Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Cheyney, PA 19319-0200
About Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is a public four-year university in Cheyney, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 617 students. Cheyney University of Pennsylvania awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $10,904 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $37,837 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Cheyney University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($10,904).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
- Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 40.59%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,837.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 563% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheyney University of Pennsylvania | $10,904 | $14,265 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Pennsylvania (state median) | $19,450 | $17,754 | 181 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania really?
Key findings
- Cheyney University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition ($10,904).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 0.6×.
- Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $10,904
Finding Cheyney University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.0× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $10,904. That is about 2.0× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is about 0.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 8% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is $14,265.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,265 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,488 below the Pennsylvania median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$10,904
Out-of-state tuition
$18,870
Avg. net price
$14,265
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $13,585 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $12,358 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $14,773 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $20,215 |
| $110,001+ | $16,493 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $43,616. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is known for
Top program completions
- Special Education and Teaching, General17
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching15
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General15
- Psychology, General14
- Business Administration and Management, General12
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.
Campus
Location
Cheyney, PA
City / state
- ZIP
- 19319-0200
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields
Size
Enrollment
617
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 638
- Full-time share
- 92%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$21,785
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 66.02%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $8,806 | $13,302 | $14,176 |
| 2014 | $9,090 | $13,744 | $14,493 |
| 2015 | $9,344 | $14,162 | $16,179 |
| 2016 | $11,356 | $17,452 | $12,247 |
| 2017 | $12,104 | $18,386 | $15,425 |
| 2018 | $10,533 | $15,799 | $15,411 |
| 2019 | $10,904 | $16,170 | $7,656 |
| 2020 | $10,904 | $16,170 | $12,781 |
| 2021 | $10,904 | $16,170 | $12,892 |
| 2022 | $10,904 | $18,870 | $12,532 |
| 2023 | $10,904 | $18,870 | $9,837 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania reported total enrollment of about 617 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 34% male and 66% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (87.8%), Hispanic or Latino (5.5%), and Two or More Races (4.4%). About 66.02% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 44.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
91.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania in 2024 is 617 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 638 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
68.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
31.68% 100% Completion Time
40.59% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 31.68% of students graduating from Cheyney University of Pennsylvania completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Special Education and Teaching, General: 6% male / 94% female
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 27% male / 73% female
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 27% male / 73% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania graduates earn a median of $37,837 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $37,837. Median federal loan debt: $21,785. Average net price used in cost models: $14,265.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Cheyney University of Pennsylvania graduates report median earnings of $37,837 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (13 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Cheyney University of Pennsylvania—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$1.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Pennsylvania median 0.04× the median ($47.9M)
- Mid East median 0.04× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 0.06× the median ($26.4M)
- Pennsylvania median 0.10× the median ($24,897)
- Mid East median 0.16× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.21× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 70.6%
- Pennsylvania median 7.5 pp above median (63.1%)
- Mid East median 13.7 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 12.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,536
- Pennsylvania median 1.3× the median ($8,003)
- Mid East median 1.3× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,769
- Pennsylvania median 1.3× the median ($8,615)
- Mid East median 1.2× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania at a glance
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is a public institution in Cheyney, PA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Special Education and Teaching, GeneralEarly Childhood Education & TeachingBiology/Biological Sciences, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American87.8%Hispanic or Latino5.5%Two or More Races4.4%
Schools near Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Other campuses in Cheyney, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania located?
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is located in Cheyney, PA.
What is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania's tuition?
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,904 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $14,265 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Cheyney University of Pennsylvania cost?
Reported tuition is $10,904 and average net price is $14,265 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,016 annually.
What explains Cheyney University of Pennsylvania's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($14,265), completion (40.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($37,837). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania?
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania reports undergraduate enrollment of about 638 students, Black or African American (87.8%), Hispanic or Latino (5.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Cheyney University of Pennsylvania?
About 44.7% of students at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Cheyney University of Pennsylvania earn?
Median earnings are $28,568 six years after entry and $37,837 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Cheyney University of Pennsylvania?
The 150%-time completion rate is 40.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Cheyney University of Pennsylvania students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,785.
Is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania public or private?
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is a public institution located in Cheyney, PA.
Is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania an HBCU?
Yes. Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is flagged as a historically Black college or university (HBCU) in IPEDS.
Is Cheyney University of Pennsylvania a tribal college?
No. Cheyney University of Pennsylvania is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.