CUNY Graduate School and University Center
New York, NY 10016
About CUNY Graduate School and University Center
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a public research university in New York, New York, serving roughly 3,254 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 68.49% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $65,991 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $65,991.
Research findings
Finding
CUNY Graduate School and University Center awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 89 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| CUNY Graduate School and University Center | $7,235 | — | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| New York (state median) | $13,810 | $9,373 | 272 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is CUNY Graduate School and University Center really?
Key findings
- CUNY Graduate School and University Center charges 31% above the national public median tuition ($7,235).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,235
Finding CUNY Graduate School and University Center charges 31% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,235. That is 31% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 39% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at CUNY Graduate School and University Center versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for CUNY Graduate School and University Center—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,235
Out-of-state tuition
$15,185
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,940. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What CUNY Graduate School and University Center is known for
Top program completions
- Public Health, General260
- Psychology, General187
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse138
- Information Science/Studies111
- Health Services Administration101
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 26% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for CUNY Graduate School and University Center.
Campus
Location
New York, NY
City / state
- ZIP
- 10016
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, tuition is about 0.5× the median for Urban (City) campuses.
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
3,254
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4,797
- Graduate
- 6,050
- Full-time share
- 33%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$12,584
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 38.46%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for CUNY Graduate School and University Center.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at CUNY Graduate School and University Center was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for CUNY Graduate School and University Center in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2014–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | $6,460 | $13,270 | — |
| 2021 | $7,410 | $15,360 | — |
| 2022 | $7,410 | $15,360 | — |
| 2023 | $7,410 | $15,360 | — |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
CUNY Graduate School and University Center reported total enrollment of about 3,254 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 27% male and 73% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (33.6%), Black or African American (29.2%), and White (18.3%). About 38.46% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 44.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
33.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at CUNY Graduate School and University Center in 2024 is 3,254 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,797 students. Graduate enrollment is about 6,050 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from CUNY Graduate School and University Center completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Public Health, General: 28% male / 72% female
- Psychology, General: 25% male / 75% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center graduates earn a median of $65,991 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of CUNY Graduate School and University Center.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $65,991. Median federal loan debt: $12,584.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway CUNY Graduate School and University Center graduates report median earnings of $65,991 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for CUNY Graduate School and University Center.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (89 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at CUNY Graduate School and University Center.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for CUNY Graduate School and University Center graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for CUNY Graduate School and University Center—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$80.3M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New York median 2.1× the median ($38.1M)
- Mid East median 1.9× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 3.0× the median ($26.4M)
- New York median 1.2× the median ($15,424)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 33.5%
- New York median 20.3 pp below median (53.8%)
- Mid East median 23.4 pp below median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 24.5 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,869
- New York median 1.7× the median ($8,068)
- Mid East median 1.7× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $43,575
- New York median 4.0× the median ($10,822)
- Mid East median 4.8× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 6.0× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center at a glance
CUNY Graduate School and University Center
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a public institution in New York, NY, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Public Health, GeneralPsychology, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino33.6%Black or African American29.2%White or Caucasian18.3%
Schools near CUNY Graduate School and University Center
Other campuses in New York, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is CUNY Graduate School and University Center located?
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is located in New York, NY.
What is CUNY Graduate School and University Center's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at CUNY Graduate School and University Center is 68.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 158 applicants and 61 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is CUNY Graduate School and University Center's tuition?
CUNY Graduate School and University Center tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,235 in the latest College Scorecard data.
How much does CUNY Graduate School and University Center cost?
Reported tuition is $7,235 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,260 annually.
What is the student body demographics at CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
CUNY Graduate School and University Center reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,797 students, Hispanic or Latino (33.6%), Black or African American (29.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
About 44.0% of students at CUNY Graduate School and University Center are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of CUNY Graduate School and University Center earn?
Median earnings are $68,616 six years after entry and $65,991 ten years after entry.
How much debt do CUNY Graduate School and University Center students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,584.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center public or private?
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a public institution located in New York, NY.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center an HBCU?
No. CUNY Graduate School and University Center is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center a tribal college?
No. CUNY Graduate School and University Center is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—CUNY Graduate School and University Center reports 33.6% Hispanic enrollment share.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.