Active Report Report ID: EDU-161077-2026

Central Maine Community College

Auburn, ME 04210-6436

Tuition$4,140Published sticker
Avg. net price$6,975After aid
Graduation rate30.31%150% time
Median salary$42,44810yr post-entry
ROI1,421%10yr vs net cost

About Central Maine Community College

Central Maine Community College is a public community college in Auburn, Maine, serving roughly 2,952 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $6,975 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,140. Student demographics in federal data include White (75.4%) and Black or African American (10.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Central Maine Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,140).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 30.31%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,448.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Central Maine Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1421% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Central Maine Community College$4,140$6,9751
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Maine (state median)$12,983$8,20528
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Central Maine Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Central Maine Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,140).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
Published sticker

Central Maine Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,140

Finding Central Maine Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,140. That is 25% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Central Maine Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Central Maine Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Central Maine Community College is $6,975.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $6,975 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,230 below the Maine median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,996 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Central Maine Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Central Maine Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Central Maine Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,140

Out-of-state tuition

$7,020

Avg. net price

$6,975

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,470
$30,001–$48,000$5,970
$48,001–$75,000$8,105
$75,001–$110,000$9,482
$110,001+$11,672

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $16,560. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention56.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$31,977Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Central Maine Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Central Maine Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Central Maine Community College.

Campus

Location

Auburn, ME

City / state

ZIP
04210-6436
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

2,952

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
5,703
Full-time share
57%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
35.43%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$27,900Estimated 4-year total cost
$6,975Average annual net price (after aid)
$16,5604-year in-state tuition
$28,0804-year out-of-state tuition
$10,977Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,517Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$66,068Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Central Maine Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.43% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
14.34% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Central Maine Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Central Maine Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,630$6,270$8,612
2014$3,750$6,450$8,966
2015$3,750$6,450$8,102
2016$3,540$6,300$8,929
2017$3,660$6,420$7,979
2018$3,720$6,540$9,943
2019$3,784$6,604$7,029
2020$3,844$6,724$10,316
2021$3,864$6,744$9,235
2022$3,760$6,640$6,047
2023$3,864$6,744$7,489

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Central Maine Community College reported total enrollment of about 2,952 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (75.4%), Black or African American (10.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (3.4%). About 35.43% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

57.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Central Maine Community College in 2024 is 2,952 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,703 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

56.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

75.4%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian75.4%
  • Black or African American10.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.4%
  • Two or More Races2.8%
  • Asian1.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

17.90% 100% Completion Time

30.31% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 17.90% of students graduating from Central Maine Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 47% male / 53% female
  • Public Administration and Social Service: 19% male / 81% female
  • General Studies: 31% male / 69% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

364White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian364
  • Black or African American28
  • Hispanic or Latino13
  • Two or More Races11
  • Asian3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Central Maine Community College graduates earn a median of $42,448 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Central Maine Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,448. Median federal loan debt: $12,000. Average net price used in cost models: $6,975.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Central Maine Community College graduates report median earnings of $42,448 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,421%Modeled return on investment
$12,000Median student debt
$42,448Median annual earnings (10 years)
28.27%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Central Maine Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (32 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Public Administration and Social Service 47
  2. Electromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/Technician 24
  3. Accounting 16

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Central Maine Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$42,448Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,977Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$39,911Median earnings (8 years after entry)
12.55%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Central Maine Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Central Maine Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.4M

Year change: -$68,310

  • Maine median 0.09× the median ($15.4M)
  • New England median 0.03× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 0.05× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $727

  • Maine median 0.06× the median ($12,087)
  • New England median 0.03× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.06× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 28.2%
    • Maine median 24.9 pp below median (53.1%)
    • New England median 25.0 pp below median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 29.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,682
    • Maine median 0.88× the median ($7,625)
    • New England median 0.72× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 0.88× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,262
    • Maine median 0.65× the median ($9,650)
    • New England median 0.62× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 0.86× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Central Maine Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Central Maine Community College

Auburn, ME 04210-6436 · Public · New England

Central Maine Community College is a public institution in Auburn, ME, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$4,140
Avg. net price$6,975
Enrollment2,952
Completion (150%)30.31%
Pell Grant share35.43%
First-generation46.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralPublic Administration and Social ServiceGeneral Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian75.4%
Black or African American10.5%
Hispanic or Latino3.4%
Nearby

Schools near Central Maine Community College

Other campuses in Auburn, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Central Maine Community College located?

Central Maine Community College is located in Auburn, ME.

What is Central Maine Community College's tuition?

Central Maine Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,140 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $6,975 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Central Maine Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,140 and average net price is $6,975 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,977 annually.

What explains Central Maine Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($6,975), completion (30.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,448). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Central Maine Community College?

Central Maine Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,703 students, White (75.4%), Black or African American (10.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Central Maine Community College?

About 46.8% of students at Central Maine Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Central Maine Community College earn?

Median earnings are $31,977 six years after entry and $42,448 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Central Maine Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 30.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Central Maine Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,000.

Is Central Maine Community College public or private?

Central Maine Community College is a public institution located in Auburn, ME.

Is Central Maine Community College an HBCU?

No. Central Maine Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Central Maine Community College a tribal college?

No. Central Maine Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.