Active Report Report ID: EDU-476683-2026

Athena Career Academy

Toledo, OH 43615

Acceptance rate78.05%Broad access
Avg. net price$22,886After aid
Graduation rate52.46%150% time

About Athena Career Academy

Athena Career Academy is a private for-profit trade school in Toledo, Ohio, enrolling about 516 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 52.46% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (84.7%) and White (6.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Athena Career Academy$22,8861
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Ohio (state median)$15,202$12,090154
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Athena Career Academy really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Athena Career Academy versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Athena Career Academy is $22,886.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,886 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $10,796 above the Ohio median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $2,833 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Athena Career Academy: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Athena Career Academy—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$22,886

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$22,688
$30,001–$48,000$25,374
$48,001–$75,000$24,169

Student outcomes

First-year retention55.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$48,406Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 33% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Athena Career Academy a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Athena Career Academy is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Athena Career Academy.

Campus

Location

Toledo, OH

City / state

ZIP
43615
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 14% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges

Size

Enrollment

516

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
832
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$14,120

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
76.26%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$91,544Estimated 4-year total cost
$22,886Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Athena Career Academy.

Financial Aid by Income Level

76.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
89.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Athena Career Academy was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Athena Career Academy in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$22,218
2014$19,814
2015$20,369
2016$20,313
2017$20,488
2018$20,210
2019$23,116
2020$22,668
2021$23,382
2022$26,034
2023$25,171

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

78.05%Acceptance rate
150Total applicants
90Students admitted
30First-time students enrolled
33.33%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Athena Career Academy reported total enrollment of about 516 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 7% male and 93% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (84.7%), White (6.8%), and Two or More Races (4.5%). About 76.26% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 54.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Athena Career Academy in 2024 is 516 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 832 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

55.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

84.7%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American84.7%
  • White or Caucasian6.8%
  • Two or More Races4.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.1%
  • Asian0.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

52.46% 100% Completion Time

52.46% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 52.46% of students graduating from Athena Career Academy completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 9% male / 91% female
  • Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 5% male / 95% female
  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

124Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American124
  • White or Caucasian20
  • Two or More Races4
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Asian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Athena Career Academy graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Athena Career Academy.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $14,120. Average net price used in cost models: $22,886.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$14,120Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Athena Career Academy.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 5
  2. 05.1071 4

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Athena Career Academy.

Employment Outcomes

$51,683Median earnings (8 years after entry)
$48,406Median earnings (6 years after entry)
90.69%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Athena Career Academy graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Athena Career Academy—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Ohio median 45.1 pp above median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,124
    • Ohio median 0.82× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 0.76× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.80× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,498
    • Ohio median 0.59× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 0.58× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.62× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Athena Career Academy at a glance

Institution snapshot

Athena Career Academy

Toledo, OH 43615 · Private For-profit · Great Lakes

Athena Career Academy is a private for-profit institution in Toledo, OH, classified as Baccalaureate/Associate's Colleges.

Avg. net price$22,886
Enrollment516
Acceptance rate78.05%
Completion (150%)52.46%
Pell Grant share76.26%
First-generation54.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseLicensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingEarly Childhood Education & Teaching
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American84.7%
White or Caucasian6.8%
Two or More Races4.5%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Athena Career Academy

Other campuses in Toledo, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Athena Career Academy located?

Athena Career Academy is located in Toledo, OH.

What is Athena Career Academy's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Athena Career Academy is 78.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 150 applicants and 90 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

How much does Athena Career Academy cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $22,886 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Athena Career Academy?

Athena Career Academy reports undergraduate enrollment of about 832 students, Black or African American (84.7%), White (6.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Athena Career Academy?

About 54.0% of students at Athena Career Academy are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Athena Career Academy?

The 150%-time completion rate is 52.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Athena Career Academy students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,120.

Is Athena Career Academy public or private?

Athena Career Academy is a private for-profit institution located in Toledo, OH.

Is Athena Career Academy an HBCU?

No. Athena Career Academy is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Athena Career Academy a tribal college?

No. Athena Career Academy is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Athena Career Academy a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Athena Career Academy does not meet that proxy (reported share 3.1%).

Is Athena Career Academy religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Athena Career Academy in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.