Caribbean University-Carolina
Carolina, PR 00985
About Caribbean University-Carolina
Caribbean University-Carolina is a private research university in Carolina, Puerto Rico, enrolling about 99 students. Caribbean University-Carolina awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $8,844 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $22,842 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Caribbean University-Carolina charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,844).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
- Average net price runs below the Puerto Rico median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 44.44%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $22,842.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Caribbean University-Carolina is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 886% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caribbean University-Carolina | $8,844 | $5,791 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Puerto Rico (state median) | $8,562 | $8,830 | 104 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 35% below published tuition at Caribbean University-Carolina
Key findings
- Caribbean University-Carolina's average net price ($5,791) is 35% below published tuition ($8,844).
- Caribbean University-Carolina charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,844).
- Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
- Average net price runs below the Puerto Rico median net price.
Caribbean University-Carolina tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,844
Finding Caribbean University-Carolina charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,844. That is about 0.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Puerto Rico median ($8,562), sticker tuition is 3% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 26% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Caribbean University-Carolina versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Caribbean University-Carolina versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Caribbean University-Carolina is $5,791.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,791 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,038 below the Puerto Rico median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,909 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Caribbean University-Carolina’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 35% lower after grants and scholarships.
Caribbean University-Carolina: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Caribbean University-Carolina—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$8,844
Avg. net price
$5,791
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $30,001–$48,000 | $5,791 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $35,376. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Caribbean University-Carolina is known for
Top program completions
- Social Work5
- Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other4
- Criminal Justice/Police Science3
- Special Education and Teaching, General2
- Curriculum and Instruction1
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Caribbean University-Carolina a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Caribbean University-Carolina is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Caribbean University-Carolina.
Campus
Location
Carolina, PR
City / state
- ZIP
- 00985
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Outlying Areas
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
99
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 186
- Graduate
- 15
- Full-time share
- 67%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$10,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 67.72%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Caribbean University-Carolina.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Caribbean University-Carolina was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Caribbean University-Carolina in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $4,850 | $4,850 | $3,233 |
| 2014 | $4,970 | $4,970 | $3,348 |
| 2015 | $5,080 | $5,080 | $3,033 |
| 2016 | $5,182 | $5,182 | $3,684 |
| 2017 | $5,264 | $5,264 | $4,378 |
| 2018 | $5,424 | $5,424 | $2,854 |
| 2019 | $5,542 | $5,542 | $2,948 |
| 2020 | $5,496 | $5,496 | $2,970 |
| 2021 | $5,497 | $5,497 | $2,649 |
| 2022 | $5,952 | $5,952 | $5,867 |
| 2023 | $5,966 | $5,966 | $7,635 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Caribbean University-Carolina reported total enrollment of about 99 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 67.72% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
66.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Caribbean University-Carolina in 2024 is 99 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 186 students. Graduate enrollment is about 15 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
71.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
11.11% 100% Completion Time
44.44% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 11.11% of students graduating from Caribbean University-Carolina completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Social Work: 0% male / 100% female
- Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other: 0% male / 100% female
- Criminal Justice/Police Science: 33% male / 67% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Caribbean University-Carolina graduates earn a median of $22,842 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Caribbean University-Carolina.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $22,842. Median federal loan debt: $10,500. Average net price used in cost models: $5,791.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Caribbean University-Carolina graduates report median earnings of $22,842 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Caribbean University-Carolina.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 9 programs by IPEDS completions (10 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Caribbean University-Carolina.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Caribbean University-Carolina graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Caribbean University-Carolina—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$17,377
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Puerto Rico median 0.01× the median ($1.6M)
- Outlying Areas median 0.01× the median ($2.6M)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($26.4M)
- Puerto Rico median 0.06× the median ($2,336)
- Outlying Areas median 0.04× the median ($3,664)
- U.S. median 0.01× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $2,100
- Puerto Rico median 0.51× the median ($4,084)
- Outlying Areas median 0.51× the median ($4,084)
- U.S. median 0.28× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,849
- Puerto Rico median 0.82× the median ($3,469)
- Outlying Areas median 0.81× the median ($3,501)
- U.S. median 0.39× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Caribbean University-Carolina at a glance
Caribbean University-Carolina
Caribbean University-Carolina is a private non-profit institution in Carolina, PR, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Social WorkPractical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, OtherCriminal Justice/Police Science
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino100.0%White or Caucasian0.0%Black or African American0.0%
Schools near Caribbean University-Carolina
Other campuses in Carolina, PR when available, plus nearby institutions in Puerto Rico.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Puerto Rico, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Caribbean University-Carolina located?
Caribbean University-Carolina is located in Carolina, PR.
What is Caribbean University-Carolina's tuition?
Caribbean University-Carolina tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,844 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,791 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Caribbean University-Carolina cost?
Reported tuition is $8,844 and average net price is $5,791 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,250 annually.
Why is Caribbean University-Carolina's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Caribbean University-Carolina, published tuition is $8,844 while average net price is $5,791—about 35% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Caribbean University-Carolina's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,791), completion (44.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($22,842). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Caribbean University-Carolina?
Caribbean University-Carolina reports undergraduate enrollment of about 186 students, Hispanic or Latino (100.0%), White (0.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Caribbean University-Carolina?
About 49.9% of students at Caribbean University-Carolina are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Caribbean University-Carolina earn?
Median earnings are $18,349 six years after entry and $22,842 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Caribbean University-Carolina?
The 150%-time completion rate is 44.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Caribbean University-Carolina students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $10,500.
Is Caribbean University-Carolina public or private?
Caribbean University-Carolina is a private nonprofit institution located in Carolina, PR.
Is Caribbean University-Carolina an HBCU?
No. Caribbean University-Carolina is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.