Active Report Report ID: EDU-203960-2026

Mercy College of Ohio

Toledo, OH 43604-1132

Acceptance rate93.22%Broad access
Tuition$19,702Published sticker
Avg. net price$15,273After aid
Graduation rate48.39%150% time
Median salary$70,30610yr post-entry

About Mercy College of Ohio

Mercy College of Ohio is a private research university in Toledo, Ohio, enrolling about 939 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 93.22% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $70,306 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Mercy College of Ohio charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($19,702).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is 29% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 48.39%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $70,306.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Mercy College of Ohio is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1051% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Mercy College of Ohio$19,702$15,2731
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Ohio (state median)$15,312$10,728154
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 22% below published tuition at Mercy College of Ohio

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Mercy College of Ohio's average net price ($15,273) is 22% below published tuition ($19,702).
  • Mercy College of Ohio charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($19,702).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is 29% above.
Published sticker

Mercy College of Ohio tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $19,702

Finding Mercy College of Ohio charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $19,702. That is 35% below the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Ohio median ($15,312), sticker tuition is 29% above. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 61% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Mercy College of Ohio versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Mercy College of Ohio versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Mercy College of Ohio is $15,273.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,273 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,545 above the Ohio median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $5,386 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Mercy College of Ohio’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 22% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Mercy College of Ohio: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Mercy College of Ohio—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$19,702

Avg. net price

$15,273

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$17,219
$30,001–$48,000$10,768
$48,001–$75,000$14,707
$75,001–$110,000$17,831
$110,001+$14,378

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $78,808. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention86.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$64,296Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 43% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 947
  • Midpoint ACT: 19

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Mercy College of Ohio a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Mercy College of Ohio is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Mercy College of Ohio.

Campus

Location

Toledo, OH

City / state

ZIP
43604-1132
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 26% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools

Size

Enrollment

939

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
1,353
Graduate
112
Full-time share
26%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,615

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
41.77%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$61,092Estimated 4-year total cost
$15,273Average annual net price (after aid)
$78,8084-year tuition
$9,818Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$3,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$32,520Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$130,080Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Mercy College of Ohio.

Financial Aid by Income Level

41.77% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
64.74% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Mercy College of Ohio was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Mercy College of Ohio in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$11,430$11,430$19,434
2014$12,000$12,000$20,107
2015$12,530$12,530$20,392
2016$13,430$13,430$19,820
2017$14,710$14,710$20,392
2018$15,240$15,240$23,736
2019$15,900$15,900$23,301
2020$18,950$18,950$20,409
2021$18,950$18,950$24,068
2022$18,950$18,950$14,564
2023$18,950$18,950$15,709

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

93.22%Acceptance rate
283Total applicants
121Students admitted
52First-time students enrolled
42.98%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

947SAT average
19ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Mercy College of Ohio reported total enrollment of about 939 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 13% male and 87% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (67.6%), Black or African American (17.2%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.8%). About 41.77% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

26.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Mercy College of Ohio in 2024 is 939 students.

Over a full year, about 1,353 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 112 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

86.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

67.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian67.6%
  • Black or African American17.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.8%
  • Two or More Races3.7%
  • Asian1.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

17.65% 100% Completion Time

48.39% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 17.65% of students graduating from Mercy College of Ohio completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 11% male / 89% female
  • Health/Health Care Administration/Management: 17% male / 83% female
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other: 19% male / 81% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

382White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian382
  • Black or African American56
  • Hispanic or Latino40
  • Two or More Races18
  • Asian12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Mercy College of Ohio graduates earn a median of $70,306 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Mercy College of Ohio.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $70,306. Median federal loan debt: $20,615. Average net price used in cost models: $15,273.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Mercy College of Ohio graduates report median earnings of $70,306 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,051%Modeled return on investment
$20,615Median student debt
$70,306Median annual earnings (10 years)
29.32%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Mercy College of Ohio.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (17 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other 47
  2. Health Professions and Related Programs 35
  3. 05.1092 6

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Mercy College of Ohio.

Employment Outcomes

$70,306Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$73,826Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$64,296Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$67,589Median earnings (8 years after entry)
94.50%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Mercy College of Ohio graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Mercy College of Ohio—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$27.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $31.7M

Year change: -$4M

  • Ohio median 1.1× the median ($24.2M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.87× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median near the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $28,137

  • Ohio median 1.8× the median ($15,287)
  • Great Lakes median 1.7× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 46.3%
    • Ohio median 8.6 pp below median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 11.8 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 11.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,613
    • Ohio median near the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 0.95× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $11,187
    • Ohio median 1.5× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 1.5× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Mercy College of Ohio at a glance

Institution snapshot

Mercy College of Ohio

Toledo, OH 43604-1132 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Mercy College of Ohio is a private non-profit institution in Toledo, OH, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.

Tuition$19,702
Avg. net price$15,273
Enrollment939
Acceptance rate93.22%
Completion (150%)48.39%
Average SAT947
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseHealth/Health Care Administration/ManagementAllied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian67.6%
Black or African American17.2%
Hispanic or Latino9.8%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Mercy College of Ohio

Other campuses in Toledo, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Mercy College of Ohio located?

Mercy College of Ohio is located in Toledo, OH.

What is Mercy College of Ohio's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Mercy College of Ohio is 93.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 283 applicants and 121 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Mercy College of Ohio's tuition?

Mercy College of Ohio tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $19,702 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,273 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Mercy College of Ohio cost?

Reported tuition is $19,702 and average net price is $15,273 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,818 annually.

Why is Mercy College of Ohio's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Mercy College of Ohio, published tuition is $19,702 while average net price is $15,273—about 22% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Mercy College of Ohio's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,273), completion (48.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($70,306). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Mercy College of Ohio?

Mercy College of Ohio reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,353 students, White (67.6%), Black or African American (17.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Mercy College of Ohio?

About 49.3% of students at Mercy College of Ohio are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Mercy College of Ohio?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Mercy College of Ohio reports midpoint SAT about 947 and midpoint ACT about 19.

What do graduates of Mercy College of Ohio earn?

Median earnings are $64,296 six years after entry and $70,306 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Mercy College of Ohio?

The 150%-time completion rate is 48.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Mercy College of Ohio students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,615.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.