Active Report Report ID: EDU-235024-2026

Cornish College of the Arts

Seattle, WA 98121

Acceptance rate62.21%Broad access
Tuition$41,684Published sticker
Avg. net price$40,062After aid
Graduation rate56.43%150% time
Median salary$33,69610yr post-entry

About Cornish College of the Arts

Cornish College of the Arts is a private university in Seattle, Washington, enrolling about 488 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 62.21% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $33,696 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Cornish College of the Arts charges 38% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($41,684).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 4.7×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 56.43%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $33,696.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Cornish College of the Arts$41,684$40,0621
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Washington (state median)$8,850$18,34671
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6721,348
United States (national median)$12,200$17,573—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 4% below published tuition at Cornish College of the Arts

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Cornish College of the Arts's average net price ($40,062) is 4% below published tuition ($41,684).
  • Cornish College of the Arts charges 38% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($41,684).
  • Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 4.7×.
Published sticker

Cornish College of the Arts tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $41,684

Finding Cornish College of the Arts charges 38% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $41,684. That is 38% above the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Washington median ($8,850), sticker tuition is about 4.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 3.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Cornish College of the Arts versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Cornish College of the Arts versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Cornish College of the Arts is $40,062.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $40,062 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $21,716 above the Washington median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $19,390 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Cornish College of the Arts’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 4% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Cornish College of the Arts: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Cornish College of the Arts—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$41,684

Avg. net price

$40,062

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$31,806
$30,001–$48,000$32,992
$48,001–$75,000$34,781
$75,001–$110,000$42,906
$110,001+$47,206

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $166,736. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention69.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$27,580Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 21% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Cornish College of the Arts a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Cornish College of the Arts is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Cornish College of the Arts.

Campus

Location

Seattle, WA

City / state

ZIP
98121
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 1.9× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,672 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Arts, Music, and Design Schools

Size

Enrollment

488

Total enrollment

Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
29.88%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$160,248Estimated 4-year total cost
$40,062Average annual net price (after aid)
$166,7364-year tuition

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Cornish College of the Arts.

Financial Aid by Income Level

29.88% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
58.96% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Cornish College of the Arts was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Cornish College of the Arts in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$33,950$33,950$33,177
2014$35,800$35,800$32,474
2015$37,240$37,240$35,118
2016$38,820$38,820$33,559
2017$40,464$40,464$36,408
2018$41,642$41,642$34,448
2019$33,360$33,360$39,078
2020$34,200$34,200$38,851
2021$35,486$35,486$37,135
2022$36,844$36,844$38,416
2023$39,913$39,913$39,060

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

62.21%Acceptance rate
1,097Total applicants
773Students admitted
163First-time students enrolled
21.09%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Cornish College of the Arts reported total enrollment of about 488 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (59.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (12.7%), and Two or More Races (9.6%). About 29.88% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 22.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

94.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Cornish College of the Arts in 2024 is 488 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

69.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

59.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian59.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown12.7%
  • Two or More Races9.6%
  • Black or African American5.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.5%
  • Asian4.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

45.00% 100% Completion Time

56.43% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 45.00% of students graduating from Cornish College of the Arts completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Design and Visual Communications, General: 31% male / 69% female
  • Dance, General: 0% male / 100% female
  • 05.0041: 42% male / 58% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

51White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian51
  • Two or More Races8
  • Black or African American4
  • Hispanic or Latino3
  • Asian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Cornish College of the Arts graduates earn a median of $33,696 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Cornish College of the Arts.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $33,696. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $40,062.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Cornish College of the Arts graduates report median earnings of $33,696 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

110%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$33,696Median annual earnings (10 years)
80.13%Debt-to-earnings ratio
8.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Cornish College of the Arts.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (13 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Dance, General 12
  2. 05.0041 12

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Cornish College of the Arts.

Employment Outcomes

$33,696Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$27,580Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$31,152Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.34%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Cornish College of the Arts graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Cornish College of the Arts—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$11.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $10.8M

Year change: $375,405

  • Washington median 0.94× the median ($11.9M)
  • Far West median 0.66× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.42× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $28,412

  • Washington median 6.3× the median ($4,513)
  • Far West median 3.9× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 38.4%
    • Washington median 56.5 pp below median (94.9%)
    • Far West median 7.3 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 19.6 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,957
    • Washington median 0.62× the median ($9,588)
    • Far West median 0.62× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $28,682
    • Washington median 3.3× the median ($8,580)
    • Far West median 4.1× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 3.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Cornish College of the Arts at a glance

Institution snapshot

Cornish College of the Arts

Seattle, WA 98121 · Private Non-profit · Far West

Cornish College of the Arts is a private non-profit institution in Seattle, WA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Arts, Music, and Design Schools.

Tuition$41,684
Avg. net price$40,062
Enrollment488
Acceptance rate62.21%
Completion (150%)56.43%
Pell Grant share29.88%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Design and Visual Communications, GeneralDance, General05.0041
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian59.0%
Race/ethnicity unknown12.7%
Two or More Races9.6%
Nearby

Schools near Cornish College of the Arts

Other campuses in Seattle, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Cornish College of the Arts located?

Cornish College of the Arts is located in Seattle, WA.

What is Cornish College of the Arts's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Cornish College of the Arts is 62.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,097 applicants and 773 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Cornish College of the Arts's tuition?

Cornish College of the Arts tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $41,684 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $40,062 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Cornish College of the Arts cost?

Reported tuition is $41,684 and average net price is $40,062 in the latest College Scorecard data.

Why is Cornish College of the Arts's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Cornish College of the Arts, published tuition is $41,684 while average net price is $40,062—about 4% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Cornish College of the Arts's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($40,062), completion (56.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($33,696). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Cornish College of the Arts?

Cornish College of the Arts reports total enrollment of about 488 students, White (59.0%), Race/ethnicity unknown (12.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Cornish College of the Arts?

About 22.6% of students at Cornish College of the Arts are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Cornish College of the Arts earn?

Median earnings are $27,580 six years after entry and $33,696 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Cornish College of the Arts?

The 150%-time completion rate is 56.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Cornish College of the Arts students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Is Cornish College of the Arts public or private?

Cornish College of the Arts is a private nonprofit institution located in Seattle, WA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.