Active Report Report ID: EDU-156790-2026

Hazard Community and Technical College

Hazard, KY 41701-2402

Tuition$4,728Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,955After aid
Graduation rate47.57%150% time
Median salary$29,86810yr post-entry
ROI2,427%10yr vs net cost

About Hazard Community and Technical College

Hazard Community and Technical College is a public community college in Hazard, Kentucky, enrolling about 1,506 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,955 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,728. Student demographics in federal data include White (93.8%) and Black or African American (2.4%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Hazard Community and Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition ($4,728).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Kentucky median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 47.57%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $29,868.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Hazard Community and Technical College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2427% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Hazard Community and Technical College$4,728$2,9551
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Kentucky (state median)$11,652$5,76253
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 38% below published tuition at Hazard Community and Technical College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Hazard Community and Technical College's average net price ($2,955) is 38% below published tuition ($4,728).
  • Hazard Community and Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition ($4,728).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Kentucky median net price.
Published sticker

Hazard Community and Technical College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,728

Finding Hazard Community and Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,728. That is 14% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Kentucky median ($11,652), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Hazard Community and Technical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Hazard Community and Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Hazard Community and Technical College is $2,955.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,955 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,808 below the Kentucky median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $12,016 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Hazard Community and Technical College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 38% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Hazard Community and Technical College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Hazard Community and Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,728

Out-of-state tuition

$6,432

Avg. net price

$2,955

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$2,426
$30,001–$48,000$3,204
$48,001–$75,000$4,702
$75,001–$110,000$5,330

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $18,912. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention66.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$26,147Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Hazard Community and Technical College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Hazard Community and Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Hazard Community and Technical College.

Campus

Location

Hazard, KY

City / state

ZIP
41701-2402
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,506

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,465
Full-time share
57%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$10,125

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.98%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$11,820Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,955Average annual net price (after aid)
$18,9124-year in-state tuition
$25,7284-year out-of-state tuition
$8,814Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,268Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,810Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$59,240Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Hazard Community and Technical College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.98% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
9.48% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Hazard Community and Technical College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Hazard Community and Technical College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,456$12,096$5,922
2014$3,624$12,456$5,855
2015$3,624$12,456$4,221
2016$3,936$13,296$4,657
2017$4,080$13,800$5,801
2018$4,248$14,400$5,685
2019$4,368$14,808$4,036
2020$4,488$15,240$3,817
2021$4,488$15,240$4,112
2022$4,560$15,480$3,361
2023$4,656$6,192$3,376

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Hazard Community and Technical College reported total enrollment of about 1,506 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (93.8%), Black or African American (2.4%), and Two or More Races (1.2%). About 31.98% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 60.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

56.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Hazard Community and Technical College in 2024 is 1,506 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,465 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

66.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

93.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian93.8%
  • Black or African American2.4%
  • Two or More Races1.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Asian0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

31.84% 100% Completion Time

47.57% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 31.84% of students graduating from Hazard Community and Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 14% male / 86% female
  • Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician: 90% male / 10% female
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General: 75% male / 25% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,985White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,985
  • Black or African American44
  • Hispanic or Latino33
  • Two or More Races30
  • Asian11
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Hazard Community and Technical College graduates earn a median of $29,868 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Hazard Community and Technical College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $29,868. Median federal loan debt: $10,125. Average net price used in cost models: $2,955.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Hazard Community and Technical College graduates report median earnings of $29,868 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,427%Modeled return on investment
$10,125Median student debt
$29,868Median annual earnings (10 years)
33.90%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Hazard Community and Technical College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (39 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrician 80

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Hazard Community and Technical College.

Employment Outcomes

$29,868Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$26,147Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$29,160Median earnings (8 years after entry)
74.64%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Hazard Community and Technical College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Hazard Community and Technical College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 97.1%
    • Kentucky median 16.7 pp above median (80.4%)
    • Southeast median 37.7 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 39.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,745
    • Kentucky median 0.93× the median ($6,182)
    • Southeast median 0.84× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.75× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,993
    • Kentucky median 1.2× the median ($5,808)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Hazard Community and Technical College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Hazard Community and Technical College

Hazard, KY 41701-2402 · Public · Southeast

Hazard Community and Technical College is a public institution in Hazard, KY, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$4,728
Avg. net price$2,955
Enrollment1,506
Completion (150%)47.57%
Pell Grant share31.98%
First-generation60.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingAutomobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/TechnicianComputer and Information Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian93.8%
Black or African American2.4%
Two or More Races1.2%
Nearby

Schools near Hazard Community and Technical College

Other campuses in Hazard, KY when available, plus nearby institutions in Kentucky.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Kentucky, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Hazard Community and Technical College located?

Hazard Community and Technical College is located in Hazard, KY.

What is Hazard Community and Technical College's tuition?

Hazard Community and Technical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,728 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,955 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Hazard Community and Technical College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,728 and average net price is $2,955 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,814 annually.

Why is Hazard Community and Technical College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Hazard Community and Technical College, published tuition is $4,728 while average net price is $2,955—about 38% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Hazard Community and Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,955), completion (47.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($29,868). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Hazard Community and Technical College?

Hazard Community and Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,465 students, White (93.8%), Black or African American (2.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Hazard Community and Technical College?

About 60.8% of students at Hazard Community and Technical College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Hazard Community and Technical College earn?

Median earnings are $26,147 six years after entry and $29,868 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Hazard Community and Technical College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 47.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Hazard Community and Technical College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $10,125.

Is Hazard Community and Technical College public or private?

Hazard Community and Technical College is a public institution located in Hazard, KY.

Is Hazard Community and Technical College an HBCU?

No. Hazard Community and Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.