Active Report Report ID: EDU-161192-2026

Kennebec Valley Community College

Fairfield, ME 04937-1367

Tuition$4,156Published sticker
Avg. net price$3,910After aid
Graduation rate38.65%150% time
Median salary$36,03510yr post-entry
ROI2,204%10yr vs net cost

About Kennebec Valley Community College

Kennebec Valley Community College is a public community college in Fairfield, Maine, enrolling about 1,597 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,910 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,156. Student demographics in federal data include White (88.3%) and Two or More Races (3.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Kennebec Valley Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,156).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 38.65%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,035.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Kennebec Valley Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2204% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Kennebec Valley Community College$4,156$3,9101
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Maine (state median)$12,983$8,20528
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 6% below published tuition at Kennebec Valley Community College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Kennebec Valley Community College's average net price ($3,910) is 6% below published tuition ($4,156).
  • Kennebec Valley Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,156).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Maine median net price.
Published sticker

Kennebec Valley Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,156

Finding Kennebec Valley Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,156. That is 25% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Kennebec Valley Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Kennebec Valley Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Kennebec Valley Community College is $3,910.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,910 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,295 below the Maine median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $11,061 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Kennebec Valley Community College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 6% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Kennebec Valley Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Kennebec Valley Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,156

Out-of-state tuition

$7,036

Avg. net price

$3,910

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,361
$30,001–$48,000$3,863
$48,001–$75,000$4,146
$75,001–$110,000$6,145
$110,001+$9,291

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $16,624. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention64.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$44,404Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Kennebec Valley Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Kennebec Valley Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Kennebec Valley Community College.

Campus

Location

Fairfield, ME

City / state

ZIP
04937-1367
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,597

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,241
Full-time share
32%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,255

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.25%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$15,640Estimated 4-year total cost
$3,910Average annual net price (after aid)
$16,6244-year in-state tuition
$28,1444-year out-of-state tuition
$7,344Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$12,900Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$51,600Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Kennebec Valley Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.98% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Kennebec Valley Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Kennebec Valley Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,258$5,898$9,620
2014$3,345$6,045$8,805
2015$3,385$6,085$8,962
2016$3,790$6,550$7,320
2017$3,757$6,517$9,811
2018$3,817$6,637$9,094
2019$3,817$6,637$7,693
2020$3,882$6,762$5,724
2021$3,865$6,745$6,496
2022$3,687$6,567$8,162
2023$3,562$6,442$6,994

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Kennebec Valley Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,597 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (88.3%), Two or More Races (3.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (3.4%). About 31.25% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

32.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Kennebec Valley Community College in 2024 is 1,597 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,241 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

64.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

88.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian88.3%
  • Two or More Races3.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.4%
  • Black or African American1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.6%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

27.61% 100% Completion Time

38.65% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 27.61% of students graduating from Kennebec Valley Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Health Professions and Related Programs: 13% male / 87% female
  • Marketing/Marketing Management, General: 34% male / 66% female
  • Electrician: 97% male / 3% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

390White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian390
  • Two or More Races15
  • Hispanic or Latino14
  • Black or African American3
  • Asian3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Kennebec Valley Community College graduates earn a median of $36,035 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Kennebec Valley Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,035. Median federal loan debt: $13,255. Average net price used in cost models: $3,910.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Kennebec Valley Community College graduates report median earnings of $36,035 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,204%Modeled return on investment
$13,255Median student debt
$36,035Median annual earnings (10 years)
36.78%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Kennebec Valley Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (29 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 38
  2. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 25
  3. Lineworker 23
  4. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions, Other 21

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Kennebec Valley Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$36,035Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$44,404Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$45,906Median earnings (8 years after entry)
8.76%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Kennebec Valley Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Kennebec Valley Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $4M

Year change: -$33,766

  • Maine median 0.26× the median ($15.4M)
  • New England median 0.09× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 0.15× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $3,537

  • Maine median 0.29× the median ($12,087)
  • New England median 0.15× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.29× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 39.7%
    • Maine median 13.4 pp below median (53.1%)
    • New England median 13.6 pp below median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 18.3 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,078
    • Maine median 0.93× the median ($7,625)
    • New England median 0.76× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 0.93× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,978
    • Maine median 0.83× the median ($9,650)
    • New England median 0.78× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Kennebec Valley Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Kennebec Valley Community College

Fairfield, ME 04937-1367 · Public · New England

Kennebec Valley Community College is a public institution in Fairfield, ME, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$4,156
Avg. net price$3,910
Enrollment1,597
Completion (150%)38.65%
Pell Grant share31.25%
First-generation49.5%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Health Professions and Related ProgramsMarketing/Marketing Management, GeneralElectrician
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian88.3%
Two or More Races3.6%
Hispanic or Latino3.4%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Kennebec Valley Community College

Other campuses in Fairfield, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Kennebec Valley Community College located?

Kennebec Valley Community College is located in Fairfield, ME.

What is Kennebec Valley Community College's tuition?

Kennebec Valley Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,156 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,910 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Kennebec Valley Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,156 and average net price is $3,910 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $7,344 annually.

Why is Kennebec Valley Community College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Kennebec Valley Community College, published tuition is $4,156 while average net price is $3,910—about 6% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Kennebec Valley Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,910), completion (38.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,035). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Kennebec Valley Community College?

Kennebec Valley Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,241 students, White (88.3%), Two or More Races (3.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Kennebec Valley Community College?

About 49.5% of students at Kennebec Valley Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Kennebec Valley Community College earn?

Median earnings are $44,404 six years after entry and $36,035 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Kennebec Valley Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 38.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Kennebec Valley Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,255.

Is Kennebec Valley Community College public or private?

Kennebec Valley Community College is a public institution located in Fairfield, ME.

Is Kennebec Valley Community College an HBCU?

No. Kennebec Valley Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.