Active Report Report ID: EDU-164465-2026

Amherst College

Amherst, MA 01002-5000

Acceptance rate9.01%Extremely selective
Tuition$70,480Published sticker
Avg. net price$23,367After aid
Graduation rate93.90%150% time
Median salary$77,64410yr post-entry

About Amherst College

Amherst College is a private university in Amherst, Massachusetts, enrolling about 1,911 students. Admission is highly selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 9.01% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $77,644 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Amherst College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,480).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 2.1×.
  • Amherst College admits about 9.01% of applicants (extremely selective).
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 93.90%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $77,644.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Amherst College is about 67% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $70,480; average net price is $23,367 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Amherst College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 731% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Amherst College$70,480$23,3671
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Massachusetts (state median)$34,256$12,24493
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 67% below published tuition at Amherst College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Amherst College's average net price ($23,367) is 67% below published tuition ($70,480).
  • Amherst College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,480).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 2.1×.
Published sticker

Amherst College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $70,480

Finding Amherst College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $70,480. That is about 2.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Massachusetts median ($34,256), sticker tuition is about 2.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Amherst College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Amherst College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Amherst College is $23,367.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,367 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,123 above the Massachusetts median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $8,396 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Amherst College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 67% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Amherst College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Amherst College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$70,480

Avg. net price

$23,367

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,086
$30,001–$48,000$1,570
$48,001–$75,000$17,478
$75,001–$110,000$23,639
$110,001+$47,521

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $281,920. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention97.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$62,537Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Extremely selective — fewer than 1 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 39% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1533
  • Midpoint ACT: 33

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Amherst College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Amherst College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 67% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomesNet price well below stickerHighly selective
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Amherst College.

Campus

Location

Amherst, MA

City / state

ZIP
01002-5000
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 56% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,911

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,059
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,740

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
19.84%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$93,468Estimated 4-year total cost
$23,367Average annual net price (after aid)
$281,9204-year tuition
$18,390Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$88,870Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$355,480Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Amherst College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

19.84% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
8.38% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Amherst College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Amherst College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$46,574$46,574$19,449
2014$48,526$48,526$17,801
2015$50,562$50,562$18,848
2016$52,476$52,476$22,036
2017$54,310$54,310$22,463
2018$56,426$56,426$25,208
2019$58,640$58,640$18,524
2020$60,890$60,890$21,657
2021$61,150$61,150$17,304
2022$64,100$64,100$25,035
2023$67,280$67,280$18,246

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

9.01%Acceptance rate
12,727Total applicants
1,250Students admitted
488First-time students enrolled
39.04%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is extremely selective, accepting fewer than 1 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1533SAT average
33ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

4.00Estimated median GPA
3.9–4.0Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Amherst College reported total enrollment of about 1,911 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (36.4%), Asian (16.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (13.8%). About 19.84% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 20.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Amherst College in 2024 is 1,911 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,059 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

97.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

36.4%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian36.4%
  • Asian16.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino13.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien13.1%
  • Black or African American8.9%
  • Two or More Races8.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

75.00% 100% Completion Time

93.90% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 75.00% of students graduating from Amherst College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Econometrics and Quantitative Economics: 62% male / 38% female
  • Mathematics, General: 56% male / 44% female
  • Computer Science: 75% male / 25% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

274White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian274
  • Asian118
  • Hispanic or Latino103
  • Black or African American82
  • Two or More Races45
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Amherst College graduates earn a median of $77,644 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Amherst College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $77,644. Median federal loan debt: $13,740. Average net price used in cost models: $23,367.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Amherst College graduates report median earnings of $77,644 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

731%Modeled return on investment
$13,740Median student debt
$77,644Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.70%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Amherst College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (41 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 88
  2. Mathematics, General 81
  3. Computer Science 52
  4. English Language and Literature, General 35
  5. American/U.S. Law/Legal Studies/Jurisprudence 32
  6. Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, Other 24

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Amherst College.

Employment Outcomes

$77,644Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$62,537Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$86,438Median earnings (8 years after entry)
59.28%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Amherst College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Amherst College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$3.34B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $3.32B

Year change: $19.8M

  • Massachusetts median 54× the median ($62.1M)
  • New England median 78× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 127× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,624,534

  • Massachusetts median 54× the median ($30,011)
  • New England median 70× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 134× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 96.7%
    • Massachusetts median 45.6 pp above median (51.1%)
    • New England median 43.5 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 38.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $15,606
    • Massachusetts median 1.6× the median ($9,649)
    • New England median 1.7× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $36,411
    • Massachusetts median 3.3× the median ($11,192)
    • New England median 3.6× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 5.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Amherst College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Amherst College

Amherst, MA 01002-5000 · Private Non-profit · New England

Amherst College is a private non-profit institution in Amherst, MA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$70,480
Avg. net price$23,367
Enrollment1,911
Acceptance rate9.01%
Completion (150%)93.90%
Average SAT1533
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Econometrics and Quantitative EconomicsMathematics, GeneralComputer Science
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian36.4%
Asian16.5%
Hispanic or Latino13.8%
Nearby

Schools near Amherst College

Other campuses in Amherst, MA when available, plus nearby institutions in Massachusetts.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Massachusetts, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Amherst College located?

Amherst College is located in Amherst, MA.

What is Amherst College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Amherst College is 9.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 12,727 applicants and 1,250 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Amherst College's tuition?

Amherst College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $70,480 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $23,367 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Amherst College cost?

Reported tuition is $70,480 and average net price is $23,367 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,390 annually.

Why is Amherst College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Amherst College, published tuition is $70,480 while average net price is $23,367—about 67% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Amherst College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,367), completion (93.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($77,644). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

Why is Amherst College's acceptance rate so low?

The acceptance rate at Amherst College is 9.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.

What is the student body demographics at Amherst College?

Amherst College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,059 students, White (36.4%), Asian (16.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Amherst College?

About 20.8% of students at Amherst College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Amherst College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Amherst College reports midpoint SAT about 1533 and midpoint ACT about 33.

What do graduates of Amherst College earn?

Median earnings are $62,537 six years after entry and $77,644 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Amherst College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 93.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.