Augustana College
Rock Island, IL 61201-2296
About Augustana College
Augustana College is a private research university in Rock Island, Illinois, enrolling about 2,490 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 62.68% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $62,971 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Augustana College charges about 1.8× the national private non-profit median tuition ($51,598).
- Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 3.9×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 72.86%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $62,971.
Research findings
Finding
Average net price at Augustana College is about 56% below published tuition.
Published tuition is $51,598; average net price is $22,736 in the latest Scorecard extract.
Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.
Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Augustana College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 592% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Augustana College awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 69 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Augustana College | $51,598 | $22,736 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Illinois (state median) | $13,248 | $7,399 | 131 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 56% below published tuition at Augustana College
Key findings
- Augustana College's average net price ($22,736) is 56% below published tuition ($51,598).
- Augustana College charges about 1.8× the national private non-profit median tuition ($51,598).
- Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 3.9×.
Augustana College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $51,598
Finding Augustana College charges about 1.8× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $51,598. That is about 1.8× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is about 3.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.3×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Augustana College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Augustana College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Augustana College is $22,736.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,736 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,337 above the Illinois median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,765 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Augustana College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 56% lower after grants and scholarships.
Augustana College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Augustana College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$51,598
Avg. net price
$22,736
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $15,787 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $16,525 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,865 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $22,405 |
| $110,001+ | $28,086 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $206,392. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Augustana College is known for
Top program completions
- Psychology, General64
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General63
- Accounting41
- Business Administration and Management, General38
- Finance, General33
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1165
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Augustana College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Augustana College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 56% lower in this extract).
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Augustana College.
Campus
Location
Rock Island, IL
City / state
- ZIP
- 61201-2296
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 52% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields
Size
Enrollment
2,490
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,618
- Graduate
- 48
- Full-time share
- 99%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$27,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 24.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Augustana College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Augustana College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Augustana College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $35,835 | $35,835 | $22,969 |
| 2014 | $37,236 | $37,236 | $23,736 |
| 2015 | $38,466 | $38,466 | $22,009 |
| 2016 | $39,621 | $39,621 | $23,517 |
| 2017 | $40,908 | $40,908 | $24,745 |
| 2018 | $42,135 | $42,135 | $23,310 |
| 2019 | $43,610 | $43,610 | $23,874 |
| 2020 | $45,136 | $45,136 | $23,489 |
| 2021 | $46,189 | $46,189 | $23,538 |
| 2022 | $47,916 | $47,916 | $11,780 |
| 2023 | $49,834 | $49,834 | $23,127 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1165 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Augustana College reported total enrollment of about 2,490 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (54.0%), Non-Resident Alien (20.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (12.9%). About 24.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 22.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
99.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Augustana College in 2024 is 2,490 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,618 students. Graduate enrollment is about 48 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
82.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
66.83% 100% Completion Time
72.86% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 66.83% of students graduating from Augustana College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Psychology, General: 30% male / 70% female
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 32% male / 68% female
- Accounting: 66% male / 34% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Augustana College graduates earn a median of $62,971 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Augustana College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $62,971. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $22,736.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Augustana College graduates report median earnings of $62,971 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Augustana College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (69 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Augustana College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Augustana College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Augustana College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$208M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Illinois median 7.3× the median ($28.5M)
- Great Lakes median 6.5× the median ($31.8M)
- U.S. median 7.9× the median ($26.4M)
- Illinois median 5.5× the median ($15,173)
- Great Lakes median 5.0× the median ($16,690)
- U.S. median 6.8× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 78.0%
- Illinois median 27.2 pp above median (50.8%)
- Great Lakes median 20.0 pp above median (58.1%)
- U.S. median 20.1 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,300
- Illinois median near the median ($8,563)
- Great Lakes median near the median ($8,046)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $11,113
- Illinois median 1.5× the median ($7,575)
- Great Lakes median 1.4× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Augustana College at a glance
Augustana College
Augustana College is a private non-profit institution in Rock Island, IL, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Psychology, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralAccounting
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian54.0%Non-Resident Alien20.0%Hispanic or Latino12.9%
Schools near Augustana College
Other campuses in Rock Island, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Augustana College located?
Augustana College is located in Rock Island, IL.
What is Augustana College's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Augustana College is 62.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 7,424 applicants and 5,022 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Augustana College's tuition?
Augustana College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $51,598 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,736 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Augustana College cost?
Reported tuition is $51,598 and average net price is $22,736 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,502 annually.
Why is Augustana College's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Augustana College, published tuition is $51,598 while average net price is $22,736—about 56% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Augustana College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,736), completion (72.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($62,971). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Augustana College?
Augustana College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,618 students, White (54.0%), Non-Resident Alien (20.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Augustana College?
About 22.2% of students at Augustana College are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Augustana College?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Augustana College reports midpoint SAT about 1165.
What do graduates of Augustana College earn?
Median earnings are $49,849 six years after entry and $62,971 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Augustana College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 72.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Augustana College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.