Active Report Report ID: EDU-417831-2026

Union County Vocational Technical School

Scotch Plains, NJ 07076

Avg. net price$7,361After aid
Graduation rate98.63%150% time
Median salary$37,59010yr post-entry
ROI1,177%10yr vs net cost

About Union County Vocational Technical School

Union County Vocational Technical School is a public certificate and vocational school in Scotch Plains, New Jersey, enrolling about 88 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 98.63% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $37,590 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 98.63%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,590.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Union County Vocational Technical School is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1177% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Union County Vocational Technical School$7,3611
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Jersey (state median)$12,950$11,02484
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Union County Vocational Technical School really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Average net price runs below the New Jersey median net price.

Evidence: average net price at Union County Vocational Technical School versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Union County Vocational Technical School is $7,361.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,361 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,662 below the New Jersey median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $11,339 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Union County Vocational Technical School: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Union County Vocational Technical School—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$7,361

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,283
$30,001–$48,000$6,829
$48,001–$75,000$9,252

Student outcomes

First-year retention100.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,218Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Union County Vocational Technical School is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Union County Vocational Technical School.

Campus

Location

Scotch Plains, NJ

City / state

ZIP
07076
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

88

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
124
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
25.69%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$29,444Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,361Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Union County Vocational Technical School.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.69% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
1.39% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Union County Vocational Technical School was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Union County Vocational Technical School in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$5,807
2014$7,728
2015$7,327
2016$5,725
2017$7,089
2018$7,412
2019$11,013
2020$9,144
2021$5,645
2022$2,228
2023$8,325

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Union County Vocational Technical School reported total enrollment of about 88 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 68% male and 32% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (48.9%), White (33.0%), and Black or African American (14.8%). About 25.69% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Union County Vocational Technical School in 2024 is 88 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 124 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

100.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

48.9%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino48.9%
  • White or Caucasian33.0%
  • Black or African American14.8%
  • Asian2.3%
  • Two or More Races1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

97.26% 100% Completion Time

98.63% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 97.26% of students graduating from Union County Vocational Technical School completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Electrician: 92% male / 8% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 15% male / 85% female
  • Automotive Engineering Technology/Technician: 100% male / 0% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

41Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino41
  • Black or African American30
  • White or Caucasian28
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Asian1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Union County Vocational Technical School graduates earn a median of $37,590 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Union County Vocational Technical School.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $37,590. Average net price used in cost models: $7,361.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Union County Vocational Technical School graduates report median earnings of $37,590 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,177%Modeled return on investment
$37,590Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Union County Vocational Technical School.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Automotive Engineering Technology/Technician 19

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Union County Vocational Technical School.

Employment Outcomes

$37,590Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,218Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$45,433Median earnings (8 years after entry)
74.60%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Union County Vocational Technical School graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Union County Vocational Technical School—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,354
    • New Jersey median 0.32× the median ($7,319)
    • Mid East median 0.26× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.32× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Union County Vocational Technical School at a glance

Institution snapshot

Union County Vocational Technical School

Scotch Plains, NJ 07076 · Public · Mid East

Union County Vocational Technical School is a public institution in Scotch Plains, NJ.

Avg. net price$7,361
Enrollment88
Completion (150%)98.63%
Pell Grant share25.69%
First-generation50.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
ElectricianCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralAutomotive Engineering Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino48.9%
White or Caucasian33.0%
Black or African American14.8%
Nearby

Schools near Union County Vocational Technical School

Other campuses in Scotch Plains, NJ when available, plus nearby institutions in New Jersey.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New Jersey, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Union County Vocational Technical School located?

Union County Vocational Technical School is located in Scotch Plains, NJ.

How much does Union County Vocational Technical School cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $7,361 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Union County Vocational Technical School's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,361), completion (98.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($37,590). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Union County Vocational Technical School?

Union County Vocational Technical School reports undergraduate enrollment of about 124 students, Hispanic or Latino (48.9%), White (33.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Union County Vocational Technical School?

About 50.0% of students at Union County Vocational Technical School are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Union County Vocational Technical School earn?

Median earnings are $39,218 six years after entry and $37,590 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Union County Vocational Technical School?

The 150%-time completion rate is 98.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School public or private?

Union County Vocational Technical School is a public institution located in Scotch Plains, NJ.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School an HBCU?

No. Union County Vocational Technical School is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School a tribal college?

No. Union County Vocational Technical School is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Union County Vocational Technical School reports 48.9% Hispanic enrollment share.

Is Union County Vocational Technical School religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Union County Vocational Technical School in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.