Active Report Report ID: EDU-146506-2026

Lake Land College

Mattoon, IL 61938

Tuition$4,415Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,254After aid
Graduation rate58.35%150% time
Median salary$38,87710yr post-entry
ROI4,212%10yr vs net cost

About Lake Land College

Lake Land College is a public certificate and vocational school in Mattoon, Illinois, enrolling about 2,448 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,254 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,415. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $38,877 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Lake Land College charges 20% below the national public median tuition ($4,415).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Illinois median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 58.35%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,877.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Lake Land College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 4212% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Lake Land College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 56 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Lake Land College$4,415$2,2541
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Illinois (state median)$13,248$7,399131
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 49% below published tuition at Lake Land College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Lake Land College's average net price ($2,254) is 49% below published tuition ($4,415).
  • Lake Land College charges 20% below the national public median tuition ($4,415).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Illinois median net price.
Published sticker

Lake Land College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,415

Finding Lake Land College charges 20% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,415. That is 20% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Lake Land College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Lake Land College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Lake Land College is $2,254.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,254 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,145 below the Illinois median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Lake Land College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 49% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Lake Land College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Lake Land College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,415

Out-of-state tuition

$14,301

Avg. net price

$2,254

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$979
$30,001–$48,000$232
$48,001–$75,000$4,181
$75,001–$110,000$5,828
$110,001+$8,381

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $17,660. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention72.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,693Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Lake Land College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Lake Land College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Lake Land College.

Campus

Location

Mattoon, IL

City / state

ZIP
61938

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

2,448

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
8,524
Full-time share
69%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$6,188

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
26.06%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$9,016Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,254Average annual net price (after aid)
$17,6604-year in-state tuition
$57,2044-year out-of-state tuition
$6,000Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$530Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$10,945Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$43,780Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Lake Land College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

26.06% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.68% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Lake Land College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Lake Land College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,234$12,666$5,271
2014$3,459$13,084$5,113
2015$3,459$13,084$5,095
2016$3,789$13,415$5,466
2017$3,990$13,616$4,700
2018$4,110$13,736$4,809
2019$4,130$13,756$4,468
2020$4,280$14,871$4,523
2021$4,280$13,906$4,584
2022$3,965$13,906$4,076
2023$4,280$13,906$3,271

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Lake Land College reported total enrollment of about 2,448 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (87.0%), Hispanic or Latino (3.8%), and Two or More Races (3.5%). About 26.06% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

69.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Lake Land College in 2024 is 2,448 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 8,524 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

72.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

87.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian87.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.8%
  • Two or More Races3.5%
  • Black or African American3.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.6%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

40.92% 100% Completion Time

58.35% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 40.92% of students graduating from Lake Land College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 42% male / 58% female
  • 00.0460: 93% male / 7% female
  • Applied Horticulture/Horticulture Operations, General: 86% male / 14% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

2,125White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian2,125
  • Black or African American538
  • Hispanic or Latino220
  • Two or More Races96
  • Asian19
  • American Indian or Alaska Native12
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Lake Land College graduates earn a median of $38,877 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Lake Land College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $38,877. Median federal loan debt: $6,188. Average net price used in cost models: $2,254.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Lake Land College graduates report median earnings of $38,877 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

4,212%Modeled return on investment
$6,188Median student debt
$38,877Median annual earnings (10 years)
15.92%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Lake Land College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (56 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 00.0460 422
  2. Applied Horticulture/Horticulture Operations, General 421
  3. Building/Property Maintenance 173

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Lake Land College.

Employment Outcomes

$38,877Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,693Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$36,833Median earnings (8 years after entry)
87.94%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Lake Land College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Lake Land College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$8

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $7

Year change: $1

  • Illinois median 0.00× the median ($28.5M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.00× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.00× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: N/A

  • Illinois median 0.00× the median ($15,173)
  • Great Lakes median 0.00× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 0.00× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 71.8%
    • Illinois median 21.0 pp above median (50.8%)
    • Great Lakes median 13.7 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 13.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,125
    • Illinois median 0.72× the median ($8,563)
    • Great Lakes median 0.76× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.80× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,317
    • Illinois median near the median ($7,575)
    • Great Lakes median near the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Lake Land College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Lake Land College

Mattoon, IL 61938 · Public · Great Lakes

Lake Land College is a public institution in Mattoon, IL, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$4,415
Avg. net price$2,254
Enrollment2,448
Completion (150%)58.35%
Pell Grant share26.06%
First-generation43.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies00.0460Applied Horticulture/Horticulture Operations, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian87.0%
Hispanic or Latino3.8%
Two or More Races3.5%
Nearby

Schools near Lake Land College

Other campuses in Mattoon, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Lake Land College located?

Lake Land College is located in Mattoon, IL.

What is Lake Land College's tuition?

Lake Land College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,415 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,254 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Lake Land College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,415 and average net price is $2,254 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $6,000 annually.

Why is Lake Land College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Lake Land College, published tuition is $4,415 while average net price is $2,254—about 49% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Lake Land College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,254), completion (58.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($38,877). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Lake Land College?

Lake Land College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 8,524 students, White (87.0%), Hispanic or Latino (3.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Lake Land College?

About 43.9% of students at Lake Land College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Lake Land College earn?

Median earnings are $33,693 six years after entry and $38,877 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Lake Land College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 58.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Lake Land College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,188.

Is Lake Land College public or private?

Lake Land College is a public institution located in Mattoon, IL.

Is Lake Land College an HBCU?

No. Lake Land College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.