Active Report Report ID: EDU-243142-2026

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

Carolina, PR 00984-4800

Acceptance rate54.54%Selective
Tuition$7,986Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,945After aid
Graduation rate37.27%150% time
Median salary$30,62610yr post-entry

About University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is a public four-year university in Carolina, Puerto Rico, enrolling about 2,404 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 54.54% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $30,626 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Puerto Rico-Carolina charges 45% above the national public median tuition ($7,986).
  • Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 7% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 37.27%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $30,626.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 491% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina$7,986$12,9451
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Puerto Rico (state median)$8,562$8,830104
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Puerto Rico-Carolina charges 45% above the national public median tuition ($7,986).
  • Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 7% below.
Published sticker

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,986

Finding University of Puerto Rico-Carolina charges 45% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,986. That is 45% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Puerto Rico median ($8,562), sticker tuition is 7% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 33% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is $12,945.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,945 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,116 above the Puerto Rico median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $5,755 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Puerto Rico-Carolina, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$7,986

Avg. net price

$12,945

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$12,287
$30,001–$48,000$13,001
$48,001–$75,000$15,267
$75,001–$110,000$16,900
$110,001+$18,229

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $31,944. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention71.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$22,317Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 76% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 932

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina.

Campus

Location

Carolina, PR

City / state

ZIP
00984-4800
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 31% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Outlying Areas
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

2,404

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,549
Full-time share
84%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$5,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
76.03%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$51,780Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,945Average annual net price (after aid)
$31,9444-year tuition
$11,613Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,793Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$22,392Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$89,568Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina.

Financial Aid by Income Level

76.03% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
3.42% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,026$6,058$6,681
2014$3,026$6,058$6,317
2015$3,056$6,088$7,087
2016$3,107$6,139$7,270
2017$3,158$6,190$7,743
2018$6,121$9,053$6,185
2019$6,292$8,743$8,778
2020$6,252$6,252$7,914
2021$7,410$7,410$10,890
2022$7,986$7,986$13,292
2023$7,986$7,986$14,072

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

54.54%Acceptance rate
1,779Total applicants
938Students admitted
712First-time students enrolled
75.91%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

932SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina reported total enrollment of about 2,404 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (96.3%), Black or African American (2.9%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (0.7%). About 76.03% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 18.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

84.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina in 2024 is 2,404 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,549 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

71.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

96.3%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino96.3%
  • Black or African American2.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
  • White or Caucasian0.1%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

25.75% 100% Completion Time

37.27% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 25.75% of students graduating from University of Puerto Rico-Carolina completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Forensic Psychology: 27% male / 73% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 37% male / 63% female
  • Graphic and Printing Equipment Operator, General Production: 38% male / 62% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

327Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino327
  • Black or African American12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • White or Caucasian0
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina graduates earn a median of $30,626 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Puerto Rico-Carolina.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $30,626. Median federal loan debt: $5,500. Average net price used in cost models: $12,945.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Puerto Rico-Carolina graduates report median earnings of $30,626 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

491%Modeled return on investment
$5,500Median student debt
$30,626Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.96%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (17 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Automotive Engineering Technology/Technician 16
  2. Forensic Science and Technology 16

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina.

Employment Outcomes

$30,626Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$22,317Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$27,204Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.64%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 58.0%
    • Puerto Rico median 29.0 pp below median (87.0%)
    • Outlying Areas median 29.0 pp below median (87.0%)
    • U.S. median 0.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,539
    • Puerto Rico median 1.8× the median ($4,084)
    • Outlying Areas median 1.8× the median ($4,084)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,764
    • Puerto Rico median 1.7× the median ($3,469)
    • Outlying Areas median 1.6× the median ($3,501)
    • U.S. median 0.79× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

Carolina, PR 00984-4800 · Public · Outlying Areas

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is a public institution in Carolina, PR, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$7,986
Avg. net price$12,945
Enrollment2,404
Acceptance rate54.54%
Completion (150%)37.27%
Average SAT932
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Forensic PsychologyCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement AdministrationGraphic and Printing Equipment Operator, General Production
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino96.3%
Black or African American2.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

Other campuses in Carolina, PR when available, plus nearby institutions in Puerto Rico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Puerto Rico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina located?

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is located in Carolina, PR.

What is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is 54.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,779 applicants and 938 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's tuition?

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,986 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,945 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Puerto Rico-Carolina cost?

Reported tuition is $7,986 and average net price is $12,945 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,613 annually.

What explains University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,945), completion (37.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($30,626). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina?

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,549 students, Hispanic or Latino (96.3%), Black or African American (2.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Puerto Rico-Carolina?

About 18.4% of students at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Puerto Rico-Carolina reports midpoint SAT about 932.

What do graduates of University of Puerto Rico-Carolina earn?

Median earnings are $22,317 six years after entry and $30,626 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Puerto Rico-Carolina?

The 150%-time completion rate is 37.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Puerto Rico-Carolina students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $5,500.

Is University of Puerto Rico-Carolina public or private?

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is a public institution located in Carolina, PR.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.