The Recording Conservatory of Austin
Austin, TX 78730-3004
About The Recording Conservatory of Austin
The Recording Conservatory of Austin is a private for-profit trade school in Austin, Texas, enrolling about 77 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 71.74% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (45.5%) and White (42.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Recording Conservatory of Austin | — | $29,859 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is The Recording Conservatory of Austin really?
Evidence: average net price at The Recording Conservatory of Austin versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at The Recording Conservatory of Austin is $29,859.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $29,859 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $21,828 above the Texas median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
The Recording Conservatory of Austin: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The Recording Conservatory of Austin—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$29,859
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $26,058 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $28,308 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $30,212 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $31,507 |
| $110,001+ | $31,507 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What The Recording Conservatory of Austin is known for
Top program completions
- Recording Arts Technology/Technician41
See earnings & programs for more.
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
The Recording Conservatory of Austin is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The Recording Conservatory of Austin.
Campus
Location
Austin, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 78730-3004
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
Size
Enrollment
77
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 81
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 19.42%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for The Recording Conservatory of Austin.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The Recording Conservatory of Austin was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The Recording Conservatory of Austin in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2016–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | — | — | $32,385 |
| 2017 | — | — | $30,220 |
| 2018 | — | — | $32,629 |
| 2019 | — | — | $32,342 |
| 2020 | — | — | $25,707 |
| 2021 | — | — | $24,381 |
| 2022 | — | — | $25,438 |
| 2023 | — | — | $29,459 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
The Recording Conservatory of Austin reported total enrollment of about 77 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 87% male and 13% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (45.5%), White (42.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.1%). About 19.42% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at The Recording Conservatory of Austin in 2024 is 77 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 81 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
73.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
71.74% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from The Recording Conservatory of Austin completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Recording Arts Technology/Technician: 93% male / 7% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do The Recording Conservatory of Austin graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for The Recording Conservatory of Austin from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The Recording Conservatory of Austin.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The Recording Conservatory of Austin.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The Recording Conservatory of Austin graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The Recording Conservatory of Austin—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,531
- Texas median 0.50× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 0.44× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.35× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
The Recording Conservatory of Austin at a glance
The Recording Conservatory of Austin
The Recording Conservatory of Austin is a private for-profit institution in Austin, TX.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Recording Arts Technology/Technician
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American45.5%White or Caucasian42.9%Hispanic or Latino9.1%
Schools near The Recording Conservatory of Austin
Other campuses in Austin, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is The Recording Conservatory of Austin located?
The Recording Conservatory of Austin is located in Austin, TX.
How much does The Recording Conservatory of Austin cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $29,859 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at The Recording Conservatory of Austin?
The Recording Conservatory of Austin reports undergraduate enrollment of about 81 students, Black or African American (45.5%), White (42.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at The Recording Conservatory of Austin?
The 150%-time completion rate is 71.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin public or private?
The Recording Conservatory of Austin is a private for-profit institution located in Austin, TX.
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin an HBCU?
No. The Recording Conservatory of Austin is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin a tribal college?
No. The Recording Conservatory of Austin is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, The Recording Conservatory of Austin does not meet that proxy (reported share 9.1%).
Is The Recording Conservatory of Austin religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for The Recording Conservatory of Austin in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.