Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Cumberland, KY 40823
About Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is a public community college in Cumberland, Kentucky, enrolling about 1,721 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,731 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,728. Student demographics in federal data include White (92.2%) and Two or More Races (2.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition ($4,728).
- Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Kentucky median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 47.32%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $29,482.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1875% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College | $4,728 | $3,731 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Kentucky (state median) | $11,652 | $5,762 | 53 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 21% below published tuition at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Key findings
- Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College's average net price ($3,731) is 21% below published tuition ($4,728).
- Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition ($4,728).
- Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Kentucky median net price.
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $4,728
Finding Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College charges 14% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $4,728. That is 14% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Kentucky median ($11,652), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is $3,731.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,731 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,032 below the Kentucky median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 21% lower after grants and scholarships.
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$4,728
Out-of-state tuition
$6,432
Avg. net price
$3,731
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,963 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $3,368 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $6,079 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $7,573 |
| $110,001+ | $12,699 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $18,912. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is known for
Top program completions
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training237
- Welding Technology/Welder192
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies182
- Medical/Clinical Assistant116
- Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician77
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College.
Campus
Location
Cumberland, KY
City / state
- ZIP
- 40823
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
1,721
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4,398
- Full-time share
- 62%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$6,919
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 40.14%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $3,600 | $12,240 | $6,167 |
| 2014 | $3,624 | $12,456 | $5,699 |
| 2015 | $3,624 | $12,456 | $5,282 |
| 2016 | $3,936 | $13,296 | $4,978 |
| 2017 | $4,080 | $13,800 | $5,302 |
| 2018 | $4,248 | $14,400 | $5,230 |
| 2019 | $4,368 | $14,808 | $4,774 |
| 2020 | $4,488 | $15,240 | $3,582 |
| 2021 | $4,488 | $15,240 | $3,790 |
| 2022 | $4,560 | $15,480 | $3,259 |
| 2023 | $4,656 | $6,192 | $3,537 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College reported total enrollment of about 1,721 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 32% male and 68% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (92.2%), Two or More Races (2.1%), and Black or African American (1.9%). About 40.14% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 56.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
61.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College in 2024 is 1,721 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,398 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
67.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
31.25% 100% Completion Time
47.32% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 31.25% of students graduating from Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 15% male / 85% female
- Welding Technology/Welder: 94% male / 6% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 23% male / 77% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College graduates earn a median of $29,482 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $29,482. Median federal loan debt: $6,919. Average net price used in cost models: $3,731.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College graduates report median earnings of $29,482 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (25 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 98.5%
- Kentucky median 18.1 pp above median (80.4%)
- Southeast median 39.1 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 40.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,757
- Kentucky median 0.93× the median ($6,182)
- Southeast median 0.84× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 0.76× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,615
- Kentucky median near the median ($5,808)
- Southeast median 0.85× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.77× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College at a glance
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is a public institution in Cumberland, KY, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingWelding Technology/WelderLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian92.2%Two or More Races2.1%Black or African American1.9%
Schools near Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Other campuses in Cumberland, KY when available, plus nearby institutions in Kentucky.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Kentucky, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College located?
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is located in Cumberland, KY.
What is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College's tuition?
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,728 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,731 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College cost?
Reported tuition is $4,728 and average net price is $3,731 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,814 annually.
Why is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College, published tuition is $4,728 while average net price is $3,731—about 21% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,731), completion (47.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($29,482). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College?
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,398 students, White (92.2%), Two or More Races (2.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College?
About 56.0% of students at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College earn?
Median earnings are $26,999 six years after entry and $29,482 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 47.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,919.
Is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College public or private?
Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is a public institution located in Cumberland, KY.
Is Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College an HBCU?
No. Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.