Atenas University
Manati, PR 00674-0000
About Atenas University
Atenas University is a private two-year college in Manati, Puerto Rico, enrolling about 597 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,818 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $8,954. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (100.0%) and White (0.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Atenas University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,954).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
- Average net price runs below the Puerto Rico median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 42.48%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $20,231.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Atenas University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 769% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atenas University | $8,954 | $5,818 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Puerto Rico (state median) | $8,562 | $8,830 | 104 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 35% below published tuition at Atenas University
Key findings
- Atenas University's average net price ($5,818) is 35% below published tuition ($8,954).
- Atenas University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,954).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
- Average net price runs below the Puerto Rico median net price.
Atenas University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,954
Finding Atenas University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,954. That is about 0.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Puerto Rico median ($8,562), sticker tuition is 5% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 25% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Atenas University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Atenas University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Atenas University is $5,818.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,818 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,012 below the Puerto Rico median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,882 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Atenas University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 35% lower after grants and scholarships.
Atenas University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Atenas University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$8,954
Avg. net price
$5,818
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $5,566 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $4,602 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $11,324 |
| $110,001+ | $15,539 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $35,816. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Atenas University is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse53
- Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer38
- Pharmacy Technician/Assistant21
- Health Services Administration18
- Physical Therapy/Therapist15
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Atenas University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Atenas University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Atenas University.
Campus
Location
Manati, PR
City / state
- ZIP
- 00674-0000
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Outlying Areas
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management
Size
Enrollment
597
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 748
- Graduate
- 25
- Full-time share
- 75%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$6,525
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 85.69%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Atenas University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Atenas University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Atenas University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,945 | $6,945 | $7,634 |
| 2014 | $6,945 | $6,945 | $6,041 |
| 2015 | $6,945 | $6,945 | $5,996 |
| 2016 | $6,945 | $6,945 | $6,454 |
| 2017 | $6,465 | $6,465 | $6,277 |
| 2018 | $7,370 | $7,370 | $7,086 |
| 2019 | $7,370 | $7,370 | $5,135 |
| 2020 | $7,370 | $7,370 | $6,299 |
| 2021 | $7,370 | $7,370 | $6,230 |
| 2022 | $8,198 | $8,198 | $2,602 |
| 2023 | $8,198 | $8,198 | $6,544 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Atenas University reported total enrollment of about 597 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 85.69% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
75.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Atenas University in 2024 is 597 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 748 students. Graduate enrollment is about 25 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
81.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
30.00% 100% Completion Time
42.48% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 30.00% of students graduating from Atenas University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 23% male / 77% female
- Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer: 37% male / 63% female
- Pharmacy Technician/Assistant: 19% male / 81% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Atenas University graduates earn a median of $20,231 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Atenas University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $20,231. Median federal loan debt: $6,525. Average net price used in cost models: $5,818.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Atenas University graduates report median earnings of $20,231 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Atenas University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (14 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Atenas University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Atenas University graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Atenas University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 33.9%
- Puerto Rico median 53.1 pp below median (87.0%)
- Outlying Areas median 53.1 pp below median (87.0%)
- U.S. median 24.1 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $2,869
- Puerto Rico median 0.70× the median ($4,084)
- Outlying Areas median 0.70× the median ($4,084)
- U.S. median 0.38× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,267
- Puerto Rico median 1.2× the median ($3,469)
- Outlying Areas median 1.2× the median ($3,501)
- U.S. median 0.59× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Atenas University at a glance
Atenas University
Atenas University is a private non-profit institution in Manati, PR, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseRadiologic Technology/Science - RadiographerPharmacy Technician/Assistant
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino100.0%White or Caucasian0.0%Black or African American0.0%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Atenas University
Other campuses in Manati, PR when available, plus nearby institutions in Puerto Rico.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Puerto Rico, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Atenas University located?
Atenas University is located in Manati, PR.
What is Atenas University's tuition?
Atenas University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,954 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,818 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Atenas University cost?
Reported tuition is $8,954 and average net price is $5,818 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,301 annually.
Why is Atenas University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Atenas University, published tuition is $8,954 while average net price is $5,818—about 35% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Atenas University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,818), completion (42.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($20,231). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Atenas University?
Atenas University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 748 students, Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Atenas University?
About 52.1% of students at Atenas University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Atenas University earn?
Median earnings are $18,391 six years after entry and $20,231 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Atenas University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 42.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Atenas University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,525.
Is Atenas University public or private?
Atenas University is a private nonprofit institution located in Manati, PR.
Is Atenas University an HBCU?
No. Atenas University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.