Douglas J Aveda Institute
East Lansing, MI 48823
About Douglas J Aveda Institute
Douglas J Aveda Institute is a private for-profit trade school in East Lansing, Michigan, enrolling about 777 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 83.30% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $26,849 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $26,849.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Douglas J Aveda Institute | — | $25,357 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Michigan (state median) | $15,221 | $7,368 | 96 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Douglas J Aveda Institute really?
Evidence: average net price at Douglas J Aveda Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Douglas J Aveda Institute is $25,357.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $25,357 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,989 above the Michigan median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $10,386 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Douglas J Aveda Institute: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Douglas J Aveda Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$25,357
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $22,881 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $23,375 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $25,072 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $28,046 |
| $110,001+ | $28,425 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Douglas J Aveda Institute is known for
Top program completions
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist450
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General353
- Barbering/Barber29
- Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage25
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Douglas J Aveda Institute a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Douglas J Aveda Institute is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Douglas J Aveda Institute.
Campus
Location
East Lansing, MI
City / state
- ZIP
- 48823
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 69% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
Size
Enrollment
777
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,384
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$6,333
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 45.93%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Douglas J Aveda Institute.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Douglas J Aveda Institute was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Douglas J Aveda Institute in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $19,030 |
| 2014 | — | — | $20,773 |
| 2015 | — | — | $19,980 |
| 2016 | — | — | $17,852 |
| 2017 | — | — | $21,615 |
| 2018 | — | — | $18,348 |
| 2019 | — | — | $22,036 |
| 2020 | — | — | $23,434 |
| 2021 | — | — | $26,187 |
| 2022 | — | — | $25,530 |
| 2023 | — | — | $25,937 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Douglas J Aveda Institute reported total enrollment of about 777 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 9% male and 91% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (66.0%), Black or African American (14.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (6.2%). About 45.93% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Douglas J Aveda Institute in 2024 is 777 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,384 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
91.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
4.01% 100% Completion Time
83.30% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 4.01% of students graduating from Douglas J Aveda Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 1% male / 99% female
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 3% male / 97% female
- Barbering/Barber: 66% male / 34% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Douglas J Aveda Institute graduates earn a median of $26,849 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Douglas J Aveda Institute.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $26,849. Median federal loan debt: $6,333. Average net price used in cost models: $25,357.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Douglas J Aveda Institute graduates report median earnings of $26,849 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Douglas J Aveda Institute.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Douglas J Aveda Institute.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Douglas J Aveda Institute graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Douglas J Aveda Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,934
- Michigan median 1.2× the median ($7,240)
- Great Lakes median 1.2× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Douglas J Aveda Institute at a glance
Douglas J Aveda Institute
Douglas J Aveda Institute is a private for-profit institution in East Lansing, MI.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralBarbering/Barber
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian66.0%Black or African American14.0%Hispanic or Latino6.2%
Schools near Douglas J Aveda Institute
Other campuses in East Lansing, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Douglas J Aveda Institute located?
Douglas J Aveda Institute is located in East Lansing, MI.
How much does Douglas J Aveda Institute cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $25,357 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains Douglas J Aveda Institute's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($25,357), completion (83.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($26,849). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Douglas J Aveda Institute?
Douglas J Aveda Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,384 students, White (66.0%), Black or African American (14.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Douglas J Aveda Institute?
About 37.4% of students at Douglas J Aveda Institute are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Douglas J Aveda Institute earn?
Median earnings are $24,836 six years after entry and $26,849 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Douglas J Aveda Institute?
The 150%-time completion rate is 83.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Douglas J Aveda Institute students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,333.
Is Douglas J Aveda Institute public or private?
Douglas J Aveda Institute is a private for-profit institution located in East Lansing, MI.
Is Douglas J Aveda Institute an HBCU?
No. Douglas J Aveda Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Douglas J Aveda Institute a tribal college?
No. Douglas J Aveda Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Douglas J Aveda Institute a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Douglas J Aveda Institute does not meet that proxy (reported share 6.2%).
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.