College of the Redwoods
Eureka, CA 95501-9300
About College of the Redwoods
College of the Redwoods is a public community college in Eureka, California, serving roughly 3,829 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $6,904 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,198. Student demographics in federal data include White (49.8%) and Hispanic or Latino (24.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- College of the Redwoods charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,198).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
- Average net price runs below the California median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 33.94%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,243.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at College of the Redwoods is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1212% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of the Redwoods | $1,198 | $6,904 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is College of the Redwoods really?
Key findings
- College of the Redwoods charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,198).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
- Average net price runs below the California median net price.
College of the Redwoods tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $1,198
Finding College of the Redwoods charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $1,198. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at College of the Redwoods versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at College of the Redwoods versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at College of the Redwoods is $6,904.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $6,904 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,439 below the California median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At College of the Redwoods, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
College of the Redwoods: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for College of the Redwoods—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$1,198
Out-of-state tuition
$8,854
Avg. net price
$6,904
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $5,940 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $6,486 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $8,836 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $11,967 |
| $110,001+ | $13,192 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $4,792. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What College of the Redwoods is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies222
- Biological and Physical Sciences172
- Humanities/Humanistic Studies158
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse59
- Business/Commerce, General43
See earnings & programs for more.
Is College of the Redwoods a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
College of the Redwoods is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for College of the Redwoods.
Campus
Location
Eureka, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 95501-9300
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional
Size
Enrollment
3,829
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 6,799
- Full-time share
- 40%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$8,080
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 37.75%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for College of the Redwoods.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at College of the Redwoods was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for College of the Redwoods in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1,140 | $1,140 | $4,547 |
| 2014 | $1,182 | $6,846 | $4,991 |
| 2015 | $1,142 | $6,086 | $5,444 |
| 2016 | $1,142 | $6,230 | $4,066 |
| 2017 | $1,182 | $6,822 | $5,768 |
| 2018 | $1,182 | $6,822 | $4,266 |
| 2019 | $1,182 | $6,822 | $4,773 |
| 2020 | $1,147 | $8,131 | $4,440 |
| 2021 | $1,147 | $8,539 | $4,534 |
| 2022 | $1,147 | $8,539 | $4,711 |
| 2023 | $1,147 | $7,783 | $3,214 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
College of the Redwoods reported total enrollment of about 3,829 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 46% male and 54% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (49.8%), Hispanic or Latino (24.0%), and Two or More Races (9.9%). About 37.75% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
39.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at College of the Redwoods in 2024 is 3,829 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 6,799 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
56.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
10.86% 100% Completion Time
33.94% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 10.86% of students graduating from College of the Redwoods completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 49% male / 51% female
- Biological and Physical Sciences: 41% male / 59% female
- Humanities/Humanistic Studies: 44% male / 56% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
College of the Redwoods graduates earn a median of $36,243 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of College of the Redwoods.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,243. Median federal loan debt: $8,080. Average net price used in cost models: $6,904.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway College of the Redwoods graduates report median earnings of $36,243 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for College of the Redwoods.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (46 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at College of the Redwoods.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for College of the Redwoods graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for College of the Redwoods—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$3.4M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 0.17× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 0.20× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 0.13× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 0.19× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 0.19× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 0.12× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 38.6%
- California median 0.8 pp below median (39.3%)
- Far West median 7.1 pp below median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 19.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,402
- California median 1.1× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,665
- California median 1.5× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 1.4× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
College of the Redwoods at a glance
College of the Redwoods
College of the Redwoods is a public institution in Eureka, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBiological and Physical SciencesHumanities/Humanistic Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian49.8%Hispanic or Latino24.0%Two or More Races9.9%
Schools near College of the Redwoods
Other campuses in Eureka, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is College of the Redwoods located?
College of the Redwoods is located in Eureka, CA.
What is College of the Redwoods's tuition?
College of the Redwoods tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,198 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $6,904 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does College of the Redwoods cost?
Reported tuition is $1,198 and average net price is $6,904 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,117 annually.
What explains College of the Redwoods's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($6,904), completion (33.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,243). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at College of the Redwoods?
College of the Redwoods reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,799 students, White (49.8%), Hispanic or Latino (24.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend College of the Redwoods?
About 46.9% of students at College of the Redwoods are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of College of the Redwoods earn?
Median earnings are $31,896 six years after entry and $36,243 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at College of the Redwoods?
The 150%-time completion rate is 33.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do College of the Redwoods students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,080.
Is College of the Redwoods public or private?
College of the Redwoods is a public institution located in Eureka, CA.
Is College of the Redwoods an HBCU?
No. College of the Redwoods is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is College of the Redwoods a tribal college?
No. College of the Redwoods is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.