Active Report Report ID: EDU-213622-2026

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing

Pittsburgh, PA 15238-3250

Acceptance rate80.77%Broad access
Tuition$16,190Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,327After aid
Graduation rate16.67%150% time
Median salary$67,32710yr post-entry

About UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is a private trade and vocational school in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 97 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $27,327 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $16,190.

Key findings

  • UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing charges about 0.6× the national private non-profit median tuition ($16,190).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 17% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 16.67%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $67,327.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 516% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing$16,190$27,3271
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,450$17,754181
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing charges about 0.6× the national private non-profit median tuition ($16,190).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 17% below.
Published sticker

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,190

Finding UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing charges about 0.6× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,190. That is about 0.6× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is 17% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 36% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is $27,327.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,327 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,574 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $8,627 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$16,190

Avg. net price

$27,327

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$21,898
$110,001+$30,946

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $64,760. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention100.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$61,500Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 100% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing.

Campus

Location

Pittsburgh, PA

City / state

ZIP
15238-3250
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 46% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

97

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
113
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$15,667

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
39.56%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$109,308Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,327Average annual net price (after aid)
$64,7604-year tuition
$14,864Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,727Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$33,781Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$135,124Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing.

Financial Aid by Income Level

39.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
70.33% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$17,640$17,640
2014$14,620$14,620$24,449
2015$14,620$14,620$19,594
2016$14,912$14,912$22,709
2017$15,315$15,315$21,530
2018$15,315$15,315$23,319
2019$15,545$15,545$19,683
2020$15,545$15,545$17,466
2021$15,545$15,545$26,867
2022$16,190$16,190$27,620
2023$16,190$16,190$19,096

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

80.77%Acceptance rate
7Total applicants
6Students admitted
6First-time students enrolled
100.00%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing reported total enrollment of about 97 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 13% male and 87% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (78.3%), Black or African American (11.3%), and Two or More Races (5.1%). About 39.56% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

87.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing in 2024 is 97 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 113 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

100.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

78.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian78.3%
  • Black or African American11.3%
  • Two or More Races5.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

16.67% 100% Completion Time

16.67% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 16.67% of students graduating from UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 16% male / 84% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

21White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian21
  • Black or African American2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing graduates earn a median of $67,327 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $67,327. Median federal loan debt: $15,667. Average net price used in cost models: $27,327.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing graduates report median earnings of $67,327 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

516%Modeled return on investment
$15,667Median student debt
$67,327Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.27%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing.

Employment Outcomes

$67,327Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$61,500Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$63,778Median earnings (8 years after entry)
93.42%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $26,285
    • Pennsylvania median 3.1× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 2.9× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 3.6× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing at a glance

Institution snapshot

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing

Pittsburgh, PA 15238-3250 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is a private non-profit institution in Pittsburgh, PA.

Tuition$16,190
Avg. net price$27,327
Enrollment97
Acceptance rate80.77%
Completion (150%)16.67%
Pell Grant share39.56%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian78.3%
Black or African American11.3%
Two or More Races5.1%
Nearby

Schools near UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing

Other campuses in Pittsburgh, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing located?

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is located in Pittsburgh, PA.

What is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is 80.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 7 applicants and 6 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing's tuition?

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,190 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,327 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing cost?

Reported tuition is $16,190 and average net price is $27,327 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,864 annually.

What explains UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,327), completion (16.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($67,327). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing?

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing reports undergraduate enrollment of about 113 students, White (78.3%), Black or African American (11.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What do graduates of UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing earn?

Median earnings are $61,500 six years after entry and $67,327 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing?

The 150%-time completion rate is 16.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $15,667.

Is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing public or private?

UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is a private nonprofit institution located in Pittsburgh, PA.

Is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing an HBCU?

No. UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing a tribal college?

No. UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.