $41,196 six years after entry and $41,677 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology?

The 150%-time completion rate is 94.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,454.

Is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology public or private?

Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is a public institution located in Pleasant Gap, PA.

Is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology an HBCU?

No. Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology a tribal college?

No. Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.