Active Report Report ID: EDU-486798-2026

Tulsa Welding School-Houston

Houston, TX 77060-2100

Avg. net price$35,101After aid
Graduation rate69.84%150% time
Median salary$41,06710yr post-entry
ROI192%10yr vs net cost

About Tulsa Welding School-Houston

Tulsa Welding School-Houston is a private for-profit trade school in Houston, Texas, enrolling about 1,962 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 69.84% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $41,067 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,067.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Tulsa Welding School-Houston$35,1011
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Texas (state median)$9,940$8,031184
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Tulsa Welding School-Houston really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Tulsa Welding School-Houston versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Tulsa Welding School-Houston is $35,101.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $35,101 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $27,070 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $15,048 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Tulsa Welding School-Houston: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Tulsa Welding School-Houston—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$35,101

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$34,638
$30,001–$48,000$34,161
$48,001–$75,000$36,277
$75,001–$110,000$37,735
$110,001+$39,411

Student outcomes

First-year retention78.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,055Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Tulsa Welding School-Houston a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Tulsa Welding School-Houston is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Tulsa Welding School-Houston.

Campus

Location

Houston, TX

City / state

ZIP
77060-2100
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 1.8× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southwest

Size

Enrollment

1,962

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,558
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
67.91%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$140,404Estimated 4-year total cost
$35,101Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Tulsa Welding School-Houston.

Financial Aid by Income Level

67.91% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
74.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Tulsa Welding School-Houston was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Tulsa Welding School-Houston in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20152023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2015$27,313
2016$26,582
2017$26,008
2018$27,155
2019$26,864
2020$25,938
2021$26,833
2022$30,151
2023$32,907

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Tulsa Welding School-Houston reported total enrollment of about 1,962 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 88% male and 12% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (42.4%), Black or African American (37.6%), and White (16.4%). About 67.91% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Tulsa Welding School-Houston in 2024 is 1,962 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,558 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

78.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

42.4%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino42.4%
  • Black or African American37.6%
  • White or Caucasian16.4%
  • Asian1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Two or More Races0.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

56.61% 100% Completion Time

69.84% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 56.61% of students graduating from Tulsa Welding School-Houston completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Welding Technology/Welder: 88% male / 12% female
  • Electrician: 89% male / 11% female
  • Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician: 96% male / 4% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

777Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino777
  • Black or African American441
  • White or Caucasian309
  • American Indian or Alaska Native24
  • Asian18
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander9
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Tulsa Welding School-Houston graduates earn a median of $41,067 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Tulsa Welding School-Houston.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,067. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $35,101.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Tulsa Welding School-Houston graduates report median earnings of $41,067 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

192%Modeled return on investment
$9,500Median student debt
$41,067Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.13%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Tulsa Welding School-Houston.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrician 261
  2. Electromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/Technician 55

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Tulsa Welding School-Houston.

Employment Outcomes

$41,067Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,055Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$39,602Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.42%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Tulsa Welding School-Houston graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Tulsa Welding School-Houston—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,253
    • Texas median 0.45× the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.40× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.31× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Tulsa Welding School-Houston at a glance

Institution snapshot

Tulsa Welding School-Houston

Houston, TX 77060-2100 · Private For-profit · Southwest

Tulsa Welding School-Houston is a private for-profit institution in Houston, TX.

Avg. net price$35,101
Enrollment1,962
Completion (150%)69.84%
Pell Grant share67.91%
First-generation52.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Welding Technology/WelderElectricianHeating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino42.4%
Black or African American37.6%
White or Caucasian16.4%
Nearby

Schools near Tulsa Welding School-Houston

Other campuses in Houston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Tulsa Welding School-Houston located?

Tulsa Welding School-Houston is located in Houston, TX.

How much does Tulsa Welding School-Houston cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $35,101 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Tulsa Welding School-Houston's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($35,101), completion (69.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,067). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Tulsa Welding School-Houston?

Tulsa Welding School-Houston reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,558 students, Hispanic or Latino (42.4%), Black or African American (37.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Tulsa Welding School-Houston?

About 52.2% of students at Tulsa Welding School-Houston are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Tulsa Welding School-Houston earn?

Median earnings are $39,055 six years after entry and $41,067 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Tulsa Welding School-Houston?

The 150%-time completion rate is 69.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Tulsa Welding School-Houston students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.

Is Tulsa Welding School-Houston public or private?

Tulsa Welding School-Houston is a private for-profit institution located in Houston, TX.

Is Tulsa Welding School-Houston an HBCU?

No. Tulsa Welding School-Houston is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Tulsa Welding School-Houston a tribal college?

No. Tulsa Welding School-Houston is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Tulsa Welding School-Houston a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Tulsa Welding School-Houston reports 42.4% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.