Active Report Report ID: EDU-233286-2026

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy

Lynchburg, VA 24502

Avg. net price$21,156After aid
Graduation rate50.00%150% time
Median salary$17,10610yr post-entry
ROI102%10yr vs net cost

About Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is a private for-profit trade school in Lynchburg, Virginia, enrolling about 175 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 50.00% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $17,106 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $17,106.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy$21,1561
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is $21,156.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,156 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $12,304 above the Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,185 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$21,156

Student outcomes

First-year retention46.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$17,502Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy.

Campus

Location

Lynchburg, VA

City / state

ZIP
24502
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 41% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast

Size

Enrollment

175

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
275
Full-time share
39%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
59.78%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$84,624Estimated 4-year total cost
$21,156Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy.

Financial Aid by Income Level

59.78% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
60.14% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$14,415
2014$13,876
2015$14,866
2016$13,926
2017$13,978
2018$12,903
2019$8,682
2020$15,957
2021$16,008
2022$20,121
2023$21,156

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy reported total enrollment of about 175 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 13% male and 87% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (45.7%), Black or African American (36.0%), and Two or More Races (13.1%). About 59.78% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

38.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy in 2024 is 175 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 275 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

46.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian45.7%
  • Black or African American36.0%
  • Two or More Races13.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino4.0%
  • Asian1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.00% 100% Completion Time

50.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.00% of students graduating from Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 4% male / 96% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female
  • Barbering/Barber: 91% male / 9% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

52White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian52
  • Black or African American39
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • Two or More Races4
  • Asian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy graduates earn a median of $17,106 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $17,106. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $21,156.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy graduates report median earnings of $17,106 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

102%Modeled return on investment
$9,500Median student debt
$17,106Median annual earnings (10 years)
55.54%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy.

Employment Outcomes

$17,106Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$17,502Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$19,574Median earnings (8 years after entry)
73.12%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,795
    • Virginia median 0.51× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 0.57× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.52× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy at a glance

Institution snapshot

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy

Lynchburg, VA 24502 · Private For-profit · Southeast

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is a private for-profit institution in Lynchburg, VA.

Avg. net price$21,156
Enrollment175
Completion (150%)50.00%
Pell Grant share59.78%
First-generation43.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralBarbering/Barber
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian45.7%
Black or African American36.0%
Two or More Races13.1%
Nearby

Schools near Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy

Other campuses in Lynchburg, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy located?

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is located in Lynchburg, VA.

How much does Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $21,156 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($21,156), completion (50.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($17,106). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy?

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy reports undergraduate enrollment of about 275 students, White (45.7%), Black or African American (36.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy?

About 43.3% of students at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy earn?

Median earnings are $17,502 six years after entry and $17,106 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy?

The 150%-time completion rate is 50.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.

Is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy public or private?

Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is a private for-profit institution located in Lynchburg, VA.

Is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy an HBCU?

No. Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy a tribal college?

No. Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy does not meet that proxy (reported share 4.0%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.