Coastline Beauty College
Fountain Valley, CA 92708
About Coastline Beauty College
Coastline Beauty College is a private for-profit trade school in Fountain Valley, California, enrolling about 203 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 87.18% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $11,585 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $11,585.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled ROI at Coastline Beauty College looks modest.
Estimated ROI is about 32% using Scorecard cost and earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: Cost and earnings fields in the model do not show a large earnings premium relative to net cost at the campus average.
Limitation: Program mix and aid can change the picture; campus ROI is not a substitute for program-level earnings.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coastline Beauty College | — | $22,007 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Coastline Beauty College really?
Evidence: average net price at Coastline Beauty College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Coastline Beauty College is $22,007.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,007 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $13,664 above the California median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,036 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Coastline Beauty College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Coastline Beauty College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$22,007
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $21,989 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $21,589 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $22,372 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Coastline Beauty College is known for
Top program completions
- Real Estate Development101
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist45
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General41
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Coastline Beauty College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Coastline Beauty College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Coastline Beauty College.
Campus
Location
Fountain Valley, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 92708
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 47% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
Size
Enrollment
203
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 341
- Full-time share
- 85%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 53.52%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Coastline Beauty College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Coastline Beauty College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Coastline Beauty College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $16,660 |
| 2014 | — | — | $16,456 |
| 2015 | — | — | $17,445 |
| 2016 | — | — | $15,308 |
| 2017 | — | — | $15,912 |
| 2018 | — | — | $11,881 |
| 2019 | — | — | $11,461 |
| 2020 | — | — | $12,338 |
| 2021 | — | — | $12,387 |
| 2022 | — | — | $14,590 |
| 2023 | — | — | $14,231 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Coastline Beauty College reported total enrollment of about 203 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 7% male and 93% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (58.1%), Hispanic or Latino (24.6%), and White (10.3%). About 53.52% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 71.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
84.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Coastline Beauty College in 2024 is 203 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 341 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
95.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
17.95% 100% Completion Time
87.18% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 17.95% of students graduating from Coastline Beauty College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Real Estate Development: 20% male / 80% female
- Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 0% male / 100% female
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 12% male / 88% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Coastline Beauty College graduates earn a median of $11,585 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Coastline Beauty College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $11,585. Average net price used in cost models: $22,007.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Coastline Beauty College graduates report median earnings of $11,585 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Coastline Beauty College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Coastline Beauty College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Coastline Beauty College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Coastline Beauty College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,035
- California median 0.31× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 0.29× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.28× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Coastline Beauty College at a glance
Coastline Beauty College
Coastline Beauty College is a private for-profit institution in Fountain Valley, CA.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Real Estate DevelopmentAesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistCosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Asian58.1%Hispanic or Latino24.6%White or Caucasian10.3%
Schools near Coastline Beauty College
Other campuses in Fountain Valley, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Coastline Beauty College located?
Coastline Beauty College is located in Fountain Valley, CA.
How much does Coastline Beauty College cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $22,007 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains Coastline Beauty College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,007), completion (87.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($11,585). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Coastline Beauty College?
Coastline Beauty College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 341 students, Asian (58.1%), Hispanic or Latino (24.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Coastline Beauty College?
About 71.9% of students at Coastline Beauty College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Coastline Beauty College earn?
Median earnings are $9,113 six years after entry and $11,585 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Coastline Beauty College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 87.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Coastline Beauty College public or private?
Coastline Beauty College is a private for-profit institution located in Fountain Valley, CA.
Is Coastline Beauty College an HBCU?
No. Coastline Beauty College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Coastline Beauty College a tribal college?
No. Coastline Beauty College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Coastline Beauty College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Coastline Beauty College does not meet that proxy (reported share 24.6%).
Is Coastline Beauty College religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Coastline Beauty College in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- California trade schools profile
- Fountain Valley, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.