Active Report Report ID: EDU-17706532-2026

Columbia College - San Diego

San Diego, CA 921405290

Tuition$8,256Published sticker
Median salary$45,37810yr post-entry

About Columbia College - San Diego

Columbia College - San Diego is a private university in San Diego, California. Columbia College - San Diego awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $8,256 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $45,378 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $45,378.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Columbia College - San Diego$8,2561
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Columbia College - San Diego really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Columbia College - San Diego charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,256).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
Published sticker

Columbia College - San Diego tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,256

Finding Columbia College - San Diego charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,256. That is about 0.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 2% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 31% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Columbia College - San Diego versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

School guide

Columbia College - San Diego: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Columbia College - San Diego—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$8,256

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $33,024. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$40,747Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Columbia College - San Diego a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Columbia College - San Diego is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Columbia College - San Diego.

Campus

Location

San Diego, CA

City / state

ZIP
921405290

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Far West

Student aid

Debt & aid

$23,879

Median federal loan debt

Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$33,0244-year tuition

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Columbia College - San Diego.

Financial Aid by Income Level

0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Columbia College - San Diego was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Columbia College - San Diego in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20162023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2016$5,280
2017$6,840
2018$8,400
2019$8,112
2020$8,112$8,112
2021$8,832$8,832
2022$8,496$8,496
2023$8,304$8,304

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Roughly 48.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

N/A% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Columbia College - San Diego in 2024 is N/A students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Columbia College - San Diego completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Outcomes & academic profile

Columbia College - San Diego graduates earn a median of $45,378 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Columbia College - San Diego.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $45,378. Median federal loan debt: $23,879.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Columbia College - San Diego graduates report median earnings of $45,378 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$45,378Median annual earnings (10 years)
$23,879Median student debt
52.62%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Columbia College - San Diego.

Program completion data is not available for this institution.

Employment Outcomes

$45,378Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$40,747Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,679Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.73%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Columbia College - San Diego graduates.

Columbia College - San Diego at a glance

Institution snapshot

Columbia College - San Diego

San Diego, CA 921405290 · Private Non-profit · Far West

Columbia College - San Diego is a private non-profit institution in San Diego, CA.

Tuition$8,256
First-generation48.6%
Nearby

Schools near Columbia College - San Diego

Other campuses in San Diego, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Columbia College - San Diego located?

Columbia College - San Diego is located in San Diego, CA.

What is Columbia College - San Diego's tuition?

Columbia College - San Diego tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,256 in the latest College Scorecard data.

How much does Columbia College - San Diego cost?

Reported tuition is $8,256 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Columbia College - San Diego?

About 48.6% of students at Columbia College - San Diego are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Columbia College - San Diego earn?

Median earnings are $40,747 six years after entry and $45,378 ten years after entry.

How much debt do Columbia College - San Diego students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,879.

Is Columbia College - San Diego public or private?

Columbia College - San Diego is a private nonprofit institution located in San Diego, CA.

Is Columbia College - San Diego an HBCU?

No. Columbia College - San Diego is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Columbia College - San Diego a tribal college?

No. Columbia College - San Diego is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Columbia College - San Diego religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Columbia College - San Diego in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.